Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th April 2007, 15:02   #1
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Post All Winamp 5.34 Official Plugin Bug Reports In This Thread

Report ALL Winamp 5.34 Plugin bugs in this thread ONLY.

ALL OTHER REPORTS WILL BE DELETED (YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED).

INCOMPLETE\LAME REPORTS (AKA: IMPOSSIBLE TO REPRODUCE) WILL BE IGNORED.



Here is a LIST of the Official Plugins and their Versions that shipped with 5.34

Input:
Nullsoft CD plug-in (CDDB2) v3.32 [in_cdda.dll]
Nullsoft DirectShow Decoder v1.02 [in_dshow.dll]
Nullsoft FLAC Decoder v2.0 [in_flac.dll]
Nullsoft LineIn plugin v3.11 [in_linein.dll]
Nullsoft MIDI player 3.14 [in_midi.dll]
Nullsoft Module Decoder v2.2.4 [in_mod.dll]
Nullsoft MPEG Audio Decoder 4.05 [in_mp3.dll]
Nullsoft MPEG-4 Audio Decoder v1.22 [in_mp4.dll] (patched)
Nullsoft NSV Decoder v1.07 [in_nsv.dll]
Nullsoft Vorbis Decoder v1.49 [in_vorbis.dll]
Nullsoft Waveform Decoder v3.12 [in_wave.dll]
Nullsoft Windows Media Decoder 3.25 [in_wm.dll]

Output:
DirectSound Output v2.46 (d) [out_ds.dll]
Waveout output v2.1 (d) [out_wave.dll]
Nullsoft Disk Writer Plug-in v2.11 [out_disk.dll]

Visualization:
Advanced Visualization Studio v2.81d [vis_avs.dll]
MilkDrop 1.04d [vis_milk.dll]
Nullsoft Tiny Fullscreen v2.08 [vis_nsfs.dll]

DSP/FX:
Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio DSP v0.37 [dsp_sps.dll]

CD Ripping Encoders:
AAC/aacPlus Encoder v1.25 [enc_aacplus.dll]
FLAC Encoder (Flake SVN r117) [enc_flac.dll]
MP4 AAC/aacPlus Encoder v1.25 [enc_aacplus.dll]
MP3 Encoder v1.33 [enc_lame.dll] (with lame_enc.dll 3.97)
WAV Encoder v1.0 [enc_wav.dll]
WMA Encoder v1.2 [enc_wma.dll]

General Purpose:
Nullsoft Tray Control v2.0 [gen_tray.dll]
Nullsoft Global Hotkeys v1.31 [gen_hotkeys.dll]
Nullsoft Winamp Library v3.11 [gen_ml.dll]
Nullsoft Modern Skins Support v1.26 [gen_ff.dll]
Jump To File Extra v0.99.1a (Build 395) [gen_jumpex.dll]

Media Library:
Nullsoft Bookmarks v1.03 [ml_bookmarks.dll]
Nullsoft Dashboard v1.01 [ml_dash.dll]
Nullsoft Format Converter v2.2 [ml_transcode.dll]
Nullsoft History v1.03 [ml_history.dll]
Nullsoft Local Media v1.6 [ml_local.dll]
Nullsoft Now Playing v2.02 [ml_nowplaying.dll]
Nullsoft Online Services v1.4 [ml_online.dll]
Nullsoft Playlists v1.08 [ml_playlists.dll]
Nullsoft Portable Music Player Support v1.2 [ml_pmp.dll]
Nullsoft Replay Gain Analyzer v1.03 [ml_rg.dll]
Nullsoft Rip & Burn v1.13 [ml_disc.dll]
Nullsoft SHOUTcast Wire v1.09 [ml_wire.dll]
ml_xpdxs (MusicIP Mix) v1.1 [ml_xpdxs.dll]

Portables:
Nullsoft Creative NJB Plug-in v0.52 [pmp_njb.dll]
Nullsoft iPod Plug-in v0.56 [pmp_ipod.dll]
Nullsoft Microsoft PlaysForSure Plug-in v0.61 [pmp_p4s.dll]
Nullsoft USB Device Plug-in v0.54 [pmp_usb.dll]
Nullsoft ActiveSync Plug-in v0.16 [pmp_activesync.dll]

____________________________________________________________


Provide the following Information with every Report,
and with every CONFIRMATION of someone else's report:

Winamp 5.34 - clean install (with NO 3rd-party plugins)
Windows OS, including Service Pack
System specs (mobo, cpu, ram)
Video Card, Video Card Drivers version
Sound Card, Sound Card Drivers version
DirectX version
Plugin and Plugin version affected by/causing the bug

A full, detailed, step-by-step method of reproduction

If applicable, also include Error Logs and/or FULL Error Messages.

To reproduce some bugs, we may also need a link to a zipped sample file
(eg. an .mp3, .aac, .wav, .mid file, etc).

The more information you provide US, the Faster we can or will help you.


Do NOT report ANY 3rd-party plugin bugs/issues here.
Report them to the author(s) instead (and point them to the 5.32 sdk)




Maintained by DJ Egg
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd April 2007, 20:31   #2
jigu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
id3v2 badly written

I've noticed a bug in [in_mp3] plugin writing a ID3v2 Tag with System Language activated.

1.) Select "System Language" in "Write tag as:" control the ID3v2 tag is badly written in the file. At reopen the ID3v2 tag properties appears broken and truncated.

My Winamp installation is a clean 5.34
My Windows_XP system have the Asiatic language support installed with the Japanese language as the default language for non-unicode software.

I have attached the files to illustrate and reproduce the above bug reported.

Regards,
jigu
Attached Files
File Type: zip winamp_bug_report.zip (50.7 KB, 341 views)
jigu is offline  
Old 23rd April 2007, 20:54   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
And what happens if you checkmark "Write tags as: Unicode (UTF-16)" (recommended!) instead of 'System Language'?

Winamp is now a unicode program, so the 'default language for non-unicode programs' setting doesn't have any effect. Whereas it would have had an effect on old (pre 5.3x) non-unicode versions of Winamp/in_mp3...

So, what is your default system language (in Windows itself)?
Because that's what it'll be using now (ie. default Regional setting).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 24th April 2007, 09:48   #4
jigu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
1) Select "Write tag as Unicode (UTF-16)" produce a correct unicode ID3v2 tag.

2) Select "Write tag as System language" produce a bad ID3v2 tag. This bug is not present in old versions of the in_mp3 plugin.

3) The bug is only in writing, reading of my files with ID3v2 tag written in non-unicode mode is correctly done.

I've attached a new bug example for developers

Regards, jigu
Attached Files
File Type: zip winamp_bug_report_2.zip (39.1 KB, 322 views)
jigu is offline  
Old 24th April 2007, 11:33   #5
{_trueparuex^}
Senior Member
 
{_trueparuex^}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glow
Posts: 285
Not a bug... But in_flac.dll is linked to MSVCP71.DLL I doubt that is done on purpose.

[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Yup. Known

The guy with the ridiculous username. Thou shall call him PaR instead.
Visit My Website
{_trueparuex^} is offline  
Old 24th April 2007, 22:23   #6
Perseid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
If you add an MP3 with a Korean tag to the playlist and shrink the window way down so the name is longer than the window it extends to the right over the length display, covering it up.

If you need a Korean string to test with: 바보처럼 or 슈퍼스타

Japanese does not do this, I didn't test anything else.

This is new with 5.34.
Perseid is offline  
Old 25th April 2007, 02:27   #7
regkaz
Junior Member
 
regkaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Windows Vista with Zen V. Previous versions ran fine, now if I go to ML and try to move anything to my Zen I get a crash. Event viewer reports: Faulting application winamp.exe, version 5.3.4.1273, time stamp 0x462cf3f1, faulting module pmp_p4s.dll, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x462cf228, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x000020fa, process id 0x1208, application start time 0x01c786dba3b5b01c.

Removed Winamp, reinstalled 5.34, same problem. All my files are standard MP3s. Went back to previous version and everything is fine.

Renaming pmp_p4s.dll results in the Zen not being detected. I have no "play for sure" media...

AMD 64 X2 4400, 2 gig ram, Asus A8N-SLI, Audigy, Vista Home Premium.

Last edited by regkaz; 25th April 2007 at 02:52.
regkaz is offline  
Old 25th April 2007, 12:20   #8
regkaz
Junior Member
 
regkaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Update to my Zen problem:

Same problem on my work PC. It is a Dell with a Pentium 4, 512 meg ram, Windows XP pro. The old version worked fine, new version crashes with the same plugin failure:

Faulting application winamp.exe, version 5.3.4.1273, faulting module pmp_p4s.dll, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x000020fa.

Happens every time I try to send an MP3 to my Zen V (2 gig).
regkaz is offline  
Old 26th April 2007, 22:49   #9
KOOLguy
Senior Member
 
KOOLguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 100
Milkdrop will sometimes not run in any refresh rate higher than 60hz for GeForce2 MX 400 Cards- not a huge problem but sometimes my monitor (HP 1502) will not scale correctly on 60hz.


-PIII 733mhz with 512k of cache
-Sound Blaster Live PCI onboard
-448mb of ram
-GeForce2 MX 400 64mb
-48x CD-RW Drive
-10,000RPM Western Digital 250GB drive

I am playing either 192kbps WMA or 24kbps AAC+
KOOLguy is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 04:43   #10
Springy
Junior Member
 
Springy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
I have experienced the same problem as regkaz, with my Creative Zen Sleek 20Gb. I've found that it only denies transfer and crashes winamp if the mp3 in question has a play count of 0.

My suggestion and technique until a fix is found, just double-click through all the songs that you want to transfer giving them all a play count of 1.

Hope this helps.
Springy is offline  
Old 29th April 2007, 19:18   #11
bugmenot88
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Zen V

Clean installations

5.34 - my Zen V crashes the Winamp while synchronisation
5.33 - works ok it
bugmenot88 is offline  
Old 1st May 2007, 02:15   #12
aznsouja
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Winamp 5.34
Windows Vista Ultimate
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 // 2GB Ram
ATI Radeon X1300 Pro // Catalyst v7.4
Turtle Beach Riviera
DirectX 10
Nullsoft Global Hotkeys v1.31 // gen_hotkeys.dll
Microsoft Wireless Desktop Elite Keyboard + Mouse

The media keys do not play well with winamp. It seems like Windows Media Player steals control of them. I have tried work-arounds on the forums, but none of them have permanent lasting effects (doesn't work after restart).

The exact error message I get when I try to enable Global Hotkeys is:

HotKey Registration Failed: Couldn't register Stop, Play, Prev, Next. Something like that.

I understand that on XP, I could just revert back to an older keyboard driver. However, on Vista, this is not possible. So I guess this would be a Vista specific bug.

Thanks for your help!
aznsouja is offline  
Old 5th May 2007, 18:39   #13
boiert
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6
This is just a CnP from an earlier post, but the problem still occurs.

Quote:
I recently upgraded from activesync 3.8 to 4.5.
This enables the pmp_activesync plugin.

I then changed the Folders under advanced,
Music folder: \SD Card\MUZIEK\
Video folder: \SD Card\FILMS\
Playlist Folder: \SD Card\MUZIEK\playlists

And reconnected the device.
I have a 1 GB SD card with +- 300 MB free space.

When it first connected it showed some strange values for free space (like 100000%)

Now it shows:
Name: Capacity (Free)
Freya 22 MiB (40%)

138 items [742 MiB] [9 MiB available (40%) / 22 MiB]
These are the values for the ram storage (not the best place to put mp3's)

If I try to sync it manually it will upload 3-5 songs,
I can repeat that step until there is no more space on the SD card.

Could you please fix the free space detection?
Thanks in advance
boiert is offline  
Old 8th May 2007, 17:16   #14
mll
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
ID3v2.4 tags not read ?

I've tagged files with Musicbrainz PicardQt (http://wiki.musicbrainz.org/PicardQt). Most of the times, the tags are read just fine by Winamp, but sometimes not. Looks like the problem appears on MP3s with ID3v2.4 tags.

I'm no specialist at all, but this post (http://bugs.musicbrainz.org/ticket/2830#comment:4) on the Musicbrainz bug managment system might help.

Edit: links are moderated, dunno why (me noob here). Just PM me if you need them.
mll is offline  
Old 8th May 2007, 17:30   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
@mll

Known Bugs
Quote:
5.34-specific bugs

-Some mp3's don't display the tracktime or tags in the playlist (info) *

_______________________________________________________________


Legend
* = Fixed in latest internal builds
If it's a separate/different issue to ^that^, then you will need to supply us with a sample mp3 for us to be able to reproduce the bug/problem first (eg. upload it to sendspace.com or mediafire.com and post the download url here).

Note, url's submitted by anyone with the Junior Member status are only visible to moderators/admin.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 8th May 2007, 18:27   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
^
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 9th May 2007, 06:37   #17
mll
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@mll

Known Bugs

If it's a separate/different issue to ^that^, then you will need to supply us with a sample mp3 for us to be able to reproduce the bug/problem first (eg. upload it to sendspace.com or mediafire.com and post the download url here).

Note, url's submitted by anyone with the Junior Member status are only visible to moderators/admin.
Thanks for all of this. It looks different. I uploaded a sample at http://www.sendspace.com/file/zngq0e. Note that I have no 3rd party plugins.
mll is offline  
Old 9th May 2007, 11:08   #18
allixsenos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to allixsenos
vista high dpi messes up some preferences pages

Vista Ultimate on a Toshiba Qosmio G30

custom DPI (108) seems to have messed up some preferences pages... the content is too tall and wide and it just goes past the right and bottom borders and becomes invisible

broken pages:
Winamp Pro
General Preferences > Global Hotkeys
Skins > Modern Skins


the ones that do display properly are just ignoring the special DPI, so that could be considered a bug as well
allixsenos is offline  
Old 9th May 2007, 21:13   #19
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the dpi handling of all of the winamp dialogs really needs to be checked over and verified though the effect is any changes to it will break support of all previous 5.x language pack files (as the only way to enforce compliant support but then you annoy more users that way, heh). has been passed onto those who need to know but don't expect any eta on it

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 15th May 2007, 13:48   #20
Anacron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Portables - crashes on synchronisation

Winamp 5.34 - clean install: Yes
Windows OS: Windows XP Home SP2 (with all regular updates)
System specs: Athlon XP 2400+ (2Ghz), 1Gb RAM
Video Card: NVidia GeForce FX5200, driver version 6.14.10.9371 according to device manager
Sound Card: Realtek AC97 Audio, driver version 5.10.0.5780 according to device manager
DirectX version: 10c
Plugin and Plugin version: One of the Portables plugins, I wouldn't know which.

I have a Sansa e280 (8Gb) mp3 player, which I connect to a USB port and is detected by Winamp. Winamp displays the current music on the device with no problems, and deleted music on the device with no problems.

However, attempting to transfer music to the device results in (a) a lock-up of Winamp (Not Responding) when clicking OK on the Sync function, or (b) a MS error report when right-clicking on items in the ML and selecting Send To -> Sansa e280 (Winamps has encountered a problem and needs to close, etc.).

I can post the text file the error report creates if it'll help. This looks like the same error as Regkaz, Springy and bugmenot88 have reported earlier in the thread.

+edit+ Important Note: this error does not occur in v5.33 - transferring works perfectly.
Anacron is offline  
Old 15th May 2007, 13:57   #21
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Known Bugs
Quote:
Temp Section: 5.34-specific issues

-P4S Devices crashing on sync (Doh!) (info) *

_______________________________________________________________


Legend
* = Fixed in latest internal builds
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th May 2007, 15:09   #22
mll
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally posted by mll
Thanks for all of this. It looks different. I uploaded a sample at http://www.sendspace.com/file/zngq0e. Note that I have no 3rd party plugins.
Hi, any updates about this ?
mll is offline  
Old 15th May 2007, 15:28   #23
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Yes, it's fixed in 5.35 - just released :-)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th May 2007, 15:37   #24
mll
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Cool, thanks for your kind support.
Now, I can't find the dl link. Winamp.com still advertises on 5.34.
mll is offline  
Old 15th May 2007, 15:56   #25
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Winamp 5.35 Released :-)
DJ Egg is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump