Old 18th September 2002, 16:44   #1
nadavs123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to nadavs123
2 sound cards simultaneous playback

I have two sound cards and I would like that the both of them will play the same MP3 at the same time (using ONE winamp window).
how can I do that?

thanX
nadav schachter
nadavs123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2002, 19:32   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,477
Try the output splitter plugin.

If you need help configuring it, just let us know . . .
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2002, 09:57   #3
nadavs123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to nadavs123
Help!

sorry...

I need help...
I cant configure this plugin...

how do I?

Nadav schachter
nadavs123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2002, 18:53   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,477
Winamp -> Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> Plugins -> Output
Select "Output Splitter" to make it the active Output Plugin.
Now click "configure"
Plugin 1 will already be out_wave.dll
Change Plugin 2 to out_ds.dll (manually type it in)

(note: Out_wave = WaveOut Output, out_ds.dll = DirectSound Output)

Once you've selected the two playback output plugins,
click each respective "config" buttons, and under "Output Device" change it to the relevant soundcard driver.

eg.
waveOut config -> Output Device = soundcard 1
DirectSound config -> Output Device = soundcard 2
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2002, 08:59   #5
mezzanine
Member
 
mezzanine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 59
May I ask you why do you need this?
mezzanine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2002, 09:14   #6
nadavs123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to nadavs123
hmmmm...

I want to playback the music through two speaker systems.

just a simple Idea...
nadavs123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2002, 09:23   #7
mezzanine
Member
 
mezzanine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 59
oh. clear.

I in this case would make a simple splitter cable for using with one soundcard...
mezzanine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2002, 11:03   #8
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,105
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
But in this situation two instances of Winamp can play different songs through each soundcard, should the need arise.

Apart from that, attach too many speakers to the one output, and the impedance can blow the soundcard, or at the very least, degrade the quality/volume of the songs being played back.

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 00:55   #9
ClintJCL2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: D.C.
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to ClintJCL2 Send a message via AIM to ClintJCL2 Send a message via Yahoo to ClintJCL2
Fail. Didn't work at all in 2009's latest winamp under xp.

I tried Multiple Output plugin instead, and it worked. But they aren't in sync and i can hear the echo from the desynched audio downstairs. fail.

-Clint
AMD Athlon 900mHz, 256M RAM, 280GB, Win2K, SB Live Platinum 5.1, ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon 32M DDR.
ClintJCL2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 01:08   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,477
Yeah, well you revived a 7 year old thread...
It was the solution 7 years ago.

Make a copy of out_ds.dll as out_ds2.dll,
Reopen Winamp,
Configure out_ds2 the same as out_ds, except for the Output Device
(which naturally needs to point to the respective soundcard),
Then load both of those into Multiple Output.

If they're still a bit out of sync, then sorry, but it's not my fault

Different soundcards/chips tend to behave like that.
It would probably be more in sync if you were using two identical pci(e) soundcards.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2010, 18:37   #11
Lozzy_uk
Junior Member
 
Lozzy_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
I now have a need for this in 2010

I have a wireless sound system on a USB plug, and the laptop's internal soundcard (for the hi-fi in the same room).
Various things sort of work, but syncing is always the issue...any ideas?
or is this still the solution: "Make a copy of out_ds.dll as out_ds2.dll..."?

thanks
Lozzy
Lozzy_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump