Old 4th July 2004, 10:26   #1
alec43
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
How to add your station to the Shoutcast Page?

I can't for the life of me figure out how to add my station to the Shoutcast directory. There should be a link at the bottom of the page or something. Can anyone give me the short and simple answer?
alec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2004, 10:29   #2
Wavestreaming
Major Dude
 
Wavestreaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,563
Send a message via AIM to Wavestreaming Send a message via Yahoo to Wavestreaming
You need to make sure "Make this station public" on the DSP plugin.

I'm not 100% sure if ALL stations are added, and if there are a limit of entries into the yellow pages.

However, I do know you cannot physically add them say via a web based form.
Wavestreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2004, 11:02   #3
NJK
Forum Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,522
as soon as "shoutcast added me" appears in your server log - your station is on the list of stations on the shoutcast page.

Darkwave radio 24/7 --
-----------------------------------
Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2004, 13:47   #4
DJCassio
Forum King
 
DJCassio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Skype™ to DJCassio
Hopefully by now it is listed, but for reference check out this thread: YP logic demystified, or "Why does it take a half hour to see my station?"
DJCassio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2004, 04:49   #5
alec43
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Thank you. Now that I've figured that out, I don't like the category my station is listed in. I've updated the description and categories in SAM2, but they haven't shown up in the directory. Do I have to totally start over to make this work, or will it eventually change?
alec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2004, 05:01   #6
NJK
Forum Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,522
kill server - restart server and every change is working
and the previous post of DJ Cassio is actual again.
it can take some time before changes show !

Darkwave radio 24/7 --
-----------------------------------
Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2004, 20:25   #7
alec43
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Well, I changed it and reset a long time ago. It's still not changing. Also, do I have to put the description in the title, or does the description field automatically show up in grey next to the station name (also in grey)? The listing looks really stupid in the directory right now. No one can find it. I'm afraid I'm going to need to take the station offline for a while tonight just to fix this.
alec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2004, 02:24   #8
ultimatdjz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
i have managed to become listed in shoutcast, but not in winamp's internet radio section of the media library. why not? i thought they were the same database? can someone help me get listed in winamp?

thanks!!!
ultimatdjz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2004, 04:54   #9
alec43
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
I was updating it in the wrong place. SAM2 can be a confusing program.
alec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2004, 05:22   #10
ultimatdjz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
i stll need help though! lol, can someone help me?

LT
ultimatdjz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump