Old 16th August 2004, 13:25   #1
gh0stiVi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: East Coast USA
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to gh0stiVi
Bad DirectSound Driver Error

This just started occuring and now I have no sound at all on my computer. It doesn't even recognize my sound card.

It says

Bad DirectSound Driver. Please install proper drivers or select another device in configuration. Error code: 88780078
gh0stiVi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 13:33   #2
Rocker
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,906
have you tried rebooting?
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 13:36   #3
gh0stiVi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: East Coast USA
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to gh0stiVi
Many, many times.
gh0stiVi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 13:42   #4
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,375
1. Winamp
2. Ctrl+P (for preferences)
3. Plug-ins > Output
4. double click 'DirectSound output'
5. Driver tab
6. make sure the device in the drop-down list correctly reflects your soundcard

Further DirectSound config tweaks....
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....26#post1212926

-and/or-

1. Control Panel
2. Sounds & Audio Devices icon (or MultiMedia Icon)
3. Audio tab
4. in 'Sound playback' make sure the 'Default device:' drop-down box correctly reflects your soundcard

Although it's not necessary, close down Winamp, Windows and reboot the computer after making any of the above changes.


No dice? Make sure the sound drivers and/or DirectX are up to date.

Still no dice? Please post a reply with system specs.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2005, 07:22   #5
randyscott
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
1. Winamp
2. Ctrl+P (for preferences)
3. Plug-ins > Output
4. double click 'DirectSound output'
5. Driver tab
6. make sure the device in the drop-down list correctly reflects your soundcard


That's the one that worked for me. Thanks.
randyscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 23:42   #6
tkittie2016112
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Solution to Bad DirectSound Drive error

The problem isn't Winzamp although it happens when you use winamp instead it is because of window. To solve this problem:

GO TO THE START MENU THEN CLICK RUN. IN THE BOX TYPE IN services.msc A SCREEN WILL POP UP. THEN SCROLL DOWN TO window audio AND CLICK ON IT. RIGHT NOW IT IS OFF SO CLICK START TO TURN IT ON. THIS WILL SOLVE THE AUDIO PROBLEM 99 PERCENT OF THE TIME.
tkittie2016112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2007, 22:54   #7
splitter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
bad directsaound driver error

that services.msc idea works 100%. it could help many people because this problem is not always just the matter of directsound implemented in winamp. thanks a lot
splitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2007, 08:21   #8
zionboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jozi
Posts: 1
Get it here

http://www.marian.de/en/downloads
zionboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2007, 07:35   #9
Sandman614
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
1. Winamp
2. Ctrl+P (for preferences)
3. Plug-ins > Output
4. double click 'DirectSound output'
5. Driver tab
6. make sure the device in the drop-down list correctly reflects your soundcard
Quote:
GO TO THE START MENU THEN CLICK RUN. IN THE BOX TYPE IN services.msc A SCREEN WILL POP UP. THEN SCROLL DOWN TO window audio AND CLICK ON IT. RIGHT NOW IT IS OFF SO CLICK START TO TURN IT ON. THIS WILL SOLVE THE AUDIO PROBLEM 99 PERCENT OF THE TIME.
Both of these methods worked for me. I was listening to music and then Firefox decided it wanted to update. After shutting off my music, walking away and letting Firefox update, I came back and turned my music back on and had no sound. The Bad DirectSound Driver error came up and made noise as did everything else in windows thats supposed to, just not Winamp and Windows Media Player embedded in a webpage.

I hope this helps someone to find the cause.
Sandman614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2008, 08:58   #10
Dantex64
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
I HAD the same problems but this thread helped alot!
I reinstalled my graphics(VGA Drivers) and sound drivers(Intel Board) and it works!!!
Dantex64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 23:33   #11
Automatically
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Hi,

Just ran into the same problem with directsound driver. Couldnt figure it out cause the driver was the latest from the vendors site. I used johnnymacs steps and it worked. Thanks so much.
Automatically is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2010, 23:02   #12
Digidice
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Hi,
a little bit old conversation this is, but I hope I can get some help anyway. I have tried everything the previously speakers have said but I don´t get any sound. Normally I solve all types of problems like this fast and easy.
Of course I have made many reboots and reinstalls of drivers for sound card and also tried the on-board sound card. Of course I have also tried with other speakers.

Many thanks if help is there.
Digidice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2010, 12:19   #13
Docqualizer
Senior Member
 
Docqualizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portsmouth, NH USA
Posts: 127
Digdice - it may sound silly, but be sure you plugged your speakers into the right port.

Otherwise, try the steps JonnyMac described above.

Failing that, post your plugins and system specs here and we'll try to help.
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=161361#specs

What's so funny about peace, love, and understanding? (Elvis Costello)
Docqualizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 16:44   #14
TheLeXa97
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
None of this solutions haven't work for me.....somebody help me? i install drivers but its still same...and in Control Panel say : " No Audio Device".......
TheLeXa97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 18:51   #15
Docqualizer
Senior Member
 
Docqualizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portsmouth, NH USA
Posts: 127
The only other suggestion I can made is as follows:

1. Uninstall your sound drivers.
2. Turn OFF your system - do NOT reboot.
3. If the sound is integrated with your motherboard, you should purchase a cheap sound card.
a. Open the cover of your PC and find an empty slot and install the sound card. You will have to go into the BIOS and disable the integrated sound.
b. Turn on your PC and see if you get a repeat of the same message. If not, install the sound drivers that came with your card. It should be working at this point.
4. If you have a sound card installed, you should move it to another port and go back to step 3b.

Hope one of these steps leads to a solution.

What's so funny about peace, love, and understanding? (Elvis Costello)
Docqualizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2010, 13:17   #16
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
also if you use realtek hd drivers
there is a update on the realtek website
this may solve some problems for most people

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2015, 19:20   #17
kym3ra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
Bad DirectSound Driver Error

Same problem here but any of those selutions hadn't worked!

I've just reinstalled the win7 on my computer abou 4 hours ago...it worked perfectly fine till my brother tried to install features for mmorpgs like directx9 .netfw or visualc++,he was asked for restarting the computer and then this error shown up!
IMAGES:
http://postimg.org/image/4my890j7x/
http://postimg.org/image/855mrnuq5/

I tried to reinstall the win7,again,but now the setup wont start!
It has smth to do with the features my brother installed?
P.S. i couldn't install realtek driver either any site where i can download new sound drivers?
kym3ra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2015, 19:23   #18
kym3ra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLeXa97 View Post
None of this solutions haven't work for me.....somebody help me? i install drivers but its still same...and in Control Panel say : " No Audio Device".......
same problem here
kym3ra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2015, 21:32   #19
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,202
Hi kym3ra,

Since it was working, something happened when the features for mmorpgs were installed. Maybe it's a configuration issue or the current driver was somehow corrupted. You posted a screenshot of your Windows audio services. They use info provided by drivers, but have nothing to do with making hardware drivers fail.

You can download new or replacement drivers from the Realtek website. They frequently post updates. Just be sure to get the right one for your device. If you can't find the specs for your device in your computer's user's manual or online for your computer's motherboard, then open your computer up and look at the chip on your motherboard. It will be labeled with the Realtek name and it's model number. In your manual or online, you should be able to find a diagram showing where to look on your motherboard.

I haven't read the entire thread, so what I'm about to suggest has probably already been mentioned.

What does the Windows Device Manager (DM) say about your audio devices? Even if no problems are indicated, you can use the DM to uninstall the current Realtek driver and delete it from your computer (so that you can do a 'clean' install of a new one or reinstall your current one from a DVD or flash drive). If there are no problems indicated in the DM, maybe there are configuration issues elsewhere.

What does the Sound utility in the Windows Control Panel say? Is the Realtek device selected as the system default playback device and is it configured properly for your speakers and the files you intend to play? Does Windows Media Player work?

Assuming it is selected as the output plug-in, what does the Device tab on Winamp's DirectSound output plug-in's configuration window say? Is the Realtek device selected or the primary output device? If the primary output device is selected, try switching to the Realtek device.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2015, 20:30   #20
sahartech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
I HAD the same problems but this thread helped alot!
I reinstalled my graphics(VGA Drivers) and sound drivers(Intel Board) and it works!!!
sahartech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 12:28   #21
sahartech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
The problem isn't Winzamp although it happens when you use winamp instead it is because of window. To solve this problem:
sahartech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2016, 21:32   #22
sahartech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
I reinstalled my graphics(VGA Drivers) and sound drivers(Intel Board) and it works!!!
sahartech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump