Old 9th September 2004, 21:38   #1
mjbacch

Send a message via AIM to mjbacch
How to set up shoutcast on Mac OSX

Ok After many hours of frustration and pulling my hair out I finally figured out how to set up the shoutcast streaming server up on my freakin' Mac.
So I thought I would share step by step on exactly how I did it.
First of all I searched every forumn for hours in order to find all the information. I am an admitted newbie and had no clue as to what I was doing.
SO...with that said here we go.

1.) Take a deep breath, go to the fridge and grab yourself a beer (this is a 3-4 beer job).

2.) Go to this address http://www.shoutcast.com/download/serve.phtml And download the shoutcast server for the Mac.

3.) Go to this address and download the streaming media server for Mac OSX. http://www.shoutcast.com/download/broadcast.phtml

4.) Unstuff, Unzip, Unpack, both of the files mention above. And read the readme file- Just read it. It wont hurt you.

Before you go any further you need to get a code editor- dont try to use your text editor or some other stupid word program- it wont work- so go here to download this free one. If I had done this from the beginning I would have saved 3 hours. http://www.enigmarelle.com/sw/TideText/

5.) Ok we are on our way- by this point you should be 1/2 way through your first beer. NEXT open that text editor you downloaded and open the file SC_SERV.config and change the variable which need to be changed.

6.) Now open the SC_Trans.config file, with the same editor, and change the password to be the same as it is on the previous file. Also change any other parimeters you need to.

7.) Finish first beer, then open your finder and click on applications scroll down until you see utilities, click on utilites and open the Terminal program on the bottom.

8.) Open your next beer and open your System preferances. Click on sharing.
Click on Firewall. Click new. On port name click NEW. Enter shoutcast for the name and 8000-8001 for the port.