Go Back   Winamp Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th January 2006, 21:45   #1
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
What's the best program to convert FLAC to MP3 ?

I want to turn my FLAC albums to 320kb Stereo MP3's,
what program is best for this kind of conversion ?
kenwoods is offline  
Old 5th January 2006, 21:46   #2
mysterious_w
Forum King
 
mysterious_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Good ol' Britain
Posts: 2,749
Filewriter plugin will do it in winamp.




mysterious_w is offline  
Old 5th January 2006, 21:53   #3
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
where can I find it ?

( I didn't get any results for the search in the plugins section )
kenwoods is offline  
Old 5th January 2006, 22:04   #4
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
list of winamp mp3 output plugins

The Transcoder plugin is easier to use, if it works that is (FLAC to mp3 worked for me last time I tried), for best results choose alt-preset insane (which is 320kbps).

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 15th February 2006, 14:24   #5
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by mysterious_w
Filewriter plugin will do it in winamp.
but it produces Joint Stereo files only (using LAME) ...
kenwoods is offline  
Old 15th February 2006, 15:39   #6
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
So what, Joint Stereo produces the best quality.

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 15th February 2006, 15:45   #7
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
So what, Joint Stereo produces the best quality.
no IT DOESN'T !
kenwoods is offline  
Old 15th February 2006, 15:49   #8
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,105
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
*cough* Foobar *cough* with the LAME encoder. Create -aps mp3s of your FLAC files.

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline  
Old 15th February 2006, 15:58   #9
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
Or api if you want 320kbps.

But oh noes, those are joint stereo as well.
Could that be because the lame developers and everybody who ever did serious tests came to the conclusion that it is better?

Sorry if that's too harsh, but I'm really tired of people still claiming simple stereo to be better.

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 15th February 2006, 16:08   #10
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,105
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
I think you would both benefit from reading this from the point of view of the merits of joint-stereo...

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline  
Old 15th February 2006, 16:35   #11
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
Erm, I know that one (actually went through all the stereo vs joint stereo discussions/flamewars once).

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 16th February 2006, 13:29   #12
baafie
feminazi
(Major Dude)
 
baafie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,768
Not really what you asked for but..
Oggenc from the vorbistools package converts FLAC to Ogg vorbis on-the-fly.
baafie is offline  
Old 16th February 2006, 13:41   #13
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
Oggenc Lancer can do it too, it's faster and produces higher quality (since it's based on aoTuV beta 4.5 instead of beta 2).
(Or Oggdrop if you don't like commandline.)

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 16th February 2006, 15:02   #14
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,226
My entire music collection is encoded in FLAC (some 9000 tracks), and I transcode to MP3 often for my portable players and car. dBpowerAMP Music Converter is my tool of choice. (You'll need the FLAC codec as well.)

And joint stereo does produce the best sound quality in MP3 encoding. Think in terms of bit efficiency. At a maximum bitrate of 320kbps, there are still a finite number of bits per second used to encode your music. You can use more bits than necessary to define stereo seperation (i.e., "full stereo") and less on actual sound quality; OR you can use only the bits required to define the stereo element just above the perceptual threshold (i.e., you won't hear any difference between JS and FS), and use the bits you've saved to improve actual sound quality.

This is why MP3 files using joint stereo do (or have the potential to) sound better than those using full stereo.

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline  
Old 16th February 2006, 16:02   #15
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
Joint Stereo doesn't have to affect the stereo image at all.

It simply avoids storing the same information twice if both channels are very similar, and if they aren't it switches to the same mode as so-called full stereo.

Case in point: Most lossless compressors (including FLAC) use similar techniques.

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 17th February 2006, 01:46   #16
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,085
second opinion: http://www.germanixsoft.de/index.php

That software REALLY does whipp the illamas ass.
fc*uk is offline  
Old 17th February 2006, 10:37   #17
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,377
Quote:
Originally posted by ethan_h
I think you would both benefit from reading this from the point of view of the merits of joint-stereo...
Dear God, that guy has the Haskell logo as his avatar.

zootm is offline  
Old 17th February 2006, 11:01   #18
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
Quote:
Originally posted by zootm
Dear God, that guy has the Haskell logo as his avatar.
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...howtopic=38630

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 17th February 2006, 15:21   #19
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,226
His company is doing well, the last I checked. Is he selling something again?

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline  
Old 17th February 2006, 19:39   #20
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
Speaking of which, I'm still waiting for foobar to be bought by Nero like you said it would.

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 18th February 2006, 14:59   #21
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,226
I don't think Ahead's interested in foobar, instead just wanting HA as a support and marketing site after hiring the staff. They'd probably sooner develop their own player, if they ever wanted one in the first place. And if they did, I'm sure it'd have a graphical interface.


I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline  
Old 18th February 2006, 18:49   #22
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
I never claimed they were interested in it.

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 19th February 2006, 02:11   #23
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,377
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...howtopic=38630
I am so tempted to join that forum right now, but I shall resist. I already talk on LtU from time-to-time, that's probably enough!

zootm is offline  
Old 8th March 2006, 13:39   #24
buzzy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
You know, there's a reason it's called alt-preset insane.
buzzy is offline  
Old 10th March 2006, 12:36   #25
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,300
Frontah
Twilightseer is offline  
Old 12th March 2006, 06:23   #26
.onInit
Junior Member
 
.onInit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: I'm lost!
Posts: 16
Sorry for being late, folks... I was busy with my exams.

@blackcoma: Try MediaCoder.

@fc*uk: This is another of those llama-whipping transcoders. Thanks for introducing me to GX::Transcoder.

I hope that helps!

.onInit.

*Edit: It allows transcoding to AAC+ as well, using Winamp's own enc_aacplus.dll

Last edited by .onInit; 12th March 2006 at 06:53.
.onInit is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 15:41   #27
in2kma
Junior Member
 
in2kma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
Input plugin doesn't support Transcode

Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
list of winamp mp3 output plugins

The Transcoder plugin is easier to use, if it works that is (FLAC to mp3 worked for me last time I tried), for best results choose alt-preset insane (which is 320kbps).
But I keep getting the message that my input plugin doesn't support Transcode. What do I need to do?

Kristofer
in2kma is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 15:51   #28
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
Do you have the latest Winamp version (full or pro)?
The official flac input plugin that comes with it should work.
(It also comes with an updated transcoder, now called format converter.)

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 16:27   #29
in2kma
Junior Member
 
in2kma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
Flac Transcode

Well. I use Winamp 5.3 Pro and Reference Flac Decoder v1.1
in2kma is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 16:32   #30
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,568
Get 5.32.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 17:25   #31
deathazre
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: behind the wheel of a Cat service truck
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via ICQ to deathazre Send a message via AIM to deathazre
lame on windows still uses --alt-preset?
deathazre is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 17:28   #32
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
It can.

They're synonymous with -V4/2/0/-b320.

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 17:51   #33
deathazre
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: behind the wheel of a Cat service truck
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via ICQ to deathazre Send a message via AIM to deathazre
no, I mean on linux it's --preset now instead of --alt-preset
deathazre is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 18:10   #34
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
You can use both.

Quote:
Hey! What happened to "--alt-preset"?

The revolutionary --alt-preset system was introduced in LAME 3.90; it was replaced by the --preset flags in later versions. Starting with version 3.94, the -Vx quality system was introduced, which allows finer control over the desired bitrate; the --preset switches were made into aliases to the corresponding -V flags for the sake of backwards compatibility. There is no difference between the output you get if you use -V2 or --alt-preset standard. (Although adding --vbr-new is recommended for now, see above for details.)

More encoding options are available under the new system, such as -V1, which provides a level of quality between the old "standard" and "extreme" presets, or -V3, which is between the old "medium" and "standard" presets.

LAME 3.97 features more streamlined command line options, and it's recommended to stick to one of the values described in the text or shown in the tables above. You don't need to worry anymore about quality, settings, arcane combinations of switches, or presets.

For example, the following command lines will all produce the same output:

--alt-preset insane = --preset insane = -b 320 = --preset 320 = --preset cbr 320

(--preset cbr 320 is the exact same thing as --alt-preset insane, etc.)
(http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=LAME)

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 21:25   #35
in2kma
Junior Member
 
in2kma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by will
Get 5.32.
Got it.
Now working fine.
Tks
in2kma is offline  
Old 17th December 2006, 22:10   #36
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
i use "free mp3 wma ogg converter" from http://koyotstar.free.fr/indexEn.html it does flac as well and its free without ads or spyware

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline  
Old 24th September 2008, 19:05   #37
diamondblast
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
list of winamp mp3 output plugins

The Transcoder plugin is easier to use, if it works that is (FLAC to mp3 worked for me last time I tried), for best results choose alt-preset insane (which is 320kbps).
Hi man ,thanks a lot ,your advice works great I didn't
check the first one ,but your plugin is very easy to use.
diamondblast is offline  
Old 16th December 2008, 02:10   #38
bitful1123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by cooky560
i use "free mp3 wma ogg converter" from http://koyotstar.free.fr/indexEn.html it does flac as well and its free without ads or spyware
Hi, I have used it. Very nice.It is more easier than other plug-in.
bitful1123 is offline  
Old 16th December 2008, 02:26   #39
mike-db
Pancakes!
(Major Dude)
 
mike-db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colour, if you're, you know...
Posts: 3,466
Send a message via ICQ to mike-db
Congrats on the two year old thread resurrection!

SEX APPEAL UP IN HERE!
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
mike-db is offline  
Old 27th January 2009, 08:17   #40
web design
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
I SUCK COCKS
web design is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump