Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th August 2007, 21:31   #1
Spilly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Question LogSet / LogText not outputting log (i am using the custom build)

For some reason, when I use the special makensis.exe that has enabled logging, turn on LogSet and add several LogText strings, there's no log to be found after install. Do I need to specify the name of the log (i thought it defaulted to install.log)? Not sure what else could be happening, any thoughts?
Spilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 21:37   #2
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Make sure $INSTDIR is set and that LogSet is not reset by the directory page. Use LogSet only in the first section and after $INSTDIR is set.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 22:06   #3
Spilly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
After your suggestions, here is what i have starting when I set $INSTDIR:

InstallDir "$PROGRAMFILES\${PROGRAM_GROUP}"
Page custom showSplash

Function showSplash
LogSet on
FunctionEnd



Then throughout the installer I have this:

LogText "Test Log"

I don't see any refrence to logset anywhere else in the installer.
Spilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 22:13   #4
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Did you extract the stubs as well (if there are any?)
Also, you might need to make sure $INSTDIR exists too.

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 22:29   #5
Spilly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
I was using old stubs, thanks for the help.
Spilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 22:39   #6
Spilly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
One more question. I use a command line option to enable silent if desired:

isntaller.exe /SILENT

which does this:

SetSilent silent


Is it possible to have the log be created even though I set silent this way (currently it's not)? I know there is:

SilentInstall silentlog

but I'd prefer to use the SetSilent command unless there's absolutely no difference on how the installer operates between SilentInstall and SetSilent. Thanks.
Spilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2007, 20:13   #7
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
You can use SetSilent and SetLog. It's the same as silentlog.

As for LogSet not working, use it in the first section or after the directory page. The directory page allows the user to enable logging (if you hold shift when moving to it). If he doesn't, it disables it.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump