Old 29th January 2008, 23:21   #1
musicmafia

Managing Two Seperate Music Libraries - Can It Be Done?

hey everybody..im new to winamp...so far lovin it a lot better than what ive been using (wmp11)...heres what im trying to figure out...

i maintain two seperate libraries of music files. one is an archive of lossless flac files stored on a large ext drive and the other is for lossy versions to sync to my portable device (a creative zen vision w60). i keep the lossy files on my computer's hd. i assume other folks might have similar setups but i cant figure out how to manage the seperate libraries in one player. (this is not possible in windows media player).

if i direct winamp to monitor both locations (lossless on ext drive and lossy on hd) wont it just add all the files to one single library? once it does that, i will have multiple duplicate files (lossless and lossy) and all will attempt to sync to my portable device causing havoc.

can winamp manage 2 libraries and if so how? if not, does anyone know a player that will? for now im having to open and use 2 different players (winamp and wmp) at the same time which is a pain in the arse. any help? thanks!
musicmafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2008, 22:28   #2
musicmafia

hmmm...i assume lots of users keep one set of lossless files and a seperate set of lossy files for portable players. how are other users managing this....any help??
musicmafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2008, 20:59   #3
gamingexpert13

i wonder if you could just have two installs of winamp, in seperate folders, one for each library.
gamingexpert13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2008, 22:07   #4
J_Darnley
Forum King

Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley