Old 1st December 2008, 14:53   #1
mrbigg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
MP4 Videos Not Working

When I play any MP4 files, videos are not appearing in the video window, although the audio is audible.

I'm running a new Dell Studio notebook with Windows Vista and 3GB RAM.

Please help . Thanx.
mrbigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 15:07   #2
CJ_Man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 168
If the file extension is .MP4 then Winamp assumes it's an audio file. If that's the case try renaming one to a .avi and see if it works then.
CJ_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 15:24   #3
mrbigg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Sorry mate ... when I change to .avi, nothing happens. Even audio is not playing now.

I looked in the PREFs and both AVI and MP4 are listed in the video formats.

Any other suggestions?
mrbigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 16:44   #4
CJ_Man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 168
Under Preferences - Plugins - Input is the Nulsoft MPEG4 Audio decoder installed?

If so select it and press Configure. You will probably see M4A;MP4 as the file types. You could try removing ;MP4 from here (just leave M4A) and provided MP4 is listed as a video format (I assume you mean it's on the Directshow decoder list) then try again.

Obviously rename that file back from AVI as well.
CJ_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 21:33   #5
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....id=155680#mp4v

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 15:25   #6
mrbigg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
CJ, Thanx for your reply, BUT IT DOESN'T WORK.

- Nulsoft MPEG4 Audio decorder is installed.
- MP4 was showing as one of the file types, I tried removing ;MP4 file type
- MP4 is listed as a video format in the Directshow decoder list.

I've tried running Winamp but it doesn't play at all. No sound, no video, zilch.

What else???
mrbigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 16:40   #7
mrbigg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
I also tried SAWG's suggestion ... downloaded the Codec, installed it ....

I'm not sure how that works ... whether Winamp is supposed to be able to play videos with that codec (FFDSHOW) or I'm supposed to run FFDSHOW to play videos.

Anyway, I tried both, and nothing works. Winamp still doesn't play videos and trying to run FFDSHOW gives an error about something running "error side-by-side".

Please help as I just got some cool videos from YouTube but cant watch them.
mrbigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 17:31   #8
CJ_Man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 168
Unfortunately I don't have any .mp4 videos to test with, but I do notice that despite Winamp being by default player for just about everything, I have .mp4 set to Realplayer. I can't remember when or why, but I suspect you may have discovered the reason.

Perhaps download VLC from http://www.videolan.org/ and use it for these files. It's a very basic interface but comes with it's own codecs for most things and will play .MP4 video fine.
CJ_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 17:48   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
Winamp is a 32-bit program, therefore it will only use the 32-bit version of ffdshow.

ie. you need to install the 32-bit version of ffdshow, not the 64-bit version.

The problem could be with registering the splitter...

Save/extract the mp4splitter.ax file to somewhere like:

C:\DirectShow\mp4splitter.ax

Go to: Start -> Programs -> Accessories:
Right-click "Command Prompt" and select "Run as administrator"

In the command prompt, type the following:

regsvr32 "c:\directshow\mp4splitter.ax"

Hit Enter


Then go to: Start -> Programs -> ffdshow -> Video decoder config:
On the Codecs page, make sure all of H.264/AVC, H.263, DivX, Xvid, Other MPEG4 are all set to "libavcodec".

If not, click where it says "disabled" and change it via the drop-down menu.

Click Apply/OK.

Then go to: Start -> Programs -> ffdshow -> Audio decoder config:
On the Codecs page, make sure AAC is set to "libfaad2".
You shouldn't need to set MP3 to "libmad", but can if you wish...

Voila! :-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2008, 06:06   #10
mrbigg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Hmmmm.... so ... Winamp isn't really THE media player after all. I was hoping to use just 1 player to play the few types of files I regularly dabble in, ie MP3, MP4 and occasionaly AVI, WMA.

I must look at my old PC to see what I had ... it used to play video files beautifully.

I'm not too keen to install all kinds of plug-ins, codecs, etc ... as I use my laptop primarily for work and don't want it to be buggered up. I also don't know enuff about these things and neither will I have the time to test & try.

Thanx matey .... if you guys have additional suggestions, you can keep me posted.
mrbigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2008, 13:40   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
Yes, Winamp is THE media player.
There's no media player included with the codec pack or ffdshow.
If the required DirectShow splitters/filters aren't installed then Winamp and other DirectShow players
(Windows Media Player, etc) won't be able to play the relevant videos.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2008, 14:47   #12
mrbigg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
So, Mr Egg, what exactly do I need?

If anyone can give simple, step by step guide ... what I need, where to get it, how to install .... then this novice would be glad and would sing the praises of Winamp !
mrbigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 16:39   #13
mrbigg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
DJ Egg, no, I'm running Vista 32-bit.

So what do I need to do to be able to see videos?
mrbigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 18:04   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
Winamp = the player

For MP4 videos, you then need to install
1) Gabest's MP4 Splitter (to demux the mp4 container)
2) ffdshow = decoder

DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 03:22   #15
mrbigg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
DJ Egg
1. Your link given above (original by Sawg) points to a section labelled "Vista x64 users only". My Vista is 32-bit.

2. Also appreciate if you could provide step-by-step instructions. ie Where do I get ffdshow from, what do I do with it? etc....

I'm a non-techie ;-) Tx.
mrbigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 08:45   #16
CJ_Man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally posted by mrbigg
DJ Egg
Where do I get ffdshow from, what do I do with it?
You can get it from:
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/FFDshow.htm

You may need to use the Quote button to see the link.

It is a codec pack and probably the best. I would delete any codec pack(s) you may already have prior to installing it.
CJ_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 11:53   #17
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
Quote:
Originally posted by mrbigg
DJ Egg
1. Your link given above (original by Sawg) points to a section labelled "Vista x64 users only". My Vista is 32-bit.
That is another link saying what Vista-x64 users should do

Quote:
2. Also appreciate if you could provide step-by-step instructions. ie Where do I get ffdshow from, what do I do with it?
Read the link again, it answers both those questions.

Download, install, download splitter, install splitter, configure in_dshow and stick MP4 info the list of extensions.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 22:17   #18
Jake_Kulp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Experiencing some issues

Apologies to bring a dead thread back to life, but I seem to be encountering the same issues as initially stated.

Info:
OS: Win7x64
Winamp Ver: 5.65

Now I've followed all of the stated directions, installed MP4 Splitter, ffdshow, set the correct codecs in ffdshow, and set the MP4;MPV in winamps prefs under the .in_dshow, also I've set the MP3 and AAC in the audio config to the directed settings.
The video playback is still not working and all this does is plays the video back at a signifigantly high speed which sounds like screeching banshees from hell. Any sort of help or advice?
Jake_Kulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 23:19   #19
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
Hi Jake_Kulp

Alas, the info in this old thread was out of date.
I've updated it a bit now.

It's best to follow the instructions from the sticky threads, eg. the FAQ or this one.

For Winamp free version (not Pro):

1. Install (register) the mp4 splitter
2. Install latest ffdshow tryouts 32bit version and configure accordingly
3. As the OS is Win7, install the Preferred DirectShow Filters Tool and tweak accordingly
4. Make sure Winamp is configured accordingly

See here for details
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=155680#mp4v

If it's working correctly, when you right-click a playing mp4 (in the playlist, main window or ml) and select "View File Info",
it should state the DS Filters in use to be:

- MP4 Splitter
- FFDShow Video Decoder
- FFDSHow Audio Decoder
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 23:33   #20
Jake_Kulp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
I'm not quite sure what I should be changing with the DirectShow Filters tool, but assumptions would be changing the preferred to ffdshow rather than windows media player, I tried that, but no luck in changing the filter when I checked the playing videos file info, then tried disabling the windows media items that were playing for it and still nothing.
Jake_Kulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 00:27   #21
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
http://www.meggamusic.co.uk/shup/137...howfilters.png

What splitters/filters does Winamp currently say it's using?

What are the actual video & audio codecs used by the mp4 files?
You can use MediaInfo to provide us with the details.
See here for info: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=161361#video
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2016, 23:54   #22
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Hi Jake_Kulp

Alas, the info in this old thread was out of date.
I've updated it a bit now.

It's best to follow the instructions from the sticky threads, eg. the FAQ or this one.

For Winamp free version (not Pro):

1. Install (register) the mp4 splitter
2. Install latest ffdshow tryouts 32bit version and configure accordingly
3. As the OS is Win7, install the Preferred DirectShow Filters Tool and tweak accordingly
4. Make sure Winamp is configured accordingly

See here for details
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=155680#mp4v

If it's working correctly, when you right-click a playing mp4 (in the playlist, main window or ml) and select "View File Info",
it should state the DS Filters in use to be:

- MP4 Splitter
- FFDShow Video Decoder
- FFDSHow Audio Decoder
Yes Egg! This instructions very actual and right!! We all need to use this for play somehow hi-rez video. Because in_mp4 not work at all.
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 14:22   #23
sahartech
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
The problem isn't Winzamp although it happens when you use winamp instead it is because of window. To solve this problem:
sahartech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump