Old 19th November 2009, 17:56   #1
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,619
windows 7 and shoutcast

Please share your insides on streaming with shoutcast when you use Windows 7

we might be able to build a FAQ with it.

I have heared mixed comments about it and am not changing anyday soon from XP to windows 7

but your insides could be the answer to many questions.

carry on

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 22:13   #2
BELLonline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 254
I changed from XP to 7 and it has been completely smooth and painless. No problems with compatibility that I'm aware of.

I've only tried Edcast though, not used the W.A DSP. I can try it if you like.

P.S, pretty much anything that works on XP works on 7 as far as I can tell.
BELLonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2009, 21:38   #3
PraetorianGuard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
I am having issues with the Shoutcast DNAS working properly.
PraetorianGuard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2009, 21:42   #4
BELLonline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 254
Just to add something, I haven't actually tried running a DNAS from my Win7 computer. I've successfully streamed using edcast and the winamp plugin (in fact it's more stable than on xp).
BELLonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2009, 22:18   #5
PraetorianGuard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
I got DNAS working on Windows 7 in unison with Virtual DJ
PraetorianGuard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 00:57   #6
DRThomson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 9
I had to switch to ed cast because shoutcast refused to support Vista. Will shoutcast offer W7 support?
DRThomson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 16:40   #7
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,142
I could be wrong, but I seem to remember a bird flying around these parts tweeting about how support for the winamp dsp is going to drop because the future is in sc_trans...

But, then again, a bird told me that and you never can trust those critters!
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2009, 21:03   #8
Greg_E
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,687
It might be the difference between Win7 home and Win7 Ultimate, ultimate has the XP emulation mode and home does not. Of course I find this after spending the money on a home upgrade, may have to sell it for the Ultimate upgrade.

And yes I remember something about the DSP going to be gone and it being replaced by SC2 or SCtrans. As long as my encoders still work I don't think I care, and when they stop I'll have to consider upgrading them or moving to a different server type.

Your mileage may vary!
Greg_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2009, 12:09   #9
BELLonline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 254
The only problem I've had with the DSP on Win7 is that the settings don't save (I think it needs to be run as administrator or something).
BELLonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 18:07   #10
amperage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
I'm unable to get it to work properly with my USB Mics and the windows 7 mixer

It USED to be that I would have input "mixed" with output so that when I used the "Push to talk" key, music would fade out and I could talk. Now the only inputs available in shoutcast DSP for winamp is...

Winamp (Recommended) - Can hear the music perfectly
Soundcard Input - Can ONLY hear MIC input.

Soundcard Input is the only place it has the Push to talk button, therefore i can only broadcast music or talking seperately and they can't be mixed.
amperage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 18:31   #11
BELLonline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 254
EDIT: Sorry, didn't read the post properly - I can see not that the push to talk button doesn't work when using "Winamp (recommended)" - seems odd.

Try putting it on Soundcard Input, and click on Open Mixer and make sure that "Stereo Mix" is selected. That's always worked for me.
BELLonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 20:56   #12
amperage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
I'm on windows 7, I don't have that.

Hence topic is "Windows 7 and Shoutcast"
amperage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 21:21   #13
BELLonline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 254
I haven't tried this but might be worth a go:

Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Manage Audio Devices

Click on the Recording Tab, and then right click on one of the options listed (I see Microphone and Line In). A menu will pop up, and one of the options is "Show hidden devices" - enable that. Stereo Mix will then appear, and you can right click and Enable it.

As I say, I was just messing about and haven't actually tried streaming like this - but I see no reason for it not to work.
BELLonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 21:50   #14
amperage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Nope, All I have is....

Microphone 2- High Def Audio Device (Not Plugged in)
Microphone 2- High Def Audio Device (Not Plugged in)
Line In 2- High Def Audio Device (Not Plugged in)
Microphone 2- USB Audio Device (Default Device)
amperage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2010, 00:20   #15
amperage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Do you know of any DJ Software, free or paid, that would be able to put both output from winamp AND input from MIC into one mix while maintaining that mic is muted and will fade in with music fadeout when I press a button?
amperage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 00:52   #16
JoeyC
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 52
Sorry, did not spot this thread until after I posted my question about Win 7 and Shoutcast. Please see that message posted 1/12 for details. I was told that I cannot run the Shoutcast DSP plug-in within Win 7 , so I am trying to do it within XP Mode of Win 7 Professional and am completely lost.
JoeyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 11:37   #17
wdalanw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Ok Heres How i worked around this

I Use the Latest winamp with the DSP plugin on a windows 7 machine
I'm also Using a sound card with a Stereo mix Option in record Settings.
First thing's First.
a) you Must Have a microphone With a Mute/off Switch
and
b) You Must Be able to Select the "what You Hear" or "Stereo Mix" In Sound Settings.

once you Have Set Your Recording Setting to "What you hear"/"Stereo Mix", made you Microphone setting unmuted and you've Monitored that your Mic actually works and Your Shoutcast DSP is Up and running, Select Sound Card inout and Switch to Line instead of microphone.

Because You are "broadcasting" what would be coming out of your Speakers .. Both Music and Mic are "hot/active". Now Use the Mute/off Switch to make the Mic go dead.
The PTT Button Still works and brings msuic Down So When you Unmute the Mic, you can talk over the Music.

Just takes alittle Thought to remember to Mute/Unmute The Microphone As needed in combination with Pressing the PTT(Push to talk) Button.

This was my temporary work around to allow talkover using the Sound Input portion of the DSP .. Surprised i hadnt Seen this Suggested In the threads.

as For Using USB Mic/ headset .. Uhg .. I have found USB headsets to be a P.I.T.A. for anything but gaming. However If your Using this as a replacment for the Onboard Sound card. You might consider Seeing If Stereo Mix/What you hear is availible on the Onboard Sound card. and Picking Up an inexpensive Headset. or even a Pair of good audio headphones and a studio Mic to use with it... But Only If Your rig is Solid enough to handle it

I Broadcast using The following.
Latest winamp W/ Shoutcast DSP
on a p4 2.4ghz
2 gigs of Ram
realtek Onboard Sound card( I have an SB audigy but havent figured out how to get window 7 to recognize it as being Stereo mix capable which was working in XP but doesnt in 7.. weird
wdalanw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump