Old 5th September 2010, 08:12   #1
phite
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
SHOUTcast DNAS 2.0 Beta

I downloaded the file,
extracted it
went to win 32
double clicked sc_serv
it asked me for allow connections i allowed it
then i got 3 new files in the folder called
sc_serv.ban
sc_serv.rip
sc_w3c

and now i dont know what to do.

Sorry for asking nooby questions, im new to all this.
phite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2010, 10:55   #2
caraoge
Senior Member
 
caraoge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Saarland, Germany
Posts: 331
Just read the README.txt file.
This file contains all information you need to setup and run an shoutcast server.
caraoge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2010, 19:53   #3
phite
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
it says i need to do
sc_serv.exe install <servicename> <username> <password> <conf>

where

<servicename> - name of service (how it appears in the service control panel)
<username> - user under which to run service (use 0 for system)
<password> - password for user (use 0 for system or no password)
<conf> - FULL PATH to config file
-------------------------------------
but nothing happened once i pressed the sc_serv.exe ......
phite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 10:07   #4
Crytiqal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 15
You have to use cmd.exe

navigate to the folder where the sc_serv.exe is installed and then execute that command I guess.

(Or maybe you could make a shortcut and add those parameters to the startup commandline and run it once?)
Crytiqal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2010, 12:53   #5
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,035
Here is a gui,to avoid using console.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=321962

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 02:16   #6
Ghost733
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
This is weird. The instructions are so vague for someone who's new like me. What in the heck am I supposed to do with these applications? I've extracted them, but they don't do anything when I run them, even as admin. Nowhere does it tell me how to install it. I've read the README, it's just a bunch of gibberish.
Ghost733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 02:37   #7
jaromanda
Major Dude
 
jaromanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,813
there is no README with DNAS 2.0 beta, no wonder it looks like gibberish, it probably isn't anything to do with DNAS

... but I could be wrong
jaromanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 02:46   #8
Ghost733
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
omgosh you guys. the readme says:
sc_serv.exe install <servicename> <username> <password> <conf>

where

<servicename> - name of service (how it appears in the service control panel)
<username> - user under which to run service (use 0 for system)
<password> - password for user (use 0 for system or no password)
<conf> - FULL PATH to config file

da heck does that mean?? why can't i just use the older, not ridiculous version of DNAS that actually installed on my computer successfully? I can't even get my station authorized unless i have 2.0, is that it?
Ghost733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 04:00   #9
jaromanda
Major Dude
 
jaromanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost733 View Post
omgosh you guys. the readme says:
sc_serv.exe install <servicename> <username> <password> <conf>

where
etc

that's DOCS.TXT (no readme) ... and it ACTUALLY says

1) To install as win32 service

sc_serv.exe install <servicename> <username> <password> <conf>

where
... etc

then there's point 2, 3 then point 4 tells you how to run it as a console app in windows - possibly what you would want ... then point 5 ... then point 6 explains the config file

it's pretty straight forward - admittedly only in English


of course, jkey's suggested gui to avoid the console, 4 weeks ago (but JUST BEFORE YOUR FIRST WHINGE) means you don't have to understand anything more complicated than point and click ... point being moving the mouse, and click being depressing a mouse button ... though, there is SOME typing to do with that gui as well ... that involves a keyboard ... but you clearly don't need any help with using one of those

... but I could be wrong
jaromanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 20:50   #10
Ghost733
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
lol i don't get it, but after some headbanging, excessive crying, and several cereal breaks, i shall get it working. i love you jaromanda, YOU DA MAN...da (see what i did there?)
Ghost733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2010, 04:02   #11
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,035
Don't give up G,once you have it working all you need is a good Host.
out of the 73 out there about 3 support sc2.

(see what I did there) ?



So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump