Old 5th November 2012, 18:34   #1
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Play position is no longer saved correctly

Ever since I received the 1.4.1 update my play position is no longer being properly saved. What I mean by this is if I am listening to a file that is 4 hours long and I stop using Winamp for awhile, when I return the play position in never correct. In fact sometimes the play position is higher than the length.

This feature has been working flawlessly for the past several versions but it broke recently and it broke hard.

Please fix this! This feature is extremely important to me because I am constantly having to remember what my location was then fast forward to it when I return. The only reason I bought Winamp was because this worked so well.
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2012, 08:01   #2
toneknob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Same here! Really annoying. Please fix!

Winamp Pro v1.4.1, HTC Desire S, Android 2.3.5
toneknob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2012, 19:12   #3
anim8rx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Same here, I listen to a lot of audio books and losing position is a huge problem. It doesn't appear to remember the track or album either. Please fix. It seems to have broken with this latest update, it seemed fine before.

Galaxy S2 Android 4.04 (latest available)
anim8rx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2012, 22:03   #4
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Can winamp please respond?

Can someone from Winamp please respond? This issue is so annoying. I'm getting sick of having to write down where I left off. I don't understand why this is such a problem and why the behavior keeps changing between updates.
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2012, 13:54   #5
toneknob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Maybe they're too busy fixing it to respond

By the looks of the user reviews at https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ullsoft.winamp, we're not the only ones to have noticed.
toneknob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2012, 18:51   #6
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
1.4.2 didn't fix it

Well I was hoping 1.4.2 would fix it. So much for hope.
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2012, 20:05   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hi

We did implement a potential fix for this issue in v1.4.2, specifically for podcasts.

Please could you provide us with some more information.

What are the exact steps to reproduce the problem?

Where are the files downloaded from? Were they transferred to the phone using Winamp?
Do you pause and move out of the app to another app, or do you quit the app whilst the file is playing...?
What duration of time approximately passes inbetween plays?

Does the problem only occur with long podcasts/audiobooks?
Is the play position of shorter files remembered, eg. standard 3-10 min. songs.

@tonypriest
Please also include device/model details & Android OS
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2012, 20:17   #8
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Phone is a RAZR, Android v. 4.0.4
Files are m4a recordings of radio programs.
They vary in length from 30 minutes to 4 hrs.
They are transferred via direct copy.
I don't listen to songs so I don't know if the position is saved.
Prior to 1.4.1 this worked flawlessly although it did break on one update awhile ago
With the 1.4.2 update at first I thought it was fixed.

Here is the exact behavior I saw today:
Paused play at 1:35:00
Came back later and it started right
Paused at 2:30:00
Came back later and it started at 1:35:00
Prior to 1.4.2 play position would be reset almost every time I returned.

If it helps any, prior to 1.4.1 I could turn my phone completely off and it would start right where it left off every time. Now it is reset.
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2012, 21:21   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Ok, so it looks we're getting somewhere (ie. an improvement from 1.4.1 to 1.4.2, but....)

Please could you describe the "came back later" process in more detail.
Did you use the "Quit Winamp" menu item or just leave it open in the background with the track in a paused state? Did you shutdown the phone or put it in sleep mode, etc?
Basically, we're looking for a precise method to reproduce the problem.

Note that we have already identified some related issues, but not your specific one yet....


Please also note that it's not necessarily us who are breaking features that used to work perfectly ok,
it's more a case of Google introducing new features/methods/APIs in newer Android OS versions which break the older ones, so we then need to adapt to/fix said issues, whilst at the same time trying to maintain backwards compatibility....
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2012, 00:26   #10
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
First let me say that I understand what you are saying about it not always being you who breaks things but in this case I have had the same Android version for quite some time and this issue started the same day I got the 1.4.1 update.

In the previous message when I said shutdown I meant powered off not sleeping.

When I quit listening I always do the same thing: I pause and hit 'home' or 'back'. I never do a 'Quit Winamp'.

When I return to the app I always do it by clicking the lighting bolt on the Winamp Widget (small).

What I noticed today with 1.4.2 is that it saved position 1:30:01 in the file and so far has been 1:30:01 every time I return to the app. That is the position where I first paused it this morning.
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2012, 00:34   #11
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
I just got another update (1.4.3) and so far this appears to be fixed. I'll let you know for sure later. Thanks!
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2012, 10:37   #12
toneknob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
I've got 1.4.3, and the problem is still there. My experience is similar to tonypriest - I'll start listening to tracks (music files in mp3 format, loaded by drag and drop from my PC).

- i start winamp by tapping the lightning icon on the large widget.
- i'll start listening to an album by selecting it from the Albums button, then either tap on it and select a track, or long press on the album and select "Play"
- when I stop listening (by hitting "Pause" either on the widget or in the player itself), then winamp will stop where I leave it
- if I resume soon then it'll pick up playback from where I left it
- if I resume a lot later (possible after an automatic screen lock, or when Winamp has been stopped by Android - I'm guessing here), then Winamp will have reset the playback point to where I started listening to the album - if I started from mid-way through the album it'll resume there.

I never use the "Quit Winamp" option from the main menu.

My Android version has been 2.3.5 for much much longer than I have been experiencing this problem, which I first saw with version 1.4.1.

Hope that helps, and thanks for looking in! (and keep us updated, please!)
toneknob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2012, 19:46   #13
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
After using it for a couple days I can confirm what toneknob is saying. It remembers the first position that you paused on regardless of how times you paused.
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2012, 20:13   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Thanks for all your help & input guys.
We're looking into it and will hopefully get it fixed soon :-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2012, 09:06   #15
toneknob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
I installed 1.4.4 this morning - I'll let you know how I get on with it.
toneknob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2012, 12:55   #16
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
So far so good for me. I won't know for sure until a day or so.
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2012, 13:31   #17
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@tonypriest
Thanks for testing.
Yes, please let us know.
Hopefully it's fixed for real this time....
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2012, 00:30   #18
tonypriest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Looks good. Is there a way I can get the installer for 1.4.4? As far as I'm concerned this version does everything I will ever want.
tonypriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:50   #19
toneknob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Looks good from here as well. Got another similar question though - see http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?p=2901563
toneknob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Android

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump