Old 21st February 2013, 08:54   #1
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
New Winamp version does not play .wma files?

Hi,
I just upgraded to window 8 from 7 and with it the latest Winamp.
Now for some reason, this version does not play .wma files whereas the version I had before did.

Am I doing something wrong or is it a removed feature?

Thanks
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 06:41   #2
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
Is there really no answer to this?
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 08:31   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,481
Hi

Please attach a list of plugins, either via the One For Nunz plugin or Koopa's Info Tool
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins

Was 'Windows Media Audio Support' checkmarked in the Winamp installer options?
Is in_wm.dll present in the Winamp\Plugins folder?
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2013, 10:45   #4
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
Here you go.

I thought it was a problem with the installation, so I reinstalled, and it didn't work, so I uninstalled and reinstall as-is, without choosing custom install.

Still no go.

in_wm.dll is present.
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (20.8 KB, 86 views)
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2013, 16:19   #5
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,769
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
upload some example wma files to 4shared. any chance its DRM?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2013, 20:49   #6
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
It's not DRM, I'm 100% sure.
I tried playing it with VLC and it works.

Also it did work for me with Winamp before installing a fresh copy of Windows 8
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 13:41   #7
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
Just uploaded an example file:
http://snk.to/f-cz1pauto
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 19:50   #8
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,769
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i am playing it and hearing it on my win7 system.

what is the writing? hebrew?

perhaps win8 is tripping up on the char set.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 20:33   #9
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
i am playing it and hearing it on my win7 system.

what is the writing? hebrew?

perhaps win8 is tripping up on the char set.
Yes, it is Hebrew.

I also played it with win7. On win8 I play a lot of mp3 with this char set, so I don't think that's the problem...
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 21:32   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,481
<< Reported extensions from each input plug-in >>
in_wm.dll - No extensions reported

Go to: Winamp > Prefs (Ctrl+P) > Plugins > Input > Nullsoft Windows Media Decoder v3.6 [in_wm.dll] > config
and click the "Defaults" button
Then click the "Save" button

The "Filetypes" table in there was empty, right?
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 23:37   #11
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
<< Reported extensions from each input plug-in >>
in_wm.dll - No extensions reported

Go to: Winamp > Prefs (Ctrl+P) > Plugins > Input > Nullsoft Windows Media Decoder v3.6 [in_wm.dll] > config
and click the "Defaults" button
Then click the "Save" button

The "Filetypes" table in there was empty, right?
No go.
There were 5-6 filetypes before defaulting.
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 02:18   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanin View Post
No go.
There were 5-6 filetypes before defaulting.
Hmm, not according to your plugins log. WMA wasn't referenced at all.

Does WMA appear in the FileTypes list in Winamp > Prefs > File Types?

Is there maybe a "not loaded" or other error message next to the Windows Media Decoder listing in Prefs > Plugins > Input?

What version of Windows Media Player is installed?
Does it open and play WMA files ok?
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 02:40   #13
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,769
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
yeah, the plugin is present, but the filetype is not referenced to it, in fact, none are to in_wm.dll

winamp needs to know to associate wma to itself.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 02:56   #14
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,362
Windows 8 has changed the way file type associations are made. Version 5.63 of Winamp is not compatible with this change. Use the Default Programs utility in the Windows 8 control panel to make the file type associations for Winamp.

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 desktop, Winamp Pro 5.666.3516, cPro MPxi_remix skin, 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 03:33   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,481
Yeah, but Winamp doesn't need to be the default WMA handler/player to be able to play WMA.
It just needs to know to use in_wm.dll for WMA.
The log showed that WMA wasn't associated with in_wm.dll, and therefore in_mp3 was probably trying to decode them instead.
Maybe it requires a Winamp restart on Win8 for changes to take effect (though shouldn't do, normally)...?

Lord knows, lol. It's all very strange...
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 05:13   #16
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,362
Ok as to the default handler thing, but if in_mp3 is trying to decode them, should not that have been listed in the log?

Anyway tanin should be able to use the configuration settings for both of these input plug-ins, under General Preferences - Plug-ins - Input, to check and edit (if necessary) the file types associated with each one.

Assuming any changes made here are made to Winamp configuration files and not to the registry, and these configuration files are in folders where updating files is allowed by Windows 8.

If any changes to the plug-ins configuration settings are not maintained after restarting Winamp, then I would try making the changes while running Winamp in Administrator mode. I'm only suggesting running in Administrator mode for changing options, not for normal Winamp usage.

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 desktop, Winamp Pro 5.666.3516, cPro MPxi_remix skin, 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 07:26   #17
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
I attached a pic with the plugin's settings.

wma are associated with winamp.

I don't have Windows media player installed. Maybe that's the problem? although I think that most Windows 8 sold come without, so many users should have this problem...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	130
Size:	15.0 KB
ID:	50255  
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 09:01   #18
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,769
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
give us a screenshot of the "file types" in winamp prefs.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 10:02   #19
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
give us a screenshot of the "file types" in winamp prefs.
Here you go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	140
Size:	33.7 KB
ID:	50256  
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 12:51   #20
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Ok as to the default handler thing, but if in_mp3 is trying to decode them, should not that have been listed in the log?
No, in_mp3 will have been trying to decode them because of this setting:

Winamp > Prefs > Playlist:
Assume file extension of unknown files to be: mp3

i.e. if you try to play a file with an extension that Winamp doesn't recognize (because said extension isn't associated with any input plugin), then Winamp should use in_mp3 to try decode said files.
If that setting was changed to wma, then Winamp would try to use in_wm for unknown filetypes instead.
If it was changed to WAV then Winamp will attempt to use in_wave, or if mpeg -> in_dshow, etc etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanin View Post
I don't have Windows media player installed. Maybe that's the problem? although I think that most Windows 8 sold come without, so many users should have this problem...
Yes, that is the cause of the problem.

Winamp / in_wm.dll requires the Windows Media Engine (v9.1 - v10) to be installed.

Windows Media Player Full download:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...s-media-player

Does C:\Windows\System32WMVCORE.DLL exist on your system?

The Winamp installer looks for the Windows Media 9.1 Codec package and,
if it's not found on the system, will attempt to install this package:
Our redistributable: http://download.nullsoft.com/redist/wm/wmfdist95.exe
Same package from Microsoft: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/downl...ls.aspx?id=507

Though that package was meant for WinXP & Server 2003...

Windows 8 (N & KN) version:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=30685

So maybe installing the codec package for Win8 will work?
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 12:55   #21
tanin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post

Yes, that is the cause of the problem.

Winamp / in_wm.dll requires the Windows Media Engine (v9+) to be installed.
Is it readily available for download, cause I can't seem to find it.

edit: found it:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=30685

Hopes it gets the job done.

edit 2: Working, finally.
Thanks
tanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 13:16   #22
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,481
Yay! :-)
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 17:58   #23
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 4,769
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
what other audio subsystems does winamp require to play things?

seems like something one for nunz should report in its next version... d'oh!

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2013, 04:00   #24
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
No, in_mp3 will have been trying to decode them because of this setting:

Winamp > Prefs > Playlist:
Assume file extension of unknown files to be: mp3
Thanx DJ Egg. I had forgot about that option!



Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
what other audio subsystems does winamp require to play things?
With hindsight, I would suspect that proprietary audio formats (like Microsoft's) would require additional support. I always install the major apps that come with the Windows OS, like IE and WMP (even if I don't use them), to avoid problems like this.

Some video formats may also require additional codecs, especially with the free version of Winamp.

I agree that the new, or updated, Winamp configuration report plug-in should look for the audio/video support .dll files usually provided by the OS.

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 desktop, Winamp Pro 5.666.3516, cPro MPxi_remix skin, 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump