Old 24th November 2013, 10:20   #1
jbond23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 32
Winamp 5.66 - Amp Randomizer taskbar strangeness

I've been using the Amp Randomizer plugin for a long time, (v2.21, http://ampr.ophenix.org/) After upgrading to v5.66 the taskbar title is reduced to one character when playing a track. Removing the plugin returns the taskbar title to normal. The rest of the Ampr function works fine.

Bizarre. And mildly annoying!
jbond23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2013, 07:38   #2
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Hi jbond23,

There is always the risk that a new version of Winamp may break a 3rd party plug-in. If you can't contact the plug-in's developer, DrO may be able to help after the AOL shutdown business is resolved.

A new forum site has been started (in case it's needed) for discussing problems and stuff related to this last AOL sponsored version.

http://winampforum.com

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2013, 13:42   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's most likely something i've done with my taskbar fixer which is causing the issue (which is one of a number of things which i can fix irrespective of what is / isn't going on with Winamp).

however i've just installed the plug-in and am not seeing any issues with it. so would suggest providing an info report -> http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2013, 15:42   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i've tried a few more things and there's nothing i can find to explain it unless it's being applied in a manner which isn't happening on my side e.g. loading orders or some other plug-in interaction. and the only issue i'm generally finding is the plug-in is crashing on closing.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2013, 21:54   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
have finally replicated the issue but with how the plug-in is exporting what it uses, it doesn't fit in with the ways that i've been checking to determine what needs to be patched. will likely need to provide an update of my plug-in (from here) for fixing things at a later date.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 07:08   #6
jbond23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 32
Interesting DrO. Glad it's not just me that sees this. I didn't see the crash on shutdown to start with but now I'm getting that as well. The two annoyances mean I've dropped the plugin for the moment.

Which means I'm now looking for a solution to playing random tracks from a very large library, again.
jbond23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 10:18   #7
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Hi jbond23,

Try your plug-in with the Winamp version released yesterday (v5.666), link below. It has an updated version of DrO's taskbar fixer that has not made it to his website yet.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=373755

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 10:29   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
my update (which now puts my plug-in at v3.5) isn't going to help with the issue and won't be fixed until the v4 update of it when i work out how to patch it's type import table.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2013, 10:59   #9
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Oops, my bad!

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump