Old 20th April 2021, 07:12   #1
parisienne17

How ?

After digging a bit in the forum sections, I think I already know the answer but...Anyway...

Is there a way to easily make a modern skin ?

I'm trying to update the one I'm using by looking inside others (mine has black text white playlist/media library backgrounds but as my eyesight has badly worsen this last year, I'd prefer the opposite) but it is a tedious process and as I'm no coder, the xml structure plus understanding the skin base concept out of the box, from outside is... Challenging.

So, as I'm a graphic designer and have all the needed tools, is there any graphical interfaced skin editor to design a basic skin (I don't intend to use animations and such), one that will output the xml file ?
parisienne17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2021, 08:31   #2
ariszlo
Major Dude

Quote:
Originally Posted by parisienne17 View Post
is there any graphical interfaced skin editor to design a basic skin [...], one that will output the xml file ?
The good news is there is. The bad news is that you won't like it. All it can output is a small skin with the size and shape of the Winamp Classic skin.

You had better learn the basics of Modern skinning at FrisbeeMonkey.com. It is really not that difficult. All you need is determination, patience and concentration.

Another option is that you show the graphics and if some coder likes it then you and the coder could work in collaboration.

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2021, 01:28   #3
parisienne17

thanks for the info.
I do hope that for future winamp if it ever will be released that coders wil implement a graphical skinning app and most of all the ability for the player to 'house' visualisations as did the good old Sonique or QCD.

I didn't notice that in my skins I had one "Modern"...I'll have to look in it too.
Old 21st April 2021, 09:20   #4
ariszlo
Major Dude

Quote: