Old 17th February 2003, 04:45   #1
thepmpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Writing MP3?

OK, I had used Winamp and wrote lots of MP3's with Chun-Yu's MP3 writer. I thought I would try a different rip and after several tries found nothing that would fit my needs. Adware, limited or poor tracking.. bad stuff. So I went back to Winamp and found that I can't write MP3's any more. I uninstalled Winamp. No luck. I tried the CD reader plug in which was what I had before and was working and it now gives me an error about my devise perhaps not able to accept Win32 commands. I cannot even play a CD with the CD reader plugin in place. I have to completly uninstall Winamp, delete all Winamp Directories and then re-install.

My guesss is that something is not happy to have the newer CD reader plug in working. I can play CD's with the regular CD reader from Winamp, but cannot get the Chun-Yu plugin to then write MP3's. CD's only play to the speakers.

Help! I need to be able to move production music to CD on this laptop. I want to use Winamp to do that.. again.

I've replaced my DirectX drivers, updated ASPI. read all the stuff on here about MP3..

Any ideas what might solve this problem. I've written to the author of both plug ins and they have not been able to write back..

Ideas? Any help would be appreciated!
thepmpguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2003, 08:30   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
What's your Windows OS?

Have you tried changing the CDReader config?
Prefs -> Plugins -> Input -> CD Reader -> config
Hi-lite CD-ROM Drive -> configure
Change Interface to ASPI (instead of Win32)
Make sure the correct ASPI Device is selected
(this should match the make/model of your CD-ROM drive)
Checkmark: Read Errors - ignore

Also make sure you've got the latest v1.95 version of CDReader
And naturally you've disabled the default in_cdda.dll plugin ?!

You could also try using Peter's MP3 Output plugin instead of Chun-Yu's.
out_enc comes complete with LameEnc, the best MP3 Encoder!


btw, other top quality & highly recommended freeware rippers are:
CDex | EAC
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2003, 12:56   #3
thepmpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
What's your Windows OS?

I have reciently moved to Win98... sorry.


Have you tried changing the CDReader config?
Prefs -> Plugins -> Input -> CD Reader -> config
Hi-lite CD-ROM Drive -> configure
Change Interface to ASPI (instead of Win32)
Make sure the correct ASPI Device is selected
(this should match the make/model of your CD-ROM drive)
Checkmark: Read Errors - ignore

When I select ASPI, nothing shows up as a drive to use.


Also make sure you've got the latest v1.95 version of CDReader
And naturally you've disabled the default in_cdda.dll plugin ?!

I had the latest, correct and yes, I had disable the other plug in.

You could also try using Peter's MP3 Output plugin instead of Chun-Yu's.
out_enc comes complete with LameEnc, the best MP3 Encoder!

I'll try this writer, thank you.


btw, other top quality & highly recommended freeware rippers are:
CDex | EAC
Cdex seems to require that you are online when you use it. At least, from how I saw it perform. It would not read the CD and display a list of the tracks. I'll check our the other one. I don't think the ripper will matter much because the drive is unable to work in digital. So far as I can get it to. It is a Dell Inspiron 3200 and about 5 years old. So, I would not be suprised. I'll look for a driver on Dells site.

Thanks for the help.
thepmpguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2003, 14:33   #4
thepmpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Ok, tried that.....

OK, I tried that second MP3 writer plug in and it does the same thing. CD's play nicely, but it does not write to the hardrive.

Any other guesses?
thepmpguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2003, 16:42   #5
thepmpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Quick item of note

When I load up the Chopah CD reader, I loose the ability to play CD's at all. Even if I restore the old In_cdda file and try to remove the chopah reader. CD's show up with 00:00 for a time and I see either

ASPI Failed to Init.

(which makes sence since I do not have a name to to place in the ASPI drive location. Nothing to point to = nothing to work with.
or

Unable to open device.. probably your system does not support Win32 driver calls.

running Win98..

I've purged my registery of anything about the software rips I had loaded up. Amazing how un-install does not clean all that off.. guess the developers like to hang around.

anyway..

Still.. Help!
thepmpguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2003, 18:09   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Okay, looks like you've got some pretty serious problem here.

Where did you download ASPI from?
We always recommend one of these sites:
http://www.ping.be/satcp/softwaretools01.htm#ASPI
http://www.nu2.nu/aspi/

You should also install the ASPICheck Utility to check the current installation for any problems.

Also note what it says on the official Adaptec ASPI Updates site:
quote:
NOTE: Do NOT install ASPI32.EXE with Windows 2000, Windows Me, Windows XP, or with Windows Media Player 7.0. If are using any of these Operating Systems or if you have any one of these applications, you should not be installing or using this file.

What version of WMP do you have?


You say you tried some other apps, and you mentioned adware.
Which programs did you install exactly?
You say you've removed registry entries, but what about the adware entries?

Please download, unzip and run StartUpList.
This will generate a list of all currently running processes, startup programs, and more.
You can copy+paste or attach the result file here.
This will then tell us whether you've been infected with any spyware/parasiteware. If any is found, I will then provide the exact removal instructions.

Usually, Spybot Search & Destroy will automatically remove most of the spyware/adware/parasites/trojans.
But in some cases you'll need to follow some special removal instructions before running Spybot (which will then clean up any leftovers).

Recommended reading material:
http://doxdesk.com/parasite/
http://www.spywareinfo.com/scanner.php
http://security.kolla.de/index.php?lang=en&page=links
http://www.tom-cat.com/spybase/index.html
http://www.winpatrol.com/stats.html
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2003, 22:24   #7
thepmpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Rip CD to disc

First off thank you for your help. I appreciate it.

Ok. Lets see here....

I downloaded and attempted to run the startuplist program you pointed to. I see the following error:

Error starting program

A required .DLL file, MSVBM60.DLL was not found

So, that will not run.

I have WMP version 6.01.05.1217

The programs I recall downloading were:

Silverfox
dBpowerAMP Music Converter 9.0
CD to WAV/MP3 Ripper 1.62
VMP3

and perhaps one other. I went back to look on zdnet where I found them for names, but can't recall others. In my disgust to find they were adware, I deleted them and did not track them. Wish I could be of more help that way.

I ran Ad-aware and found four entries in the registry, nothing changed, it still works like before.

I think that's everything....Tempting to wipe Win98 and start again.. Man what a job that would be!


Thanks again.
thepmpguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2003, 02:59   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Ok . . .

msvbvm60.dll is a component of MS Visual Basic 6 Runtime
You can get the full download from miscrosoft.com (~1mb)

Or you can just get that one file and place it in your Windows\System folder.
http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dl...shtml?msvbvm60

You might need this one as well:
http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dl....shtml?msvcp60

I really need to see your StartUpList
and I could've done with seeing it BEFORE you ran Ad-Aware.

And I recommend using Spybot Search & Destroy over Ad-Aware.
I use both, but I always run Spybot first.


As for those programs you installed . . .
afaik, dbPowerAmp doesn't contain any spyware, though don't quote me on that.
I've never heard of the other ones, so I'll need to do a bit of research.


Back to ASPI
Seeing you've got Win98 and WMP6, there should be no problems installing ASPI

First, download and run ASPICheck
ftp://ftp.adaptec.com/software_pc/aspi/aspichk.exe

This will tell you if ASPI is correctly installed or not.

If it shows any problems, then reinstall ASPI again:
ftp://ftp.adaptec.com/software_pc/aspi/aspi32.exe

If you get an error from aspi32.exe saying an earlier version wasn't detected,
then you'll need to install the earlier version first:
http://www.dawicontrol.com/english/html/aspi.htm
Then run the updated version again afterwards.


Good luck, and keep us posted
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2003, 13:08   #9
thepmpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
All I have to say..

All I have to say is you are a genius! Thank you!

I ran the startup list and here (one line is modified to not show my name....) is the result.. Just in case it helps somehow learn what went on...

StartupList report, 12/17/2002, 11:08:29 PM
StartupList version: 1.51
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.00 (5.00.2614.3500)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SYNAPTICS\SYNTP\SYNTPLPR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SYNAPTICS\SYNTP\SYNTPENH.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\DESKMENU.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\FLEXICD.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\CWD3DSND.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINOA386.MOD
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINOA386.MOD
C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
Deskmenu.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\DESKMENU.EXE
FlexiCD.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\FLEXICD.EXE
Crystal 3D Audio Control.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\CWD3DSND.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
Disknag = C:\DELL\DISKNAG.EXE
SynTPLpr = C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
SynTPEnh = C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe /q
Tweak UI = RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor = c:\windows\taskmon.exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
WinampAgent = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPa.exe"

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent = c:\windows\SYSTEM\mstask.exe

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.INI listing:
(Created 17/12/2002, 21:31:52)

[rename]
NUL=c:\windows\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 13/12/2002, 17:22:32)

[Rename]
NUL=c:\WINDOWS\TEMP\A~NSISU_.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

Device=Himem.sys
Device=EMM386.exe noems
Dos=high,umb

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

{A6BFEF80-0E2E-11D7-BC04-F04B3439E071}_XXX XXX.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[InstallFromTheWeb ActiveX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\IFTW.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.installfromtheweb.com/install/iftwclix.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 3,605 bytes
Report generated in 0.470 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only


Ok, secondly, I checked then reloaded ASPI and then after a re-install of Winamp, found all is perfect. It works great!

ASPI check told me that I had one file which was not the same version. It was a Win95 version.

Here is my theory. I believe that one of the programs I loaded on to test for ripping from CD's had an old ASPI file in it which is overwrote the one I had with. Sometimes these things happen.... accident or just bad programming...

Just my guess.

Thanks again. Nice to have it back again!
thepmpguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2003, 14:13   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Alrighty!

Yes, it looks like one of those other programs overwrote one of the ASPI-Layer files with an older version.

Glad to see everything worked out fine

Yay!


ps. It's also nice to see that your system is spyware free!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2003, 21:06   #11
Tezkah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Tezkah
The best utility for ripping from CDs that I've found is "dBPowerAMP", I think you can get it from Download.com... it lets you access a database so you dont have to write all that crap in, very useful....
Tezkah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2010, 02:21   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Please do not revive 7yr old threads that are no longer relevant. Thanks.

Alas, MP3 ripping is a Winamp Pro only feature.
Some (lesser-known?) players might be able to get away with including it for free without having a license, but we can't.

Regardless of the encoder used, native MP3 encoding requires a license from the MP3 patent holders, Thomson & Fraunhofer.
The Winamp Pro license fee, in part, covers the cost of said license on a per-copy basis, thus making us legal.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump