Old 25th September 2003, 13:34   #1
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Generic Device Libary Plugin

I made this after Sawg himself requested it, it took just a few mins.

1) unzip this file into winamp\plugins\ http://www.harrison-fisher.co.uk/wil...eneric_0.1.zip
2) Check the "Generic Device" pane in the ML
3) Click "Config" and enter the path (like f:\ or c:\myfolder\)
4) Hit refresh


This is perfect for USB keychain flash disks with a few mp3's in the root.

Caution: this just lists all the files (and subdirectorys!) in the directory, regardless if winamp can play them or not.

[edit: if you want it to list certain files only, just use the search box]

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2003, 16:51   #2
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Nice. I know it's a .1 so you've probably already thought about these, but a couple things:
Bug-No trailing slash in config = no files/folders found.

Suggestion-It'd be nice to have the subdirectories show up as trees, so if I have my mp3s organized by artist/album, I can narrow down the results.

Another Suggestion-Some method of sending files from the main library to the device (and back) would also be good.

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2003, 09:38   #3
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
Cool.

One wish:
could you somehow make it possible to have multiple "devices"?

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2003, 09:54   #4
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
hello guys

i just see that topic

i have a great surprise for you
"gutenberg have developped a better plugin since 3 months
have a look
http://perso.wanadoo.fr/winampfr/ml_filecopy.zip

possibility to access to proprity of the key (format, see the remaining data..) to drag and drop directly via the library to the peripheral
best best and immediatly operationnal


(sorry for my poor english )
PS : it's a french plugin...sorry gutenberg don't speak well (me neither ) in enlish
...nevertheless it's easy to use

-glop-

Last edited by glop; 1st November 2003 at 10:18.
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 18:46   #5
saivert
Banned
 
saivert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 927
Watch telly and hide the subtitles (use TeleText or some piece of cardboard). And spend more time in these forums. That magically improves your english. And if that doesn't work, try some
english courses.
saivert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2003, 00:47   #6
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
saivert>
1) i don't think i have lesson to hear for "how to improve my english". i'm just enough old to now to imporve it.
1) just to call again that i m french. Spek french as well as my english and you can talk me something
3) NO CONNECTION ABOUT THIS THREAD : we tal about plugin. your message is MORE a private message rather than a simply reply..so we talk about plugin for devices.
See you soon
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2003, 15:16   #7
cebailey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Here's a solution to someone else's problem, and a question about one of my own:

You can have multiple 'Generic Device' listings...just copy the .dll file to the plugins directory more than once, and name them things like 'ml_generic2.dll' and so on. Which brings me to my question: is there a way to change the name in the left panel to something other than 'Generic Device?' Is there a way to do it in Winamp, or would I need some sort of DLL editor?
cebailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2004, 17:47   #8
threemoons
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 32
Um, even though I put the Generic Device Driver into the plugin folder, I can't "See" it in the list to configure it in WinAmp 5. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks@
threemoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2004, 21:24   #9
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
you don't have to configurate the plugin. this i have posted just reconize in the media library the device like d:\ f:\ for usb key for exemple
see you


(ps you can see it in media library last panel ( right)
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 17:46   #10
threemoons
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 32
Plug-in, etc.

Glop--thanks so much! After a few tries of moving it around, I finally got it to sort of work.

Now, it sees the device, but won't let me "open" the music folder--in other words, I can't click on my music file to open it in the Winamp browser...

But I am making progress! Thanks so much again, and continue to post tips, hints, and help!

threemoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2004, 20:33   #11
Canada Bob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 8
That little French number !

Hi,

first of all Thanks to all you guys who contribute, I've been lurking for a couple of weeks since I got Winamp Pro.

I had one little problem, I travel a lot, long haul flights all the time, and it was a pain caryinging CD's etc etc, so I bought a "Pen Drive" with mp3 playing ability. The problem that I had was sorted out Thanks to the posts in here, I downloaded the little French file, and it works great, but...

The text is in French {when you load it into Winamp}, anyone know how I could get this changed ? of if there is an English version ?

Winamp is a great program, better than ANYTHING that I have used before, and the support for skins, plug ins etc is second to none, so I really do appreciate the time and considerations that everyone has put into the program.
Canada Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2004, 21:25   #12
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
http://www.winampfr.com/tutoriaux/gusb/index.php

look the pictures
even if they are in french you can easily understand..
How what i say, this will not be translated in english ...
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 22:57   #13
Canada Bob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 8
Bon Jour Mon Ami

Hi...

or should that be Bon Jour, grin...

No offence meant wanting the Limey translations, yep you're right about the French file being easy to follow, no problem there {after living in La Belle Province fro 2 years} but seeing as how many of us are Anglophones and the file is so useful it would be nice if someone would translate it.

Salute'
Canada Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 23:12   #14
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
-

we ( gutenberg and me transslating the plugin of gUSB)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=171234 for the moment in french

see the capture attached
Attached Images
File Type: png gusb2ok.png (19.0 KB, 600 views)
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 23:49   #15
Canada Bob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 8
Avec Bon Plaisir

Bon Soir...

The add on is very nice, works a treat, looking forward to someone doing the English text though, sigh.

Merci Beacoup.
Canada Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 00:03   #16
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
no no non !!!!!
the gusb in english is going to submission !!
wait 2 day, int' on the "tube
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 19:01   #17
Canada Bob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 8
Merci Beacoup

Hello Glop...

Thanks for the info on the Limey version, much appreciated.
Canada Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 23:25   #18
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
For all !
Canada bob, threemoons,Plague, will.....

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=171234

all is there, plugin french translated, screenshot in english calibrated explained....
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump