Old 31st October 2003, 08:46   #1
Iron_Gator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to Iron_Gator
Main Wav Vol being reset to 0 on each new song played

I am long time Win-Amp user, but at ropes end on this glitch. Running 2.91, which works picture perfect except for one thing. Each file resets my main Wav Volume back to Zero. Easy to fix, just raise Vol back up and it plays perfectly, but each and every song gets tiresome quick. How can I get my soundcard (at moment a Soundblaster16, lol)to remember the Wav Vol? Creative usually plays without any help, as WinMediaPlayer seems to like some and others not, while WinAmp point blank Refuses to play 2 songs in a row without resetting the vol level. I am just wondering if anyone else has ever had this trouble?
Iron_Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2003, 14:44   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
What file formats are you playing?
What is your Windows OS?
Which Output plugin is active (Prefs -> Plugins -> Output)? WaveOut or DirectSound?
(the hi-lighted output plugin is the active one)

If WaveOut, try checking/unchecking the following options in WaveOut config:
Volume Control:
Enable / Alt setting method / reset to original value on stop.
One of the combinations will be what you are looking for.

If you're on Win2k/XP, switch to DirectSound Output instead
(requires DirectX 8 or higher to work in Win9x/ME, doesn't work in WinNT)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2003, 03:35   #3
Iron_Gator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to Iron_Gator
Thanx, somehow the Volume Enable option had been turned on. Turning it off put things back to normal. I appreciate the tip.
Iron_Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2006, 10:33   #4
Shapakastina
Junior Member
 
Shapakastina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Under a large rock.
Posts: 5
My balance control was out for the same reason... Thanks mon
Shapakastina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 14:57   #5
fReeDoMaNYaQ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to fReeDoMaNYaQ
Im freedomanyaq ... my radio == Called... Ä°nvalid Pasword...
fReeDoMaNYaQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008, 11:51   #6
raint
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
reset again and again and yet again

Hi all, i encountered the same problem of the volume being reset everytime i open the programme. but it wasnt reset to zero but to some loud volume instead. i am using vista playing mp3 files.

i have tried to change my playback preferences but these too are reset everytime i open the programme. this is frustrating!

will appreciate suggestions to solve this problem.
raint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump