Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd November 2003, 19:55   #1
Zombe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Zombe Send a message via AIM to Zombe Send a message via Yahoo to Zombe
Error Message: Ordinal 373 not located in PX.dll

I keep getting the following error message: "The ordinal 373 could not be located in the dynamic link library PX.dll." Can anyone help with this?
Thanks,
Zombe

solution
Zombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 20:04   #2
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
I never heard of that one and I doubt it's Winamp-related. By chance do you own an old Packard Bell puter? And are you now or had you been using MasterCD Creator? > Google search results

Also, check ordinal 373 Google search results

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 20:06   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
px.dll is one of the Sonic Engine files in the %System% dir.
The Sonic Engine is used to play Audio CD's in DAE mode
and for ripping & burning.

When do you get this error message?
What are you doing in Winamp at the time?
What are your system specs, including Windows OS ?

solution
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 20:08   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
Hmm . . . interesting Nunzio
Could be a conflict with another installed program which also uses a px.dll,
but a different one/version to the one Winamp uses . . .
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 20:09   #5
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
DOH!! My bad.
OK... You may bash me about the head and ears with a large stick if you would like to now, Egg. Sheesh!!

[edit]
Quote:
Hmm . . . interesting Nunzio
Could be a conflict with another installed program which also uses a px.dll,
but a different one/version to the one Winamp uses . . .
Aach! Didn't see that post. Well... yes. Perhaps.

[/edit]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 20:10   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
Would you prefer a wet trout?

Actually, you might be on to something there (see my previous post)
(I didn't think of running a google search)

[edit] Doh! It's happening again, lol [/edit]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 20:12   #7
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
YOU didn't think of running a Google search?? But The Egg is the Google Master!!! LOL!
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2003, 20:13   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
Well, actually, I looked up "Ordinal 373" but not px.dll
seeing I (thought I) already knew what that was . . .
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2003, 23:16   #9
Zombe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Zombe Send a message via AIM to Zombe Send a message via Yahoo to Zombe
Not using a Packard Bell (and, btw, that hurts . Running a custom with Athlon 2700+, 512 mg Corsair. ATI Raedon 9700 Pro, Asus A7N8X Deluxe-Rev 2. Also not using Media Creator, only using Nero 6 Ultra and the new Roxio Drag to Disc for packet writing.
This happens when I first start Winamp 5. I have to click on ok on the error message 3 times to get it to go away, then the program seems to work.
Thanks,
Jim
Zombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2003, 01:00   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
Did you try reinstalling Winamp 5.0rc8 ?
Did you install support for CD Ripping & Burning,
or did you uncheck this in the installer?
Did you reboot after installing Winamp 5?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2003, 01:01   #11
Zombe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Zombe Send a message via AIM to Zombe Send a message via Yahoo to Zombe
Just checked my installed software and the only thing I have installed by Sonic Solutions is MyDVD 4.5. I also did a seach and found 1 px.dll file.
Zombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2003, 01:05   #12
Zombe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Zombe Send a message via AIM to Zombe Send a message via Yahoo to Zombe
When I ran the install for Winamp 5.0rc8 there was an error at the point it installs "Cd Ripping & Burning" and it said that would not be available, but the install continues from there. I have uninstalled and re-installed 3 times and I get that same error each time.

[edit]

Think I finally got it fixed. I completely uninstalled Winamp 5.0rc8, then as I began to re-install I de-selected the "CD Ripping & Burning" option under audio files during the install. I believe that the Sonic MyDVD 4.5 installed the px.dll file and something in the "CD Burning & Ripping" option must interfere with that file. At any rate, Thanks A Bunch for all your help!!!
Zombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 18:39   #13
h8aohell
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Drop the px.dll from a good install into your winamp5 dir. Here it is in two parts.


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Full version from Winamp 5.04 (plus instructions) in this post further down.
Attached Files
File Type: rar px.part1.rar (97.7 KB, 9496 views)
h8aohell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 18:40   #14
h8aohell
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
a 120K file was too big, they wouldn't allow it.. lol

Wow, and a 60sec post limit..

part 2/2
Attached Files
File Type: rar px.part2.rar (22.9 KB, 7937 views)
h8aohell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 01:10   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
ummm . . . and what did you use to split the file with?
and how are people supposed to piece it back into one DLL file?

far out!

So, besides all that, does the solution work?
ie. placing the PX.dll file from Winamp 5 installation into the Winamp dir?
(instead of %System% dir)

...assuming rest of Sonic Engine from Winamp installation was installed ok ?!?!?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 01:12   #16
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
WinRAR, Egg, WinRAR. It can do that. But you don't use is, so you wouldn't know
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 01:14   #17
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
ohhhhhhhhh!


U lot probly fink i'm a right retard lol
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 01:46   #18
Too-DAMN-Much
The Big Bad Boots
(Forum King)
 
Too-DAMN-Much's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 420 Big Buds Way
Posts: 3,951
Send a message via Yahoo to Too-DAMN-Much
kinda wonder if his installer might have been slighty corrupt from the d/l

I hate everyone, so you don't have to.
Too-DAMN-Much is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 01:49   #19
jellygumbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
I use WinRAR and I'll be darned if I can put that back together.
jellygumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 01:51   #20
jellygumbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
I am having the same error. The only way I could get it to install was to remove the option to rip/burn CD's during installation, which kind of sucks because I really wanted that feature. I tried uninstalling every CD burning/ripping software I had and it still errors out on me. I would really like the pro version, but if I can't use it, what good is it? Help!

How do you piece that split file back together?

Well...I dont need that file, I found one on google, but I would still like to know a fix for the problem.
jellygumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 09:16   #21
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
This is the version of PX.DLL included with Winamp 5.34+

Download px.dll for Winamp 5.34
(use with 5.34+ - 284kb compressed / 534kb uncompressed)

Be sure to unzip the DLL from the .zip file first

________________________________________________________________


Archive: Older versions

This is the version of PX.DLL included with Winamp 5.3
Download px.dll for Winamp 5.3x
(use with 5.3-5.33 - 265kb compressed / 502kb uncompressed)

This is the version of PX.DLL included with Winamp 5.21
Download px.dll for Winamp 5.21
(use this with 5.2 and 5.21)

This is the version of PX.DLL included with Winamp 5.12
Download px.dll for Winamp 5.12
(use this with 5.12 and newer)

This is the version of PX.DLL included with Winamp 5.1
Download px.dll for Winamp 5.1
. (176kb compressed / 332kb uncompressed)

____________________________________________________________________________


Important
Before you try any of this, please confirm that you rebooted after installing Winamp 5
(but the problem still exists after rebooting).


Instructions

The default location for px.dll is the %System% dir.

If it already exists, backup the current version of px.dll in the %System% dir
and replace it with the relevant version from above

(remember to unzip it first, ie. extract px.dll from the .zip file)

Then reboot.


Troubleshooters

When trying to copy it to the %System% dir in the above step, if you get an error message stating that px.dll is in use by another running process and can't be overwritten, then try unzipping px.dll to the Winamp dir (root folder) instead.

Either that, or try closing any other programs/processes which might also be using the Sonic Engine / px.dll. These products could be any of: Sonic/Roxio MyDVD, Sonic/Roxio RecordNow, Roxio Easy Media Creator, any other Roxio Burning software, MS Digital Photo Suite, etc. Once said running process has been ended, you should now be able to copy px.dll to the %system% dir, trouble-free.


Let us know the results.


Notes:

%System% dir
Win9x = C:\Windows\System
Win2k = C:\WinNT\System32
WinXP = C:\Windows\System32
Where C: is the drive where Windows is installed

The default location for the Winamp root dir is:
C:\Program Files\Winamp\


Also note that if you choose to place px.dll in the Winamp folder instead of the default %system% dir, then you will need to make sure that the latest version of px.dll is always in the Winamp folder every time you upgrade Winamp - otherwise you'll just get the 'ordinal not found' error again if there's been any updates to the Sonic Engine inbetween Winamp releases.


If the problem persists, include as much relevant info in your replies as possible,
eg. system specs, windows os (incl. sp), installed dvd/cd playing/burning/ripping programs, exact point where error message occurs, etc.

____________________________________________________________________________


As a final note...

If you do NOT require CD Burning support with Winamp, this means that you don't even need to have the Sonic Engine installed. To disable the Sonic Engine from loading you can move primosdk.dll (Winamp 5.22 or later) or pxsdkpls.dll (Winamp 5.21 or earlier) out of the Winamp root folder (or just rename it to eg. primosdk.dll.off). This will prevent the Sonic Engine from even loading, and therefore you won't get the px.dll error if the wrong version of px.dll is in the %system% folder. Note that you'll still be able to use Winamp for ripping CDs if aspi is present (if no sonic or aspi, then Winamp will attempt to use Win2k/XP native spti interface instead).

If taking this route, then remember to uncheck Sonic Ripping/Burning Support in the Installer Options when you next install Winamp.

____________________________________________________________________________
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 14:31   #22
jellygumbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Mucho Gracias...that worked. I had to put it in the system and the WinAmp directory. Originally, the file wasnt in the winamp directory at all. The only thing different on this machine than one I had a successful install on was my video card - ATI Radeon All IN Wonder 9000 Pro. I noticed Zombie was using an ATI Radeon, also. It might be a common link. PIV, XP w/SP1. Originally I had Real Jukebox v2 for ripping, and Nero 5.10 for burning. I removed all burning and ripping software, with the exception of the ATI multimedia software - and that probably was it! Oh well, gives you guys something to test. Thanks for all your help. It was greatly appreciated. Let me know when the pro version comes out - I WANT IT!
jellygumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 17:30   #23
squall14716
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 349
Send a message via ICQ to squall14716 Send a message via AIM to squall14716 Send a message via Yahoo to squall14716
Winamp Pro is already out I believe.
squall14716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 18:03   #24
jellygumbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
When I click on "buy", I get a not available. Someone know something I don't - and I am only referring to the purchase of Pro.
jellygumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 19:36   #25
h8aohell
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
I believe you need winrar 3.11 or newer or unrar my post. I just d/l it and unrared it just fine. How did you get it to post a file that big? it gave me an error and said there was a limit of ~100K. Maybe it just doesn't like me (n/m just noticed that you are a moderator)

I don't know if I would overwrite the file in your system dir, that could cause problems with other s/w. I believe that putting it just in your winamp dir should be sufficient.

As far as d/l newest versionm of pro, click on the tiny link underneath here you pick between standard/pro. I belienve it says something like "To upgrade or re-download your Pro Player, click here."

I never had any problem installing, but it did give me an error while doing so. Hope this helps.

P.s. If I had to guess what s/w was conflicting with winamp, I would say it is any product based on Prassi PrimoDVD. Including but not limited to: Prassi PrimoDVD, ANY version of RecordNow DX/MAX (Veritas, Stomp and Others). There are others under various names.
h8aohell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 20:26   #26
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
Quote:
Originally posted by jellygumbo
Mucho Gracias...that worked. I had to put it in the system and the WinAmp directory. Originally, the file wasnt in the winamp directory at all. The only thing different on this machine than one I had a successful install on was my video card - ATI Radeon All IN Wonder 9000 Pro. I noticed Zombie was using an ATI Radeon, also. It might be a common link. PIV, XP w/SP1. Originally I had Real Jukebox v2 for ripping, and Nero 5.10 for burning. I removed all burning and ripping software, with the exception of the ATI multimedia software - and that probably was it! Oh well, gives you guys something to test. Thanks for all your help. It was greatly appreciated. Let me know when the pro version comes out - I WANT IT!
Just wanted to see the text in bold.
Thanks for the confirmation
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 22:23   #27
jellygumbo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
[B]Well, I must be blind or missing the point (wouldn't be the first time), because regardless of what "I am able to download", not a single one of them is gives me the option to purchase without sending me to a site that either fails or says "We're sorry the Winamp Pro Player is not available at this moment. Please check back soon. Meanwhile, download and try the free version now."

So if a moderator would either please tell me I am too stupid and dont deserve the purchased version or, say "No, your brain aint jelly, just your gumbo," I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks...
jellygumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 22:36   #28
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698
Winamp 5 Pro is not yet available, but will be very soon. Sorry

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2004, 00:32   #29
KA_CH_RO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chile
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to KA_CH_RO
Hi everyone:
I have the same problem that all you guys. I copied though the px.dll to my system directory and my winamp one, and now my cd plays at winamp, but NOT IN DAE MODE. The equalizer doesn't work and the spectrum analyzer doesn't move either.


I have a piii ~744mhz (it's 800 actually, but i downclocked it)
I run winxp sp1, directx9.0b
sound blaster pci 128
winamp 5.02
KA_CH_RO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2004, 06:50   #30
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
and "Enable DAE" is checkmarked in the CD input plugin config?

Also is "use sonic engine" checked?

Note: Changes to in_cdda config might also require a Winamp restart to take effect.

More info here <<- readme!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2004, 22:50   #31
KA_CH_RO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chile
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to KA_CH_RO
All the options are checked: DAE, try to use sonic engine, sample input and use cddb. (I tried unchecking some and all of them, and the rechecking them again, hoping it was just a problem of some 0/1, but it didn't work).

What else could it be? (I tried deleting the px.dll file, but it seems winamp just lost interest in working in dae mode)

plz help
KA_CH_RO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2004, 03:53   #32
Urtho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 35
I was getting this error before, I uninstalled the Windows Media plugin and the the error went away... Dont know if that was the solution in my case or if it was just being flakey on me, but cant really hurt trying it.
Urtho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2004, 11:56   #33
Wintings
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3
I am running Winamp 5.02 and had exactly the same problem as zombe, with precisely the same symptoms. However, downloading the px.dll file supplied by h8aohell and placing it in the Winamp root directory cured the problem. Also, despite the warning about ripping problems when I installed Winamp, I am experiencing no problem, so the px.dll fix must have resolved that too.

Incidentally, before downloading the new px.dll I did a search of my hard drives and found that a file of the same name had been installed by Microsoft's Digital Image Suite.
Wintings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2004, 06:42   #34
JTomsVT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
PX.dll error

If you have, Alcohol that my also be an issure, because it creates a virtual Cd-rom drive.
JTomsVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2004, 14:00   #35
Ben1265
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
I also have an ATI 9800 card, and was having the exact same error. After installing px.dll in the Winamp directory, Winamp started working fine. A search on my system shows that I also have an older version of the same file in my system32 directory.
I did not touch that one. You never konow what can break if you do that. Winamp will gram the one in the winamp directory before going anywhere else, so everybody's happy.
Thanks for the help. you guys bailed me out big time.
Ben1265 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 21:40   #36
austinhiggs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Hello,
I, too, got the error saying "burning will be unavailable (-1) when Installed. After reboot, "The Ordinal 373 could not be located in PX.DLL"....

Also running Radeon (9200 All-In-Wonder), clean install of W2K SP4, Pinnacle Studio-8, then Winamp... Also running Athlon 1.4ghz, 512mb DDR Corsair mem, etc...

The error message obviously means that a PX.DLL was either already loaded or found in the search path first. I'll check it out and "drop one in the app path" and try that...

PTW I have always been impressed by the SOLIDness of the nullsoft software. This is the first issue I have EVER seen with any version of winamp. Thanks for a great product!

Austin Higgs
Developer
Seneca, SC
austinhiggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2005, 00:35   #37
Nomad2004
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Error during setup and then error when starting

Just wanted to mention that I am having the same problems installing and running and also have an ATI All-In-Wonder card.

I'm thinking this is more than just coincidence...
Nomad2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2005, 00:53   #38
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
The only reason for this error occurring is if there's already a px.dll present in the %system% dir which is already loaded and in use by some other program. If this is the case, then the Winamp installer will not be able to overwrite it.

As far as I know, the only other software which uses a file called px.dll is
1) other Sonic/Primo software such as MyDVD, RecordNow, PrimoDVD, or
2) Roxio Burning software (which now also uses the Sonic Burning Engine), or
3) Microsoft Digital Photo Suite.

If any of these programs are installed, then you should either fully close them before installing Winamp, or you should uncheck "Sonic Burning/Ripping" in the Winamp installer options, or you should copy the provided px.dll into the Winamp dir instead... as explained/outlined in the previous posts in this thread.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2005, 05:28   #39
buskE36
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to buskE36
I'm getting this error too, just so other people can use this information to possibly correct - I was on a new isntallation so I think the information may help with troubleshooting the issue.

Think is may have been what someone else suggested, another piece of software already installed PX.dll Here's what I had installed in order:

Totally fresh XP Pro instllation
Aplied new auto update version
- Restart -
First pack of the SP1 patches (like 28 updates)
Installed ATI drivers v5.8 XP w/ control center
(Control center v1.2.2004.226)
- Restart -
Live 5.1! Drivers (v5.12.2.252 - Rel:7/24/2002)
Winamp v5.1 Surround Edition
(In installation I did get the error that PX.dll couldn't be written, CD Writing functions will not be enabled.)

Now when I start I get the same error message people were getting back in 2003, does this mean I will not have CD writing available?

I looked at the time stamp on the PX.dll file in ~system32 and it is fromthe window where SP2 updates were getting installed. I'd like the option to use the CD burning features, but I don't know if removingthe file and installing from the winamp installer would break something with the system. Is the version in this thread still current?


Running AMD 64
1gb ram
ATI AIW x800 AGP
Raid 0:2xWD360GD
buskE36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2005, 12:04   #40
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,703
Relevant post above updated
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump