Old 18th December 2003, 06:58   #1
Mike101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
video window not resizing when a new video plays?

Hi there, when i have video's playing, the window does not resize automatically to the correct size of the video, e.g. if 1 video is 200x200 and i play that, the window will be 200 x 200, but then as the next video starts playing (say thats 600 x 600) the window will still be 200 x 200.

the only way i can make it the correct size is if i click the '1x' button, anyone know a fix for this?

Thanks,

Mike
Mike101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 15:12   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hi

This is happening with Winamp 5.0 Final, yes
Not one of the pre-release beta/rc versions?

Are the relevant settings enabled?

Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> Video
"Resize video to fit window" is the main relevant setting.

It would probably be easier for you to list which other options in there are NOT checkmarked (fullscreen settings in middle aren't relevant to the case though), mainly just the top 4 settings, and the bottom 5 ones.


Apart from that....
Are you using the modern or classic skin?
Does it happen in both?
Or are you using a 3rd-party skin?

And, if it's the default 'modern' skin
is the video window attached or detached?


Now, I vaguely remember someone else was having this problem in one of the earlier rc versions, and the search results for "Resize video to fit window" are pointing to this thread...

but it's a thread with 609 posts
so it's gonna take some time to find the relevant posts in there...
Bear with me...


...ok, here they are:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....21#post1172421
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....43#post1173243
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....58#post1179458
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....18#post1180318 << YES!


Problem occurs when "scaling"
in main (if vid attached) or video (if detached) window
is set to "locked".

Checkmark "temporary" instead
(window -> main menu -> window settings -> scaling)


Phew!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 16:02   #3
Mike101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
ok instead of typing i did a SS http://www.no-absolute.com/window-video.jpg

edit : i am using a skin called winamp 5, but i dont think that is relevant as even with the default (Modern) skin this happens
Mike101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 16:12   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
see my edited post above for the solution

Enjoy!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 16:25   #5
Mike101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
"Checkmark "temporary" instead
(window -> main menu -> window settings -> scaling)"

hmm i dont see this? where do i go? lol

and thanks for taking so much time looking for this lol


edit : ok found it, but both locked and temporary are greyed out, yet locked is ticked.
Mike101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 09:23   #6
Howrad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
I am having the same problem as Mike101. The solution that DJ Egg posted doesn't work for either of us. We are both seeing the "locked" and "temporary" settings, but they are greyed out, and unable to be clicked.

I'm using Winamp 5.01, with the same Video settings as Mike101. This behavior happens with both Modern and Classic skins, except that there is no "Window Settings" at all in the Classic skin.
Howrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 15:28   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> Modern Skins -> General tab

On Window Close/Reopen

Checkmark: Reset window scale to global doublesize setting except if it is locked

Locked & Temporary will no longer be greyed out
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 19:31   #8
Howrad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Okay, now "Locked" and "Temporary" are no longer grayed out, and I can click "Temporary"

However, it still won't resize the video window automatically. I have to click "1x" every time.

Let me give you the relevant settings I'm using:

Under "Video Playback," the first 5 are checked, and the last one is not.

I have tried it with "Lock video aspect ratio" both ways

"Allow hardware video overlay" and "Allow YV12 overlay mode" are both checked.

"Synchronize video..." is unchecked

The video window is detached
Howrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2004, 05:00   #9
vyxn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
I'm having the same issues that these guys have mentioned. I've tried various combinations of fixes (changing video window scaling from locked to temporary, setting "resize video window to fit video" on, turning "lock video ratio" on or off) but every time a new video plays it uses the size of the last video and I have to press the 1x button to resize it to the size of the video playing.

I am running Windows 2000 - a fresh install I did this morning, Winamp 5.03a was the fourth thing I installed after Service Pack 4, Mozilla and my sound card drivers. I'm not using any plugins or third party addons/skins - just the standard.

The same problem happens whether I'm in classic or modern mode, and whether I have the video window attached or detached.

Please help me!
vyxn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2005, 03:57   #10
Nate75
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Tried to delete this, but it wouldn't let me

Anyway, the above worked for me, so thanks.
Nate75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump