Old 2nd January 2004, 13:21   #1
tomasbov
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canary Islands
Posts: 2
WA does not load after litestep

Hi

I installed litestep, UNinstalled and as a result WA does not load at all...

I've searched around, and this seems not to be a documented bug.

AppName: winamp.exe
AppVer: 5.0.0.1
ModName: gen_ff.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0
Offset: 00014c74

If someone / WA team has some info on this particular behaviour I would be very grateful as WA radio is all I listen to sitting in front of a computer...

TIA
tomasbov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2004, 20:48   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Try this

Make sure Winamp.exe is closed in Task Manager

Go to: C:\Program Files\Winamp

Open winamp.ini in Notepad

Scroll down for the following line & edit accordingly:

keeponscreen=1


Note: keeponscreen=1 is the setting for making sure the following two options in Winamp Prefs are both unchecked:

Winamp -> Prefs -> General Prefs
Litestep VWM compatible Mode
Always on Litestep Virtual Desktops

keeponscreen=2
Enables: Litestep VWM mode

keeponscreen=3
Enables: Always on LVDs

I couldn't find out the setting for them both being checkmarked,
because I got the same error as you when I tried to reopen Winamp,
but I'll hazard a guess at keeponscreen=4

Let us know if this fixes the problem.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2004, 07:49   #3
tomasbov
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canary Islands
Posts: 2
working again!

That certainly did the trick!.
Thank you VERY much.

Now the classical music rocks again here!!!
tomasbov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 00:04   #4
Amleto
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Help! I have the same problem, but changing the ini doesnt seem to work! i have ver 5.0.0.2 but still have litestep installed.
Amleto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 07:35   #5
Amleto
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
I shall make that a bit clearer - I have litestep still installed, but it is only used as the shell on a different account. I cannot get winamp to work under the explorer shell :-/
Amleto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2004, 12:04   #6
TheRealNeo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Problems with gen_ff.dll

Hi, I have the same prob. But only when i used some modern (*.wal) skins, and browsing my mp3s, and adding them to the list.
When i use other normal skins its not happening.
And i tried to edit the winamp.ini, but the same thing.
What can i do to stop this?

AppName: winamp.exe
AppVer: 5.0.0.4
ModName: gen_ff.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0
Offset: 00016329
TheRealNeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump