Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th January 2004, 21:21   #1
ChristopherBlue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 109
How can I get WinAmp 5 to treat my lossless WMA files as audio and not video?

WinAmp 5's media library catagorizes my lossless WMA files as video. I wish them to be catagorized as audio. How would I do this?
ChristopherBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2004, 21:37   #2
Annon Kaies Zi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Annon Kaies Zi
I can't get Winamp 5.01 to play wma (audio) files at all.
Annon Kaies Zi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2004, 21:41   #3
ChristopherBlue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 109
Annon Kaies Zi,

From the input plug-ins screen, delete the Microsoft WMA decoder and go into the properties of the Nullsoft Directshow decoder and add "WMA" to the list of extensions.
ChristopherBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2004, 22:06   #4
Annon Kaies Zi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Annon Kaies Zi
Quote:
Originally posted by ChristopherBlue
Annon Kaies Zi,

From the input plug-ins screen, delete the Microsoft WMA decoder and go into the properties of the Nullsoft Directshow decoder and add "WMA" to the list of extensions.
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! *Continue until you get bored*

That was...easy. Thanks a lot for your help. Now my playlist is complete again! Fear Annon!
Annon Kaies Zi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2004, 02:36   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Well, you see, that's the small price you pay...
All files associated with the DirectShow Decoder are classed as video formats by Winamp's library.
Which in most peoples' eyes is a good thing.
For instance, I've only got about 5 WMA's, so I'm glad that they don't infest my Audio section, and they're nice and easy to find in the video section.

You'll find that the vast majority of audiophiles wouldn't touch WMA (whether lossless or not) even if Microsoft paid them to do so.

That all said and done, full WMA9 support is planned for a later 5.x release, so you'll then be able to use in_wm.dll again. Don't think it'll be for the soon-coming 5.02 though...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2004, 03:20   #6
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
lol. it's a good thing Annon Kaies Zi asked, eh?
WHEREamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2004, 05:28   #7
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Under "Local Media" right click on Audio and select "Edit view..."
Replace "Query" with:
(type = 0) OR (filename ends wma)

Repeat for "Video"
Query: (type = 1) AND !(filename ends wma)


Yeah, it's nasty, but should work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2004, 05:33   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Go Sawg Go!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2004, 15:06   #9
ChristopherBlue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 109
What is so nasty about lossless WMA? I mean when I encode my CD WAVs I make darn sure they don't have DRM on.
ChristopherBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2004, 15:17   #10
ChristopherBlue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 109
Wow thanks Sawg! That really did the trick.
ChristopherBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2004, 02:50   #11
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you want to go Lossless we recommend FLAC or Monkey's Audio. Both are more open and better then the WMA format.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2004, 08:19   #12
Alltaken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 215
yes i use FLAC for my lossless audio needs, i don't know how they compare in size to a WMA lossless file, but i trust them a bit more (for compnay/license reasons)


you can transcode WMA lossless files to FLAC i presume pretty easily without any loss in quality. FLAC files play flawlessly in Winamp with the plugin.

but in all honesty i don't see the issue with WMA lossless as a format except the microsoft element.


Alltaken
Alltaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 00:16   #13
ChristopherBlue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 109
I am going to convert my lossless WMAs to FLACs. Will dBPowerAMP and the FLAC 4.1 codec do the trick?
ChristopherBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 00:25   #14
ChristopherBlue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 109
Say, WinAmp5 won't play my sample FLAC file! Where do I get the offical input plug-in?
ChristopherBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 00:56   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
If you want to go Lossless we recommend FLAC or Monkey's Audio. Both are more open and better then the WMA format.
http://flac.sourceforge.net/download.html

Windows -> FLAC 1.1.0 for Windows with installer

Close Winamp, run FLAC installer, make sure FLAC plugin is checkmarked...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 01:18   #16
ChristopherBlue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 109
Thank you DJ Egg! Say, should I use Ogg tags or ID3 tags?
ChristopherBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 03:26   #17
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
Ogg. FLAC is an Ogg stream. ID3 would be kinda a hack into the format, causing issues similar to tagging AAC with ID3 instead of it's native tag format.
WHEREamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump