Old 17th January 2004, 22:35   #1
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Problems with listening to streaming audio

I didn't know if this should go in the Shoutcast board or not, but... I felt this was a better area.

I'm having trouble listening to streaming audio. It would load, get three seconds into the station, then freeze up winamp as well as any applications using the internet.

I just dealt with this earlier when I updated to Winamp5 (before it would still happen, but only with certain online channels), and it strangely seemed to go away when I edited through my skin list (go fig). Since then, my harddrive did a nosedive and I am having to start from square one.

I even have fewer skins than before, and that still is making listening to online stations impossible to do.

I hope someone can help me on this- dunno if anyone's a Radio Tiki listener, but that's been the channel I've always been able to listen to no matter what until now. @_@
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2004, 23:58   #2
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698
More details please!

Sound card, windows version, internet connection etc etc.

And does Winamp _freeze_ or does the internet radio stop working? and your other internet applications, do they actually freeze or do they stop being able to access the internet?

-j

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 00:04   #3
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Sorry. ^_^ Here's the info!

I have Windows XP, a cable connection, and... I'm having trouble figuring out what my sound card is- is there a good way of figuring that part out? I can only figure out that it's from Creative.

Winamp freezes, and the radio stops working. And the same thing for the other applications. After I ctrl+alt+del them, I'm still unable to get onto the internet until I reboot the computer.
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 00:10   #4
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698
mmkay.

The sound card's probably not important - but try going Start, Settings, Control Panel, System, Hardware, Device Manager, click on the + next to "Sound, Video, and Game Controllers" and the sound card should be listed there. Mine says "Creative SB Audigy".

This problem sounds to me (speculating fairly wildly) that there's something rather ill between Windows and the internet - possibly your cable modem. Do you know what model it is?

Another thing you should try is to run Windows Update.

Also, can you play MP3s from your hard disk OK?

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 00:15   #5
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
The soundcard seems to be SB Audigy Audio [CF00].

And I think my modem's a SB4200 Surfboard Cable modem.
Windows is already updated. ^_^

And Mp3s work fine. ^_^ Listening to some as we speak.
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 00:17   #6
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698
Odd, odd.

Can you play internet radio OK from any other application? Windows Media player? (ick) RealOne Player? (double ick) iTunes?

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 00:29   #7
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
... Tried those two (didn't before), and... they don't work either. Guess it's something with my connection. >_<
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 00:37   #8
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698


Try talking to your ISP. Sorry I can't help any more, someone else might have a suggestion.

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 00:37   #9
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Thanks anyways. ^_^ You did help, in a way. -.^ I didn't think of checking other applications.
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 03:34   #10
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
- What are you using for an output plug-in? Ctrl+P > Plug-ins > Output > the highlighted plug-in is the currently selected one
- Do you have 3rd party MP3/MPEG input plug-in? (e.g. Thomson MP3pro)
- Do you have a firewall (private or corporate)?

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 03:40   #11
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
- DirectSound output v2.28.
- I... don't think so. The only plug-ins I've installed so far are visual (Maron, AVS, Sexyfont).
- I think so. I have McAfee's Privacy thing on. However, it's never really given me much grief before. For example, I'm able to get on WinMX with no fuss about secondary connections and the like.
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 04:16   #12
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Not really firewall, more of a privacy protector and content filter. I don't have McAfee PrivacyService, but according to the benefits list there is a Internet Time Restrictions feature. Do you think it may have something to do with the problem? It is just a guess on my part.

Anyways, it late at night in may of the world and I am tired. Going to "sign-off" for now and check back tomorrow. If someone else would like to step in and help, please feel free.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 04:17   #13
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
It might be. Dunno. Thanks for your help. ^__^
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2004, 23:52   #14
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
There are some issues with SB sound cards. See the following thread...
SBLive/Audigy Sound Card Users, READ THIS
Not sure if that relates to the problem you are experiencing, but it is worth mentioning.

Try a full uninstall/reinstall of Winamp

Run your virus scanner with the most updated definitions. Also check for and remove spy/adware with Spybot Search&Destroy
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2004, 00:09   #15
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
I used the search option for the files in question, but I didn't find either of them.

And I uninstalled and reinstalled winamp. No go. @_@

I also used Adaware to scan for any spyware.
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2004, 00:30   #16
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
My suspicion is McAfee PrivacyService. Is there a way to temporarily disable it and try an internet radio station or two? Other than that, I am not sure of what else to tell you. Good Luck
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2004, 00:35   #17
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Bingo! ... I made some edits to the firewall and it should work now. Hopefully. Thanks a bunch!
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2004, 00:54   #18
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
You're Welcome! As you said, hopefully it will work.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 15:44   #19
Done-It-All#26
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Hey, I've got this same problem and I'm using the McAffe Internet Security Suite. What exactly did you change?
Done-It-All#26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 20:35   #20
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Actually, later on, I found that it still refuses to work depending on the situation. So, for right now, I briefly turn off my firewall, turn on the station, then turn my firewall back on.

... I still don't know why I keep getting this problem when there's so many other people who use Mcafee and winamp. o_O Glad to know that I'm not the only one, however. XD
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 21:23   #21
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
See Done-It-All#26's last reply from another thread.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 23:03   #22
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
*clicks* Awesome! Thanks. ^_^
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2004, 17:45   #23
cwruck
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
what kind of edits did you add to the firwall? my firewall is blocking streaming audio/video also, and i don't really want to change the security setting every time i want to do so.
cwruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2004, 20:37   #24
Matilda Rose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
If you have the same version of Mcafee as mine, change the firewall to 'trusted security'. To do this, right click on the icon in your desktop tray, go to 'Personal Firewall', then to 'Set Security Level', then click on 'Trusted security'.

... It sometimes works, it sometimes doesn't. @_@
Matilda Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 16:36   #25
Caeadas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: McDonough, ga
Posts: 29
I am also experiencing the same problem. i am running:

dell dimension 4600
intel 2.4g processor
256 ram
directx 9.0c
128 mb Ati radeon 9800 pro
soundmax digital audio
Windows XP (sp2)
winamp 5.5 (clean installed)
mcafee internet security suite
mcafee antispyware
bellsouth 3.0M/S fastaccess dsl
westell external DSL modem
mozilla firefox/thunderbird.

if you need anything else, just ask. the streaming audio seems to freeze up winamp intermittently. doesn't seem to matter what channel either. It also freezes up any other internet program running at the time. i checked for the programs that the mp3u trojan runs, and thats all clear. i also do not have the creative .dll. i tried shutting off my firewall, made sure the XP firewall was off, made sure that winamp was allowed in mcafee. i ran a virus scan and spyware scan too. what should i do next?

edit: just noticed the link about three posts up... not sure why privacy service would block winamp, but i'll try it.
Caeadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2004, 23:02   #26
Caeadas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: McDonough, ga
Posts: 29
I'm pretty sure that McAfee privacy service is the culprit now. i just tried abour fifty audio streams with PS disabled and each one played fine, but once i reactivated MPS, the second stream froze up. i restarted winamp and tried it again. As long as MPS was disabled, it played fine.

I went to the McAfee website and looked through the support FAQs and found this:

The quality of streaming audio deteriorates if you start while McAfee Privacy Service 6 is running

To improve the quality of streaming audio, do the following:

1. Stop McAfee Privacy Service.
2. Launch your streaming audio connection.
3. Restart McAfee Privacy Service.

i will try running winamp like that for a while and see if it plays alright.
Caeadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2004, 00:29   #27
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
@ Caeadas
Thanks for taking the time to check that out.

@ other readers...
Click here for the FAQ answer that Caeadas was talking about.

See AMikee's reply on disabling MaAfee PrivacyService. (beginning of thread)
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2004, 14:23   #28
Caeadas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: McDonough, ga
Posts: 29
Update: I uninstalled MPS and all goes well. Winamp has yet to lock up on me. i will contact Mcafee and see if i can get some answers, (and get my money back)
Caeadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2004, 12:21   #29
durtynelly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Streaming Radio

For those of yo having troublewith listening to streaming radio do the following:

go to yp.shoutcast.com

select stream of choice and voila! access granted.

cheers!
durtynelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2004, 21:05   #30
johan38
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Problem Met music stream

Hello

mijn engels is niet goed dan nederlands sorry.

ik ben nederlander en hoop dat hier ook nl op het forum zijn.

elke wekend word telkens de verbinding verbroken met de shoutcast server door de weeks van maandag tot donderdag heb ik geen probleem alleen in het wekend wat is het probleem mijn ip wordt herkent en staat op succes even goed en het is weer mis wordt er weer afgegooid.

pleas help.



groet van johan
johan38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2004, 22:46   #31
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
[dutch]
He Johan,

jouw vraag gaat over het uitzenden met Shoutcast. Daarvoor is een speciaal forum hier:
http://forums.winamp.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=86
(alleen in Engels)

Als je hulp in het Nederlands wilt, stel je vraag dan in het internationale forum:
http://forums.winamp.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=19
Of op www.winampnederlands.nl (klik op forum en dan op shoutcast).

Succes!
[/dutch]

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2004, 10:30   #32
ing_Ing23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
http://********

[Edit --> Nunzio390]
Forums Rules violation. Link removed.
ing_Ing23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2004, 12:10   #33
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
@ ing_Ing23...

You've just joined this forum and have posted 3 times in Winamp Tech Support, in 3 different and unrelated threads with the express purpose of pimping your site. What makes matters worse is that 2 of the 3 threads you posted this nonsense in are forum Stickies. The link has been removed in your above post and has been removed from all other posts as well. If this continues... if there is one more post like this, you will be immediately banned, without warning. Consider this your warning.

From the Forums Rules...
Advertising
- Advertising or soliciting other members to buy, sell or peruse any products or services through this discussion forum is not permitted. Chain letters and junk mail are also strictly prohibited. Topics/posts that contain this will be both edited and locked.

Spamming
- Topics/posts that are just complete nonsense will be deleted, or have the entire thread locked, at the moderators discretion. If you violate this rule, your account may be automatically banned without prior warning.
*Note: this same reply has been posted in all 3 threads where you violated Forums Rules. Therefore you can consider yourself to have been warned 3 times prior to any banning.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2004, 11:19   #34
njulia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: maroc
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to njulia
streming radio troubleshootinng

Hi
i have the same problem in listening streaming radio
i have Winamp 5.05, internet adsl connexion 128K
when i tape the url and play it it connects to the radio for 1min and then it stopps..automatically the message is:
Radio Profm-live (ogg stream) Stopped (-2:-11) What can i do ? i remember it works well with an ancient version of winamp i cannot remember the version...
Please help me!!
njulia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2004, 15:08   #35
outofspace
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
i got problem On some stations Radio on Tv streams
Sound is two-three times faster than should be.
What is the problem?
Example Winamp Videos
Band AHA
Video Take on me
with 350 kbps sound is ok
with 120 kbps it is 2-3 time faster
outofspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2004, 15:32   #36
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
@ njulia

Sorry for the long delay with a reply. Please post system specs in a new thread. Do not post a reply to this Sticky.

@ outofspace

See this thread...
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=198445

No luck? As I asked njulia to do...
Please post system specs in a new thread. Do not post a reply to this Sticky or the thread I linked to.

Thanks and good luck to the both of you.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2004, 22:54   #37
Caeadas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: McDonough, ga
Posts: 29
three months and two versions later, and winamp still kicks ass... internet radio hasn't locked up at all since I uninstalled MPS. i still run the rest of mcafee's programs and they have yet to do anything screwy to winamp. thanks for stickying this BTW. Thanks for everybody's help
Caeadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2005, 10:57   #38
penguin43
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Here's a fix

Open Winamp Preferences Output Plugins

Default on my system was set to WaveOut Output v2.0.2a

Click configure, change the prebuffer default of 0ms to 2000ms (maximum setting)

That worked for me, and it makes sense. The default *buffer* length of 2000ms explains why you get 2 seconds of sound and then the lockup. With the default *prebuffer* of 0ms, the first 2 seconds of the stream goes right into the buffer, but there's no place to store the next 2 seconds. Changing the prebuffer solves that problem.

Works for me.
penguin43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2005, 16:29   #39
sanhiscio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 2
Put Mcafee disable
sanhiscio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2005, 02:16   #40
outerspace
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
I have been dealing with the same problem on several computers. Plays for a few seconds then locks up winamp and any other internet applications.
In every case it has been the McAfee privacy service. On all the machines I uninstalled the privacy service (Internet connection suite 7) and no problem after that. I might make a note that I originally had internet connection suite 6 installed with the privacy service. I do not think 6 gives you the option to uninstall the privacy service. If thats the case remove it all and reinstall using custom and do not install the privacy service. I sure hope someone at McAfee or Nulsoft is working on this. The cure McAfee gives is lame.
outerspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump