Old 3rd February 2004, 11:10   #1
Nick555

MS ISA Firewall

Hi

I'm connected to a LAN & access the Internet via MS ISA Firewall.

I've been using Musicmatch (paid version) for many years & just switched to Winamp due to Terratec sound card issues. Musicmatch had no problem with my firewall.

I'm having trouble getting Winamp to register as the registration program cannot get through the firewall, other parts of Winamp seem to have problems, like "now playing".

In the proxy setting, I've tried [blank], servername:8080, serveripaddress:8080, http://serveripaddress:8080 but nothing works. I get an authentication error message. There's no option in prefs to enter the proxy + login & password.

I'd appreciate some help as I really like the new version of Winamp.

System: P4 3.2ghz HT, 1gb RAM, not overclocked, Terratec DMX 6Fire 24/96 sound card, WinXP Pro SP1, all patches.

Running software: Winamp 5.01, MS ISA Firewall, Network Assocs Virusscan Enterprise 7.0, Setihide, Palm hotsync.
Nick555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2004, 12:30   #2
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)

http://username:password@serveripaddress:port

use that as a base to enter your username and password to a proxy if you have one.

make sure the ports are unblocked on the firewall or it won't get through. (i've never used ms isa firewall so i can't tell you how to unblock needed ports)
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2004, 13:52   #3
Nick555

Thanks, but it didn't work. I also tried:
username:password@servername:8080
localdomain/username:password@servername:8080

I also tried the server admin username & pw.

Nothing works.

Is there a way to get it to use Internet Explorer settings?
Old 3rd February 2004, 17:14   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team

Well, if you enter user:pass@server:port then that is usually all that is required, assuming you enter the exact same proxy authentication as used by IE.