Old 4th February 2004, 01:37   #1
majinsonix
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Ripping Problem very strange

hi.. i recently got 5.01 pro and had never ripped until today. I set the settings in the ripping options and started the rip of the entire cd. When winamp was finished, i opened the folder in which i had put winamp to rip them to and there was nothing! It's like winamp never ripped anything! Any help please? Or any solutions to this? I used Musicmatch before to rip to mp3 but since it's outdated i want to move on to better formats. Thanks.
majinsonix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004, 02:17   #2
orgevo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
I'm getting the exact same problem. I've tried multiple CD's and still no luck.
orgevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004, 15:25   #3
majinsonix
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
bump - anyone?
majinsonix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004, 15:31   #4
orgevo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Very disappointing for me - the only reason I purchased winamp pro was for the cd-ripping. I've tried every combination of settings in the ripping options (including reinstalling and using the defaults for everything). No error messages, no anything. Did a full search of my computer to see if the files were ending up somewhere else. Nada - they just aren't being written to disk.
orgevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004, 17:19   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hmm, most curious...

Not sure why this is happening.

Have you tried more than one CD?
(Just wondering whether it's one of those copyright-protected things, or something?)

What are your current settings in:
Prefs > CD Ripping > Output File Settings tab?
(Copy & paste the Destination Folder and Naming Convention fields here)

Which encoder are you using in the Encoder tab?
And what are your Encoder Options?
(I know you said you tried many different combinations)

And, in the Ripping tab, what speed is selected?
If 'unlimited' have you tried something a bit slower, eg. 16x or 8x (just for troubleshooting purposes)?

Is 'read audio data with bundled Sonic engine' checkmarked?
Have you tried unchecking this to see if it can use ASPI instead?
(note, this setting change requires a Winamp restart to take effect)

Apart from all this, please can you supply the following information:
Basic system specs (pc or mobo make/model, cpu, ram)
CD-ROM drive make+model
Soundcard
Windows OS
DirectX version
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2004, 13:09   #6
orgevo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Hmm, most curious...

Not sure why this is happening.

Have you tried more than one CD?
(Just wondering whether it's one of those copyright-protected things, or something?)
Yes, I've tried two CD's. One was the new Limp Biskit, which I'm fairly certain has copy protection, as I couldn't rip it with CDex either. The other was the first Candlebox CD, which CDex rips just fine. Both produced the same result - everything seems to go fine, but no files are written to disk.

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

What are your current settings in:
Prefs > CD Ripping > Output File Settings tab?
(Copy & paste the Destination Folder and Naming Convention fields here)
Currently it's set to the defaults. However, I originally tried had it set to E:\Music and <Artist>\<Album>\##-<Title>

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

Which encoder are you using in the Encoder tab?
And what are your Encoder Options?
(I know you said you tried many different combinations)
Yes, currently everything is at defaults. I've originally tried it using the MP3Encoder option.

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

And, in the Ripping tab, what speed is selected?
If 'unlimited' have you tried something a bit slower, eg. 16x or 8x (just for troubleshooting purposes)?
I originally tried 2x, since generally slower speeds minimize artifacts (popping, skipping, etc.). I eventually tried every other speed available (using a song that was about 15 seconds long as a test song).

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

Is 'read audio data with bundled Sonic engine' checkmarked?
Have you tried unchecking this to see if it can use ASPI instead?
(note, this setting change requires a Winamp restart to take effect)
Originally, I left this checked. Later, I tried using unchecking this option, then when that didn't work, found the thread you mention and tried that solution as well (placing the Nero ASPI .dll in the winamp directory).

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

Apart from all this, please can you supply the following information:
Basic system specs (pc or mobo make/model, cpu, ram)
CD-ROM drive make+model
Soundcard
Windows OS
DirectX version
Yes, I can supply exhaustive information about my system, but I'd rather do it privately. Can you email me at the address listed in my profile?
orgevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2004, 19:58   #7
orgevo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally posted by majinsonix
bump - anyone?
My problem has been solved. Here's what I found out - hopefully this helps anyone else having this problem. I was trying to rip to E:\Music. Today when I tried to access E:\Music, I got 'access denied'. Turns out the folder was marked read-only (and no, I didn't do that). When I tried to uncheck read-only, I would get access denied, which is strange, because I am the only person that uses my computer. I have WindowsXP, and though I do not use the administrator account, the account that I do use is part of the Administrators group. With simple file sharing enabled, you aren't able to see the folder permissions, so I disabled simple file sharing and...

Something had deleted the ACL for this folder. In other words, the access list for the folder showed nothing - not administrator, not me - nothing. No accounts had access to this folder. I can't be sure that WinAmp caused this to happen, but WinAmp and CDex are the only two applications that access this folder (though of course, that doesn't really mean much). Also, since yesterday, WinAmp started displaying the names for all tracks of a CD as "D,133" or something like this. It also no longer connected to CDDB when I inserted a new CD, and doubleclicking the WinAmp agent icon in the system tray wasn't doing anything (i.e. opening WinAmp) so there was something definitely amiss there. I have the latest virus protection, so I'm pretty sure this isn't a virus.


After restoring the permissions & access control list for the folder, and reinstalling WinAmp, everything seems to be working fine (including the ripping). So at best, it gives no indication that the location it's attempting to write to is marked as read-only. At worst, WinAmp is doing something bad with directories when it attempts to create one for ripping. Who knows...of course I'm unable to reproduce it. I'll post back if I do start getting this again.
orgevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2004, 23:57   #8
JimRome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
I have this problem also, and just upgraded to 5.02 Pro. It is still there!
I rip classical music, so there is no copy protection. I run XP Pro on a 1.5 GHz P4 with 2GB mamory and 1/2 TB disk.
This is the second cd to give this problem.
I think the problem may be related to the album name. At first there were two periods in a row in the name (by accident). I changed it, and reripped, but the folder it makes is still blank. And it is NOT write protected. Once you get this problem or you cancel a rip, it is impossible to redo the album. I finally got the first CD to rip by editing the CD information, but that has not worked with this one.
HELP!
JimRome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2004, 00:02   #9
JimRome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
It is definitely the CD information that is causing this. I went back to the CDDB information for the CD and it stored on the disk just fine (although not with the information I wanted).

We need guidance about what things in names of albums or tracks make winamp croak.
JimRome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2004, 11:41   #10
HMax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Same problem here

I have the same problem as you guys, wether I use Windows XP Pro at home or my Windows 2000 at work.

I tried ripping my new "Incubus - A crow left of the murder" CD to listen to it at work, and it just won't do it. I did not actually checked the permissions on the directory but will do so asap. I use administrator account on windows 2K and XP as well.

The CD does not seem to be protected, since I managed to rip it using Windows Media Player WMA encoder.

I upgraded to Winamp 5.02 and still nothing.

I'm using the MP3 encoder, tried different settings, I have a P4 at home and an Atlhon at work...

I think these are all the relevant information I can give.
HMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2004, 12:20   #11
JimRome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
Did you try editing the disk information? Try removing all punctuation from the album name, artist, and tracks.

Last edited by JimRome; 10th February 2004 at 14:58.
JimRome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2004, 14:56   #12
HMax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by JimRome
Did you try editing the disk information? Try removing all punctuation from the almub name, artist, and tracks.
Nope, no yet, gotta try that at home tonight, got no CD here.
HMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2004, 07:49   #13
HMax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Bug Found

Bug found:

The exact CD title (got on CDDB) is "A crow left of the murder..."

When trying to rip the CD, it appears like winamp manage to do it, but even if the directory is created, the files aren't. Please note that the directory created does not include the "..." in its name.

Manually removing the "..." in the album title fix the bug. I think that the directory title is cleaned, but then winamp try to copy the files in a 'uncleaned' directory name.

Fix: Edit albums/artist names (in fact all that comes in directories path) and ripping will work!

Ciao !
HMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2004, 08:55   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yeah. I'll report this.
Windows doesn't (normally) allow you to create dirs which end in a period (full stop).
Try it, eg. C:\Temp -> File Menu -> New > Folder
Type in something like: Folder...
When you hit enter, depending on the OS, you'll either get an error message, or Windows will automatically name it "Folder"

You can get away with 1 period, eg. I've just ripped a CD in Winamp called:
"Serenity Dub 1.1 A.M.", and it ripped and played fine, as well as adding to the library.
However, there is definitely an issue with more than one period at the end of the album title/folder name.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2004, 13:08   #15
JimRome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
There is also an issue with 2 periods in a row in the middle of the name.
But the bad part is that when you fix this, it is very difficult to get WinAmp to realize that it is fixed. I had to totally wipe out all the information for my CD to get it to work.
And WinAmp should post an error message saying that it was impossible to write the file!
JimRome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2004, 12:59   #16
MicScoTho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
Re: Bug Found

Quote:
Originally posted by HMax
Bug found:

The exact CD title (got on CDDB) is "A crow left of the murder..."

When trying to rip the CD, it appears like winamp manage to do it, but even if the directory is created, the files aren't. Please note that the directory created does not include the "..." in its name.

Manually removing the "..." in the album title fix the bug. I think that the directory title is cleaned, but then winamp try to copy the files in a 'uncleaned' directory name.

Fix: Edit albums/artist names (in fact all that comes in directories path) and ripping will work!

Ciao !
I can verify that this bug still exists in the 5.02 version of Winamp. The fix described above solved my problem.
MicScoTho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2004, 23:57   #17
MojoBaer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Can't get around the bug

I have the same problem, I'm very grateful for this forum because this bug WAS DRIVING ME CRAZY!!!

The Album I'm ripping is entitled "If We Can't Trust the Doctors..." Based on the previous posts I imagine the "..." is causing the problem.

BUT - I can't seem to get around it and rip the CD. I followed the advice that seemed to work on the previous post: I edited the CD Information for all the CD tracks to eliminate the ... , I deleted the bad folder and removed the bad entries from the library. But when I rip, the same result: and empty folder.

Any other thoughts?
MojoBaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2004, 13:09   #18
JimRome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
There are lots of other characters that kill it too. Any character not allowed in a file name (like :) will kill it too. WinAmp should parse the names and inform the user of these problems IMHP.
JimRome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 16:24   #19
UNIQHORN911
Junior Member
 
UNIQHORN911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OUTSIDE BIRMINGHAM ... THANK GOD
Posts: 44
i had a similr problem ripping a single track that ended in a ) I too think winamp should inform you if it encounters a problem ripping
UNIQHORN911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump