Old 6th February 2004, 20:10   #1
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Winamp 5 Classic Playlist Window Bug Fix

Since Winamp 5.0 (and including 5.02) if Winamp (in classic skin mode) is minimised on closing, when you next load it the Playlist Editor and Video windows will be shown. This is not intended and both of these windows should be minimised.

The plugin below fixes this problem for Winamp 5.0 to 5.02 (it is built in to not work on versions after 5.02 when it will be added into the Winamp program code).

download fix


note: if the playlist window does not appear correctly (with the list shifted to one side) then you just need to resize the window and all will be fine. This will be correctly handled when added to the Winamp code

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 6th February 2004, 20:19   #2
Moguta
Senior Member
 
Moguta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 190
Will this also fix the problem that WinAmp has when docking windows (Trillian, AIM) cause only the main window to move, and as soon as you try to drag the main window it reverts back to the original position?

EDIT: I should probably test this for myself, but I can't download anything from work. =p



Magnatune - A role model for ALL digital music stores!
Moguta is offline  
Old 6th February 2004, 20:21   #3
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
Good job as usual DrO. I'll probably download this along with 5.02, when I get home today.
inthegray is offline  
Old 6th February 2004, 20:26   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Moguta: it just fixes the display of the playlist and video windows on loading winamp so they are minimised if winamp was minimised when it was closed. basically it had been bugging me for a while and thought i'd do something about it

sorry but i don't know about that bug. it's doubtful i could do anything about it from what you've said via a plugin (there are limits even to what i can do)

inthegray: it's a useful one until it goes into the main winamp code

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 6th February 2004, 21:49   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
QA tested & approved
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th February 2004, 23:44   #6
bgesley
Major Dude
 
bgesley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: without wax
Posts: 948
Send a message via AIM to bgesley
NICE!

bgesley is offline  
Old 7th February 2004, 23:27   #7
war59312
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 58
Send a message via ICQ to war59312 Send a message via AIM to war59312 Send a message via Yahoo to war59312
Thanks a ton!!

Yea right click on the icon in the system tray and it comes right back.

oh well good enough and its appircated...

thanks,
will
war59312 is offline  
Old 11th February 2004, 18:31   #8
war59312
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 58
Send a message via ICQ to war59312 Send a message via AIM to war59312 Send a message via Yahoo to war59312
Can you repost. Link is dead. And to format hard drive this morning. Damn think got fed up some how.

Thanks,
Will
war59312 is offline  
Old 11th February 2004, 20:28   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hmm... the link is still working fine. Try it again.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 11th February 2004, 20:34   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Is working here too. Try a Ctrl+F5 refresh (if using IE) and then try it again.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 11th February 2004, 22:44   #11
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Works fine with Firefox 0.8!

Is this going to be merged into the winamp source code, or will it be included in the winamp bundle as a plugin?

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 11th February 2004, 22:52   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
The plugin below fixes this problem for Winamp 5.0 to 5.02 (it is built in to not work on versions after 5.02 when it will be added into the Winamp program code).
so yes into the winamp code, was too late for 5.02 since i only made it the night before the 5.02 release which was too late for Q&A and all that.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 11th February 2004, 22:56   #13
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
oh.

BTW,...

isn't it normal behaviour for any program to start maximised when being closed? even when closed minimised?

But nevertheless, good that this bug is fixed.

Let's hope for a quick 5.03

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 11th February 2004, 23:02   #14
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it depends on how the program was designed.
Winamp is meant to keep it's view state so starting back up minimised is intended (and i find it useful that way when you load it on startup so it just plays without popping up)

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 11th February 2004, 23:31   #15
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
no, no
/me finds that useful, too

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 20th February 2004, 18:04   #16
war59312
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 58
Send a message via ICQ to war59312 Send a message via AIM to war59312 Send a message via Yahoo to war59312
All right cool its working now.

Thanks man,
Will
war59312 is offline  
Old 7th March 2004, 05:30   #17
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Still having trouble on my machine.

Open Winamp from Explorer > Winamp opens minimized > Close Explorer > Playlist appears.

or

Open a window (Notepad say) > open Winamp from the system tray > Winamp opens minimized > close Notepad >Playlist appears.

(follow up) minimizing the playlist again and then closing a second window is o.k. Only seems to occur first time round (/follow up)

UJ

Last edited by ujay; 7th March 2004 at 05:57.
ujay is offline  
Old 7th March 2004, 10:49   #18
lomaspj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nepal
Posts: 13
Same is the prob. here

Yeah same is the problem here.

When ,sometimes, i open winamp then only playlist editor is displayed and when i right click to get context menu it shows with main window checked and to get main window i have to click on the winamp in taskbar. Is it connected with the same bug or it is the consequence of using certain skin or plugin.

Help.

and BTW war59312 the link is fine.
lomaspj is offline  
Old 7th March 2004, 18:45   #19
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
umm, if you're using classic skins, did you download the fix yet?

With Winamp closed, unzip to the Winamp\Plugins dir.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 25th March 2004, 21:06   #20
war59312
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 58
Send a message via ICQ to war59312 Send a message via AIM to war59312 Send a message via Yahoo to war59312
WinAmp 5.03.
war59312 is offline  
Old 25th March 2004, 23:18   #21
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yup, Winamp 5.03 renders this bug, fix & thread obsolete


*whacked*
DJ Egg is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump