Old 28th April 2004, 15:07   #1
DvRF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Playlist not being saved on exit

Whenever I close Winamp5 (properly, not just killing the process), my playlist never gets saved. When I reopen the program, all that is in my playlist is an entry called '%1'. I've tried reinstalling a number of times, and redownloading the installer as well. Any tips on how to fix this?
DvRF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 16:15   #2
UNIQHORN911
Junior Member
 
UNIQHORN911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OUTSIDE BIRMINGHAM ... THANK GOD
Posts: 44
right click start icon
select properties then general tab
make sure read-only is unchecked
UNIQHORN911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 16:16   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
1. Make sure no files in the Winamp dir are "read-only"
especially: winamp.m3u, winamp.ini, studio.xnf

2. Check your winamp shortcut and make sure it points to winamp.exe and not to a playlist file, or that the shortcut doesn't include any switches or dde messages at the end. The command line should be:
"C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe"
(adjust accordingly, if winamp was not installed to the default dir)

3. Make sure M3U files are properly associated with Winamp.
Winamp -> Prefs -> File Types
Make sure M3U (and PLS) is selected in the list
and that "restore file associations at startup" is checkmarked.

4. Remove/disable extra 3rd-party plugins (if any).


If the problem persists, please include Windows OS in reply.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 17:30   #4
DvRF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Fixed a few things, and found the source of the problem. Using WinXP.

All the files were read-only, so I changed that. However the problem was still occuring. I took the advice about the shortcuts, and played with that a bit. Normally I open Winamp by pressing the 'play' button on my keyboard, and that worked fine until I had to reinstall Winamp (files got corrupted). When I open winamp from the start menu, or by going to the actual .exe, it works fine.

I'm using a Logitech keyboard, and I know there's been problems with the media keys before. Whats the correct entry I should have in my players.ini for Winamp5?
DvRF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2004, 20:29   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Try these links:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....04#post1237404
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....55680#keyboard
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump