Old 25th June 2000, 20:59   #1
someguy85
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 2
Downloads for winamp wont work on my aol. It says every single time that it could not estalbish a conection with the server yet all of my friends on the same day were able to download it because the dont have aol..... why cant i download the program but i can download all the plugins I want! was up with that? I have tried for months on end to get winamp but it will never download it... if you aol users out there are dyin to get a version of winamp you can go to AOL's site that will let you download a version of winamp....the most resent version avlible on that site is version winamp 2.62...hey its better then nuthin! here is how you get it if you have aol..... go to keyword and type, "download" it should open a page that says " aol computing download center" under the text that says,"search for software" click on,"shareware" you should get a new window that says software search. Now select the following, "all dates, appications, and music and sound" then in the search box type,"winamp" your search should open another window with several programs....select the version of winamp that you want and click dowload now....

someguy85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2000, 21:24   #2
someguy85
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 2
I also found a website to download winamp if you have aol and it wont download at winamp then try this one.... copy this address...it well start the download of winamp2.64
http://www.3dfiles.com/cgi-bin/dl-ht.../winamp264.exe

[edit]
If anyone tries to use this url, always check the download section on winamp.com first to see what the latest version is. You can then copy and paste the link above into your address bar, but edit the version number before hitting go/enter:
eg. if the current version is v2.71, then change the ending to /winamp271.exe
<a href="http://www.3dfiles.com/cgi-bin/dl-http.cgi?ftp.telepac.pt/pub/3dfiles/utility/winamp271.exe"></a>
[/edit]



[Edited by DJEgg on 12-17-2000 at 06:51 PM]
someguy85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2000, 23:47   #3
gandalf
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Alimos, Athens, Greece
Posts: 569
Send a message via ICQ to gandalf
It seems AOL has a big problems with FTP. My suggestion is to stop using AOL (easier said than done from what i hear) and get a REAL ISP.
gandalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2001, 06:45   #4
Bop
Forum King
 
Bop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,883
pretty ironic, don't you think?

ßoþL¡©¡†¥
Bop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2001, 07:06   #5
griffinn
Court Jester
(Forum King)
 
griffinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Your local toystore
Posts: 3,501
Send a message via ICQ to griffinn
Quote:
Originally posted by gandalf
stop using AOL (easier said than done from what i hear)
Nobody can express it better than Lucid DM in this Garfield caption contest entry:


The smiley slot machine! | Quotable Blog
griffinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2001, 07:13   #6
Ch33zels
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
i dont have any problems downloading stuff (usually)
one day im gonna get a REAL isp but aol are cheap and most of the cheap assed isps where i live boot u off if u stay online for like 4 hours and ......... maybe i just complain too much
Ch33zels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2001, 01:55   #7
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
I have AOL, NOT MY CHOICE, and I've downloaded WinAmp about ten million times. What version do you have?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2001, 03:31   #8
Bop
Forum King
 
Bop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,883
Quote:
Originally posted by tjb2004
I have AOL, NOT MY CHOICE, and I've downloaded WinAmp about ten million times. What version do you have?
check the date for the original post; i was surfing the old threads and found this sitting around and thought it was kind of funny (ironic); i guess no one got my joke...... oh well

ßoþL¡©¡†¥
Bop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2001, 04:01   #9
shyam
Senior Member
 
shyam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Andromeda Posts: 3869
Posts: 391
Send a message via ICQ to shyam
LOL

shyam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2001, 02:51   #10
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
DAMN ****ER!
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 13:30   #11
JethroNY
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 1
Keep your AOL 6.0 Disk

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, so please be patient with me. I've found out that AOL's 6.0 version doesn't interfear with downloading WINAMP 2.77.
I upgraded to the new AOL 7.0 and I have to say that I'm sorry I did. I now have AOL 6.0 re-installed on my system.

Gateway 1700XL
Windows ME
Pentium 4 Processor
128MB RDRAM PC 800
60GB ultra ATA Hard Drive
DVD/CD ROM Drive
CD-R/RW Drive
64MB DDR Nividia 2Ultra Graphics W/TV out and DVI
Soundblaster Live Value
IEEE 1394 Card
10/100 Earthernet Card
18" Color monitor
And other "stuff"

If there is someone out there who can help me understand all of that
please, I would truly value the input.

By the way, this is only my second computer, my first was a Commodore 64.
JethroNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 20:10   #12
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Yeah, 7.0 doesn't work with DSL.
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 20:17   #13
No Name
Senior Member
 
No Name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 498
Just mimimize AOL and use your favorite browser. IE, Opera, Netscape, whatever.

Its what i did until i got dsl. Aol is good about giving free months away. Reason i stuck around.

.........
No Name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 20:19   #14
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
That's what I do, but 7.0 doesn't work with DSL yet.
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 20:34   #15
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,612
Quote:
originally posted by Boplicity
check the date for the original post; i was surfing the old threads and found this sitting around and thought it was kind of funny (ironic); i guess no one got my joke...... oh well
I didn't look at the original post date.
/me is now falling out of my chair with laughter.
Good one Bop.

btw...I gave up on AOL a long time ago.
The day I went broadband actually.
papadoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 20:47   #16
DuaneJeffers
Major Dude
 
DuaneJeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,776
Quote:
Originally posted by tjb2004
I have AOL, NOT MY CHOICE
tjb2004, I like you sig ... but you can't hack worth SHIT!!!!! P.s. get Earthlink, so that when you hack, the people tracking you won't know your (home) address.

-Duane

Website

Yeah, that's pretty much it. :-\
DuaneJeffers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 22:40   #17
LAVAB84615
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 117
Send a message via ICQ to LAVAB84615 Send a message via AIM to LAVAB84615
just use something like internet explorer instead
LAVAB84615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 23:39   #18
NeoRenegade
Banned
 
NeoRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada, eh?
Posts: 4,083
Send a message via ICQ to NeoRenegade Send a message via AIM to NeoRenegade
I used to be on an ISP even worse than AOL.

Sprint Canada.

Those fuckers are so stupid that their pack for people to connect to the internet for the first time ("Easy as 1-2-3!") (i.e. no existing internet connection on a different company) is made so that you need to be connected to the internet to complete the process. What was by their stupid plans supposed to take 10 minutes to do took 2 days for them to do.

Towards the time we switched to Cable, Sprint's download speed had gone down from a hearty 6.5 kilobytes per second to a slower-than-a-drugged-mongoloid 0.1 kilobytes per second.

But that was a while ago. Now we're happily being slightly screwed over by our Cable provider, which is nice and fast but for a real net addict the download limit is pretty low and the transfer speed cap as well.
NeoRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2001, 01:18   #19
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Quote:
Originally posted by DuaneJeffers


tjb2004, I like you sig ... but you can't hack worth SHIT!!!!! P.s. get Earthlink, so that when you hack, the people tracking you won't know your (home) address.

-Duane
HAHAHA! Well, I don't really hack per say, I more like steal my friends passwords for things like AIM and log in as them. But I can "hack" into your windows profile! BE WARE!

Last edited by tjb2004; 22nd November 2001 at 01:38.
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2001, 04:06   #20
whiteflip
Post Master General
(Forum King)
 
whiteflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Seattle, Now Las Vegas
Posts: 6,032
(not to nocharge of other free isp service users)

if you can afford the internet than why not afford good internet? aol is 22.95 a month right?!!!!!!!!!! OUTRAGEOUS!

MSN is 19.95 a month!!!!!!!

for six months you can get cable from wonderful ATT (hehe cable kicks the shout cast llama's mama) for just 29.95 or even 19.95. and 39.95 after that. i sound like an ad... but its great its good its sweetness. if too many people in your area use Cable get DSL. If you can't get any of those opt for satilite internet. JUST STAY AWAY FROM THE EVIL DIAL UP THAT COSTS 20 DOLLARS FOR SHIT SERVICE.

I'm Back?
whiteflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2001, 20:01   #21
Rswave2000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to Rswave2000
7.0 does work with dsl. I got dsl and I use aol and it works fine.


Rswave2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2001, 23:38   #22
piesupreme
Major Dude
 
piesupreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: drum'n'bass mecca
Posts: 856
Send a message via ICQ to piesupreme Send a message via AIM to piesupreme Send a message via Yahoo to piesupreme
here's an idea. don't use aol.

use the search, that's what it's there for.
Jungle Ravers never die, all we do is multiply
piesupreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2001, 23:47   #23
griffinn
Court Jester
(Forum King)
 
griffinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Your local toystore
Posts: 3,501
Send a message via ICQ to griffinn
How about AOL+?
griffinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2001, 00:11   #24
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Quote:
Originally posted by tjb2004
I have AOL, NOT MY CHOICE
My parents pay for it, too bad for me.
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump