Old 28th December 2004, 20:09   #1
Vytas
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Clarita, CA USA
Posts: 52
mp3PRO native support

I'm asking if "native" support for mp3PRO streams can be added to Winamp 5.

I use the THOMSON mp3PRO decoder plug-in with Winamp 5.

Here's the problem. When it is installed, I can no longer access aacPLUS streams. The aacPLUS decoder is native to Winamp 5.04 and up. I'm told the mp3PRO plug-in interferes with the aacPLUS decoder. The only way I can access aacPLUS streams is to delete the "in_mp3PRO.dll" file in the plug-ins folder. Then I have to reinstall the mp3PRO decoder to access mp3PRO streams again.

Since my Internet radio station streams mp3PRO and is about to add aacPLUS, it is going to be a real pain to monitor my own streams. Think of how confusing it will be to listeners.

Needless to say, as aacPLUS catches on, you'll probably be hearing more about people wondering about why they can't access both types of streams with Winamp. Since Coding Technologies is behind both file formats, can you support BOTH natively? Thank you.

Vytas Safroncikas, President
BornAgainRadio.com
Vytas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2004, 20:19   #2
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
No
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2004, 20:47   #3
Vytas
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Clarita, CA USA
Posts: 52
Thanks for you swift reply.

The message linked to your "no" answer says Winamp would have to pay for the rights to the mp3PRO decoder.

Interestingly, THOMSON already gives away the Winamp plug-in as a free download. Did Winamp have to pay to include THOMSON/Coding Technologies AAC/aacPLUS native support?


Vytas Safroncikas
BornAgainRadio.com
Vytas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2004, 20:47   #4
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
As far as I know, mp3PRO is kinda dead.
Wildrose-Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2004, 21:03   #5
Vytas
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Clarita, CA USA
Posts: 52
THOMSON's website says this about mp3PRO:

http://www.mp3licensing.com/mp3/mp3pro.html

"...commercial applications will have access to royalty-free mp3PRO decoding."

Dead or "not yet happening", it would appear that adding native Winamp support would not be a legal problem.

Vytas Safroncikas
BornAgainRadio.com
Vytas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2004, 21:19   #6
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Is not going to happen anyway. Free or not free, there are no coders left at Nullsoft.
Wildrose-Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2004, 21:35   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Winamp is freeware, not commercial.
Patent/Royalty fees must be paid to Thomson/FhG.
http://www.mp3licensing.com/royalty/index.html

Sure, MP3Pro Decoding could be added to in_mp3.dll in Winamp Pro only, but would the average user be willing to pay the $14 fee just to get native MP3Pro decoding?

So basically, no means no!

Nullsoft chose aac/aacPlus to use as the audio format with Shoutcast NSV streaming.
We don't have any need for the dead MP3Pro format.

And, afaik, there's an option in the MP3Pro plugin config to not use it for standard MP3 streams.


ps. btw, Tag Loomis is still coding for Winamp.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2004, 18:11   #8
Vytas
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Clarita, CA USA
Posts: 52
Call me stupid, but I don't get it.

Commercial software gets the decoder FREE?
Freeware has to PAY for it?
And THOMSON gives away the decoder plug-in for FREE.

If all of the above is true, the lawyers must be running the asylum.

Happy New Year!

Vytas Safroncikas
BornAgainRadio.com
Vytas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2004, 04:54   #9
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
But Mp3Pro is still poo and pretty much a dead format. Just use the third party plug-in if you really want it.

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2004, 18:34   #10
tuner2_admin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Another bit of clarification, Thomson has nothing to do with aacPlus. aacPlus is a Coding Technologies thing which they put into MPEG as an open standard. (see ISO/IEC 14496-3, incl. Amd.1:2003, Amd.2:2004, known there as HE AAC and HE AAC v2). Yes, mp3PRO has the SBR from Coding Technologies (and CT even develops mp3PRO software,) but mp3PRO licensing is under the sole purvue of Thomson (as is mp3 for that matter.)

http://www.tuner2.com/
tuner2_admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2004, 20:45   #11
Vytas
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Clarita, CA USA
Posts: 52
Thanks for the info.

Bowing to marketplace realities, we've decided to drop our mp3PRO stream, using every bit to maximize the quality of our 56kbps mp3 stream. I still think mp3PRO still has very much to offer.

We have just started streaming in the new aacPLUS v2 format at 32kbps 44.1 kHz using Winamp 5.04 and higher.

I am still blown away with the audio quality that can be packed into a dial-up sized stream. Kudos to the Coding Technologies folks and everyone else associated with the aacPLUS technology.

Vytas Safroncikas
BornAgainRadio.com
Vytas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2005, 03:08   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hallelujah and amen
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Wishlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump