Old 10th February 2005, 22:52   #1
smhillusa

Can't play WMA

Sorta newbie here - using v2.76 I made some .wma files (don't ask how) expecting file size reduction, didn't get it. Anyway, downloaded Nullsoft_wma_input_plug-in v1 by DD. It put in_wm.dll in the plug-in folder and shows in Plug-ins In/Out with (No Codec Installed). The files play in WMP10. WMA is selected in Preferences/Filetypes. I sense the problem is the Codec thing. Es verdad?
ps. I assume I can have both versions 2.76 and 5.x installed at once while I evaluate and changeover, if I want.
smhillusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2005, 00:01   #2
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Okay...
  1. Even though you can have both versions 2.76 and 5.x installed at once, get rid of v2.76 (full of bugs and security issues and completely unsupported here)
  2. Download/install either the Full version or any of the Bundles (not Lite) of the latest version - currently Winamp 5.08d. WMA playback/support is fully supported in Full or Bundled versions (but not with the Lite version)
  3. You say you "made some .wma files (don't ask how)", but HOW is very important because if you encoded them with DRM protection "on", then you might experience problems playing them in Winamp (definitely with older pre-5.xx versions). So if that's the case, re-rip/re-encode them again, but without DRM protection
  4. If you'd like Winamp 5.08d full to run as sharply and as quickly as any older unsupported 2.xx version did, then you have the ability to UNcheck certain components during the setup process, all referenced nicely for you by DJ Egg in the Winamp 5.08+ Full/Pro - Component List
  5. Further tips & tweaks to get Winamp 5.x running smooth as silk for you are referenced in Like The Wind