Old 30th March 2005, 17:22   #1
jheddings

ml_org: Organize Media Library

I've checked through the samples and the FAQ's and I'm still needing a little help at just getting started. This is my first Winamp plugin, so go easy on me...

I thought that I'd try to tackle the "Keep My Media Library Organized" functionallity that shows up on the wishlist. This is something that I too would love to have.

I thought that I would take the approach of having a button or menu item added to the media library that would selected by the user to do the organization (instead of trying to monitor the library for changes to tags).

Most development I've done to date has been for embedded systems, so I have very little knowledge of Windows programming.

For a basic test, I would like to be able to display the new button (or menu item) in the ML, the simply iterate through all items in the ML just to see that I can get that far

Here's what I need some help with:
  • Accessing the UI to add the button or menu item
  • Executing my function when that action occurs
  • Reading all items in the ML

Any takers?
jheddings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2005, 07:55   #2
saivert
Banned

You can't add a button to the ML as there is no API made for this yet (well nothing is impossible, but it would require serious hacks which would take too much time). You can instead add a menu item to the menu that appears when you click the Library button below the ML tree-view control (I guess you know a litt about the basics of Win32 programming after all).