Go Back   Winamp Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st September 2005, 19:13   #1
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
Winamp 5.1 Surround Edition Ready for Download

extra! extra! read all about it:
i am awesome.

also:
winamp 5.1 release.

winamp 5.1 bundle emusic plus
winamp 5.1 emusic plus
winamp 5.1 lite
winamp 5.1 pro

Winamp 5.1 Surround Edition

* New: CodingTechnologies AACPlus encoder!
---The MP3 Killer!
---Awesome at low bitrates too!
* New: Grand Prize Winner of the Internet Surround Music Project!
---KAJE - Hey Buddy (featuring Afrika Bambaataa)
* New: SHOUTcast Wire - A Media RSS Browser and Subscription Service
* New: Predixis Smart Playlist Generator
---(Mix your tracks based on what they sound like!)
* New: AOL Radio featuring (((XM))) Free Sampler!
* New: CD Ripping now available at 8x in free version!
* New: Microsoft WMA encoder
* New: Over 200 new Milkdrop presets!
* Update: in_vorbis now returns bitrate in getextendedfileinfo
* Fixed: WMA stuttery playback
* Fixed: out_ds copy button on status tab now works all the time
* Fixed: Much improved ripping and playback with Sonic engine
* Fixed: Video window now resizable regardless of Sidecar
* Fixed: Length of long mp3's now reported properly
* Fixed: Silent install switch now works properly
* Fixed: Simultaneous CD Playback and Ripping
inthegray is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:16   #2
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,232
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
Re: Winamp 5.1 Surround Edition Ready for Download

woot!
dlinkwit27 is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:20   #3
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Holy crap is this real!!!

What's with the Surround Edition? I'm downloading now.
Squadman is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:22   #4
msanto
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Is this the 5.1 that was available the other day on BetaNews and then pulled? Your front page still lists 5.09 as the current ... is this the latest?
msanto is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:25   #5
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Yeah, is it the version that was pulled? Because it's usually DJ Egg, that announces new versions...
Squadman is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:29   #6
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 1,022
DJ Egg is too busy playing Grand Theft Auto
Benski is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:34   #7
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
dj egg was off doing something else, so i stole his usual glory.

this version has fixes and changes that weren't applied to the unofficial "5.1" that was leaked earlier this week.

Last edited by inthegray; 1st September 2005 at 20:26.
inthegray is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:36   #8
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Like what?

YtseJam is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:42   #9
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
Changes that means you will have to download it again.
Poor dial up users.

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 19:57   #10
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Well, this is the first time i've downloaded it. So lucky me.

It really does suck for dial up users like me. The size has increased dramatically. 6.1MB now.

EDIT: Just installed it. It's quite nice. I'm loving the new visualizations in Milkdrop. A lot of it I don't use, mostly because i've never used the Media Library for anything.

Great work guys, thanks. Keep it coming. But again, why's it called Surround Edition?

EDIT 2: I can't seem to un-install the DSP/Effect plugin that comes with Winamp. I don't use it for anything. But whenever I click un-install, it just, moves back to none.

EDIT 3: Ok, nothing a clean install and restart couldn't fix.

I'm happy now, thanks guys!

Last edited by Squadman; 1st September 2005 at 20:41.
Squadman is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 21:29   #11
chuckeh
SHOUTcast Freak
 
chuckeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NRW, Germany
Posts: 323
nice work :P
chuckeh is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 22:38   #12
sinnema
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 35
I don't use Winamp 5.1's Media Library (I use Joonas' Dynamic Library plug-in instead).

I would like an option in Winamp's preferences to configure the 'Winamp Lithening bolt' (1) to 'MusicMagic Mix' (2) a song...

(1) =


(2) =
click for image
[edit > JonnyMac] Screenshot changed to hyperlink to preserve forum aesthetics and table size [/edit]
sinnema is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 23:05   #13
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
FYI: I used musicmagic mixer previously, and i was able to copy/paste my default.m3lib and log.txt(rename it to logex.txt) to the musicmagic plugin folder and it worked fine...as far as i can tell.
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 23:20   #14
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,369
it also fixed my shoutcast DSP problems (unrelated to other bugs btw) and it doesnt crash when i close it

tuckerm is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 23:25   #15
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25,191
Squadman: it's a play on 5.1 since Surround sound output requires a 5.1 audio system (it's sad computer geekness that some of us behind the scenes said would be lost on people )

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 1st September 2005, 23:29   #16
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
...

It's weird how I didn't pick that up. But that is so...

Lame.

Squadman is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 01:11   #17
SauloB
Junior Member
 
SauloB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brazil
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
Squadman: it's a play on 5.1 since Surround sound output requires a 5.1 audio system (it's sad computer geekness that some of us behind the scenes said would be lost on people )

-daz
humm.. so.. how that work ?
doesn't need any plug in ?

any mp3 works on my 5.1 sound ?

i always heard it on 5.1 i mean.. all speakers appears the same sound.. i mean. left-front and left-rear = left.. and right right

so.. how that work ?
SauloB is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 01:19   #18
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
it is NOT surround sound music.

it is a joke

it is a "play-on-words" , understand?
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 01:28   #19
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
Well, one of the bundles comes with a 5.1 AAC file from the contest at Tuner2.
* New: Grand Prize Winner of the Internet Surround Music Project!

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 01:47   #20
biggman15
Senior Member
 
biggman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 431
I have a Question... This is the First Time Winamp has Cleared My Playlist when Simply installing over the Top of the old install... And it attempted to Activate some sort of Stream... I of Course Stopped it being on Dial up.... But I did want to ask what this Stream was...

biggman15 is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 02:21   #21
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally posted by drewbar
Well, one of the bundles comes with a 5.1 AAC file from the contest at Tuner2.
* New: Grand Prize Winner of the Internet Surround Music Project!
I've got a 4.1 system, and it sounded pretty darn cool! Although I do wonder how he center channel was handled, I suppose it is just mono mixed in the front LR channels.

Quote:
Originally posted by biggman15
I have a Question... This is the First Time Winamp has Cleared My Playlist when Simply installing over the Top of the old install... And it attempted to Activate some sort of Stream... I of Course Stopped it being on Dial up.... But I did want to ask what this Stream was...
Yeah, it cleared my playlist (it was only a ogg stream.) but I have no idea about the stream.
Perhaps a message upon first run asking if you would like to listen to the demo song, just so we don't get a bunch of pissed people who don't save their playlists, nor do they use the media library.

BTW: the main download page has been updated

http://www.winamp.com/player/
Rellik is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 02:41   #22
electricmime
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 991
does it have the latest jtfe?

btw, is it just mine but it crashes when i click 'menu and buttons' in the jtfe prefs..

There is no reset button on life... but the graphics kick ass
electricmime is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 02:59   #23
ivand67
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
AAC demo file (demo.acc) is not working for me. I opened it with Media Player Classic and it sounded fine, but in Winamp I hear a really bad background noise that sounds like a mix between a machine gun and a drumset.

How do I configure it??
ivand67 is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 03:27   #24
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
@electricmime _ its 96fg (so no) i didnt get crashes with it, or 97build11

@ivand - I didnt realize it needed any config...i had a clean full install and it worked perfectly. Did you do default install? and i havent looked at lite, but i assume it has aac+ support.

I VERY MUCH DISLIKE THE ERASING OF THE PLAYLIST!
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 04:57   #25
peaceofcake
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 333
And just a few months ago I thought winamp was dead! They're finally back to adding serious features.

One thing on the predaxis musicmagic addition (great idea BTW). Can you make it so it will generate the mix from the currently playing song, not only the selected song(s) in the ML? Also, where do I find out if a song is "mixable"? It's not an option in the ML or anywhere that I can find?
peaceofcake is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 05:12   #26
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
winamp isnt the place for predixis requests, you must do them at the predixis forum:
here
though i just saw whicken(one of the guys from predixis) post in these forums so he does read them.

In any smart view, the "mixable" is in the bottom right corner of the ML next to the show info button.
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 07:17   #27
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,223
Quote:
Originally posted by ivand67
AAC demo file (demo.acc) is not working for me. I opened it with Media Player Classic and it sounded fine, but in Winamp I hear a really bad background noise that sounds like a mix between a machine gun and a drumset.

How do I configure it??
Try the DirectSound output tweaks. Checking 'Allow hardware acceleration' fixed it for me.

I only have two speakers, but I do hear a clear difference when that option is checked/unchecked. demo.aac is optimized for users with a multi-speaker setup.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 08:19   #28
Logy
Senior Member
 
Logy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Terengganu, Malaysia, Asia, Earth
Posts: 302
why the browser is grey... in the main menu (right click every where in winamp)

what supposed browser to be...? is it not ready or unuseable...

The English suffix -logy denotes a field of study or academic discipline.
Logy is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 08:24   #29
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,223
That browser can only be opened when an AOL Radio station is playing.

Media Library > Online Media > AOL Radio with XM

If you don't see that entry under Online Media, be sure the following option is checked and restart Winamp:
Prefs (Ctrl+P) > Media Library > tab Online Media > click 'Modify Preferences' button > 'Look for new Online Media Channels on exit'

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 08:37   #30
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25,191
as a general note, can we keep 3rd party plugin 'issues' from here please and in relevant threads (especially mine) otherwise it will become a mess in here, ta

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 08:43   #31
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,148
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
I VERY MUCH DISLIKE THE ERASING OF THE PLAYLIST!

Fuck this place.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 10:17   #32
fisher819
Senior Member
 
fisher819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to fisher819
alright. winamp 5.1
evrything is great until now.

i just noticed a very small thing (i think an easter egg): when you Alt -ctrl + double click on the lama in the about box, you get the liscence plate of 5.09.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wa.jpg (57.0 KB, 1691 views)

help us count :Click here
fisher819 is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 11:01   #33
SailorMax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Latvia
Posts: 21
but when you Shift + double click on the lama in the about box, you get: cracked by r0n
SailorMax is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 11:11   #34
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25,191
that's been in for ages (well since 5.09 was released)

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 11:49   #35
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,045
Anyone else having problems shutting their PC down while 5.1 is running?

At home on a SP2 XP install with all the latest patches and so on, I run a registered copy of Pro, everything installed by default.

I have the player, not playing any music, just sitting idle, classic skin mode, if I then shut down the PC or reboot it while winamp is still open I get a pop up about some .exe or other not responding or initialising (hard to say exactly what it's saying really as it pops up so quick and then the pc shuts down anyhow)

I thought it might have been my laptop at home so tried it on my 2000 machine at work, running SP4, again same scenario, registered copy of pro, all features installed, classic skin mode.

Shut down on 2000 with winamp still active I get a winamp is not responding dialogue with a end now/cancel option, followed swiftly by a 'instruction cannot be read in 0x0282ed87' error message, again I can't screen grab any of this as the pc is in the middle of shutting down at this point..

Anyone else?
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 12:05   #36
DrO
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
DrO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25,191
got the update online media stuff checked? since i bet with the new activity the server(s) it connects to is taking a bit longer and so Windows will time out the program and make it go boom

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 12:12   #37
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,045
Hmmm, probably, let me uncheck those and see...
Pretty sure the install at home hasn't , but won't be able to confirm that 'till later, but for now, lets try it under 2000....
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 12:14   #38
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,371
Could not reproduce.

If it is not the online media check issue, Winamp not closing properly and/or the "instruction cannot be read" error message are classic signs of dodgy third party plug-ins.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 12:18   #39
|LDR|aDa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen.
Posts: 42
Wow, this release is pretty amazing.

Although I didnt like the playlist erazing, I was quite awed by the cool surround-sound features of Winamp 5.1, even though I have a 4.1 setup.

Nice to know that Winamp isnt dead
|LDR|aDa is offline  
Old 2nd September 2005, 12:34   #40
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,045
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
got the update online media stuff checked? since i bet with the new activity the server(s) it connects to is taking a bit longer and so Windows will time out the program and make it go boom

-daz
Didn't make any difference..

Turned those off, restarted winamp, shut down, same 'winamp is not resonding' followed by 'application error'

Uninstalled, removed directory, reg cleaned, reinstalled fresh 5.1, unchecked media checks again, rebooted, same thing.

No third parties installed, so I'm at a loss to explain, will look again at home tonight on the XP machine see if I can grab details of whatever this '.exe' is that isn't firing, can't be arsed to reboot this machine again, takes so bloody long
Mr Jones is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump