Old 30th September 2005, 17:07   #1
cwaugh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Media Library Browser popups

The setting to prevent media from switching to 'Now Playing' is NOT preventing AOL XM channels from launching a browser popup. Known 5.1 bug?
cwaugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2005, 18:17   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
The two features/settings aren't connected.
Now Playing is Now Playing in the Media Library.
The XM Radio Browser only appears when listening to XM Radio.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2005, 19:41   #3
cwaugh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Hmmm...but playing the AOL XM Radio is via the the Online Media section of the Media Library. And, in the past, in these forums, it has been claimed that preventing the switch to Now Playing prevented browser popups. It just doesn't seem to work anymore...

Unless the XM Radio browser is something new, and unrelated to the normal browser. In which case, how does one disable it?
cwaugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2005, 21:02   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
"Do not allow media to switch to Now Playing" does what it says.
The AOL XM Radio browser is NOT Now Playing.


"Unless the XM Radio browser is something new, and unrelated to the normal browser."

Correct.


"In which case, how does one disable it?"

Alas, you don't. Sorry :/

[Edit]

As from Winamp 5.11x and later...
Winamp > Prefs > Station Info
Uncheck: Automatically show info on station tune-in

:-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 08:18   #5
valiot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Browser still pops up oon shoutcast.

Quote:
"In which case, how does one disable it?"

Alas, you don't. Sorry :/
I would disagree. I just came to this forum for the first time in years. I've been using Winamp since version 2 and have never needed support. This new feature is driving me nuts.

This browser popup occurs with all shoutcast media as well. How do we turn it off for the Shoutcast Streams?
Attached Images
File Type: png winamp popup.png (60.8 KB, 1594 views)
valiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 08:25   #6
valiot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Sorry, I only now found the following link to an answer for this:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....ibrary+Browser

I guess I'll just wait for a pop killer or something...
valiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 12:06   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yup, it's only started also happening for SHOUTcast streams as from yesterday. Up until then the browser only popped up for AOL XM Radio streams. And yes, everyone please refer to the thread linked to in valiot's post above.

Again, I reiterate that "Now Playing" and the browser are two entirely different things/features. "Now Playing" is the view found at the top of the left pane in the Media Library. The (Online Media) browser is a separate window entirely.

We now have an internal RC2 of the gen_diebrowserdie plugin, and it's working well. The browser no longer pops up, and it also gets rid of the "browser" entry in Winamp's main menu. The plugin should hopefully be publically released very soon.

Sorry again dudes, heh.


[Edit]

As from Winamp 5.11x and later...
Winamp > Prefs > Station Info
Uncheck: Automatically show info on station tune-in
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 14:01   #8
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Personally, I like this very much and would be pleased to see it extended to 'Bookmarked' streams as well.
Presumable this originates from the shoutcast servers and can't be implemented with direct links ?

Couple of points -

Resize info for the window is saved OK (studio.xnf), but always restores to default size when opening (position is kept OK).
Is this a serverside setting ??

Empty playlist saved on close.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 14:10   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
We now have an internal RC2 of the gen_diebrowserdie plugin, and it's working well. The browser no longer pops up, and it also gets rid of the "browser" entry in Winamp's main menu. The plugin should hopefully be publically released very soon.
DBD 1.0 RC2

i'm putting the link up to this as it stands since i'm at work (cos i have to pay the bills somehow... so i can't make this a 1.0 final ) but if egg's said it's working then apart from one known glitch i have with the colour themes sub menu being duplicated i think this is safe to get some more 'public' testing (die browser die damnit!! ) enjoy

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 14:31   #10
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Can't see any probs here.

Any plans for a die/resurrect switch ??

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 16:00   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
yeah, i was wondering about something like that since i guess for some cases it may be useful to have it available. i may add some manual config options/something in the installer which would allow for that, dunno yet

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 16:07   #12
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Something along the same lines as the little menu you did with 'OneforNunz' would be good

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 16:13   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
heh, i'd forgotten about doing it that way since it's not as much of a dll resource size increase doing it that way. i'll see what i can get finalised over the next day or so (since i'm doing a rare bit of socialising tonight )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 16:17   #14
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Have fun

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2005, 19:05   #15
jim2664258
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32
Works good for me - sometimes you see the browser window pop up momentarily before it's killed, but this does the trick

Thanks!
jim2664258 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2005, 00:55   #16
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Die Browser Die v1.1a
  • Fixed an issue which could block user input to Winamp
  • Tweaks and some future proofing
download v1.1a

Die Browser Die v1.0
  • Allows blocking of the browser popup window (may flash briefly on blocking due to the OS)
  • Ability to remove the main menu 'Browser' entry (*)
download v1.0


(*) Due to general dumbnes in the modern skin support you may experience some duplicated menu entries due to the browser entry removal after accessing the 'view' and/or 'options' menu in the Modern skin's main window (i will try to look into this more with time to see if it can be fixed/better handled though i'd just say use classic skins since they work 100% )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2005, 01:14   #17
marcpullen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Thank you so much for that fix! I'm in and out of SHOUTcast streams all day, that browser/now playing popup was driving me nuts.
marcpullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2005, 09:29   #18
skorbut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
DrO! You're the man! Thank you very much for bringing this to us!
skorbut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2005, 15:55   #19
kaoz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Hooray!

Thank you. That popup browser was really bugging me too - not so much that it was doing anything bad, just that it was 'doing' - without any invitation from me.

Now I can zap it, thanks to the author, until AOL comes up with another sneaky backdoor, I suspose? Ergghhh on these guys who think outside of the box! But then again, that's from whence the remedy cometh, ehh?

LOL!

Have a great day.
kaoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2005, 16:49   #20
ssj4_android
Senior Member
 
ssj4_android's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 191
Send a message via ICQ to ssj4_android Send a message via AIM to ssj4_android Send a message via Yahoo to ssj4_android
Thanks. WTF were they thinking adding popups though?
ssj4_android is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2005, 02:32   #21
stmotorsports
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally posted by ssj4_android
Thanks. WTF were they thinking adding popups though?
yeah right? Knowing someone would just figure out a way to kill it anyhow within a few days... God damn I wish someone could come up with a dieAOLdie

Thanx again DrO- mine's working great
stmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2005, 18:36   #22
stmotorsports
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 9
another little thing I have noticed since the recent onslaught of the browser popup issue- any time I have any shoutcast streams going, if I shut winamp down, the next time I restart it, it just defaults to "Winamp 5.1" in the track title bar whereas it used to automatically reload the last stream it was connected to. The way it was, you could just startup winamp and hit the play button, and it would automatically connect to that last stream. Now it just opens the search for local media prompt window. I have a feeling there's a setting for this somewhere that I haven't found yet but I know I didn't change anything. Somehow this just started happening when the browser popups started appearing...

anyone else have this issue?
stmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2005, 18:39   #23
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
yes and it's meant to be being fixed

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2005, 18:59   #24
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....adid=156839#51
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2005, 18:32   #25
MasterGoa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deux-Montagnes, Qc, Cnd
Posts: 47
Well, I still get browser windows when I shoucast,
the DBD1.o crashes my Winamp, the Ver 1.1B is not available.

Can browser popups be disabled in winamp directly now?

Thanx!
MasterGoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2005, 18:41   #26
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the v1.1a download is working fine here...

there is a 'station info' prefs page now in the newest winamp builds to disable the popups though i still use dbd since it can remove that page from the preferences once you've used the prefs to disable it (no need to keep it clogging up the prefs list when it's not needed any more )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 15:06   #27
MasterGoa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deux-Montagnes, Qc, Cnd
Posts: 47
Thanks for the info.

I disabled it in prefs, but I still timeout on that update.

Oh well...

MasterGoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 15:17   #28
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
alt download though i've no idea why the main link is failing for you :/

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2005, 03:40   #29
tao_gilliam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: sac CA
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to tao_gilliam Send a message via Yahoo to tao_gilliam
my beef with the minibrowser is that it uses IE, which runs slow on this [workplace]computer.
(a bit offtopic?) ive traced the slowdown to norton'05 but having trouble pegging which option(s) is/are causing the slowdown.
tested by disabling norton, then opening IE, also opening a shoutcast stream and letting the browser appear, normal(expected good) speed.

with diebrowserdie the minibrowser still comes up for a split second, long enough for the slowdown w/ norton on.
tao_gilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump