Old 13th September 2000, 02:36   #1
EUROTRASH

I am a network engineer and have the occasion to build a lot of machines...... lately i have noticed on 98se that there is a bug with the winamp installer. I like to install winamp on all the machines i build....however this is rarely possible with the crc checksum error ......however, the thing i find funny is that Winamp refuses to admit that it is a bug.... i have looked all thru your forums and everytime someone reports the problem you tell them that they have a virus or to use some spyware piece of crap like "get right"....I have d/l your installer onto a brand new machine that i just built with broadband. It doesnt work .....so i d/l it from some other site and same result..... I can take that same installer and transfer it to another machine and it works fine ????? Why dont you suck it up and look into this problem ???... It is really irritating that people are telling you that they have checked for viri....and have d/l ed it from several different sites w/ broadband or better and all you have to say is you have a virus.....well isnt that the easy way out .....DO SOME R&D AND ANSWER THIS PROBLEM

Old 13th September 2000, 02:57   #2
aaron

well, usually CRC errors are caused by download errors, but in your case this seems not to be the case. do you have the same problem with previous versions of winamp?
you could try installing gnutella on the machines winamp doesnt install on, because it uses the same installer. you can get it from www.gnutella.wego.com; so the nullsoft guys would know whether it is a problem with the installer, or just limited to winamp.

-aaron

[This message has been edited by aaron (edited September 12, 2000).]
Old 13th September 2000, 05:14   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team

Yeah, but if the same installer works on another machine . . . how can there be a bug in it ?
It kinda defies logic.
Sounds to me more like there's a bug on the actual machine, not in the installer.