Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2006, 12:50   #1
boswpb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
winamp v5.2: No entry point - DRMClien.dll

winamp says some-long-name entry point ?QueryXferToJD@CDRMLiteCryto@@QAEJPBDPAEK1@Z was not found in DRMClien.dll ... A fresh copy of DRMClien.dll didn't help. I have two new plug-ins: modern skin and autostart. Maybe it involves a library search problem that appeared in the 5.2 beta.
boswpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 13:47   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Edit:
Now that the problem has been later identified/resolved,
please ignore this post and see further down for the solution and/or fixed pmp_p4s.dll



When does the error message appear exactly?

Are there any drm-protected wma files in your library?

If so, do said files play ok in Windows Media Player?

What version of WMP is installed?

This error message usually suggests that there's a problem (corruption?) with your Windows DRM installation:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;810422


Edit:
See my main post further down for the solution (re: disabling pmp_p4s.dll).
Or see Will's post even further down for a fixed pmp_p4s.dll (if you require P4S device support). Note that this issue is fixed in newer versions of Winamp & pmp_p4s.dll, so make sure you've got the latest version first.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 13:56   #3
boswpb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
MP10 crashes yesterday.
MP9 reinstalled and seems to work.
Library is mostly mp3pro & mp3surround
from thompson convertion.
These players are not working right either.
I'll try the DRM clean up soon.
boswpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 14:40   #4
boswpb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Entry point problem appears each time I start winamp full
.
Win DRM review per above link was not a success...
no DRM folder in either docs or registry
winamp problem mentioned in registry
no know DRM permissions in first place
.
been testing:
not working quite right with MP3pro support...
MP3pro, MP3surround, winamp full
working just fine without MP3pro support...
MP9
working just fine with MP3pro support...
winamp lite
.
MP10 and winamp v5.2 beta was stuck in some library search
boswpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 14:50   #5
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
working just fine without MP3pro support...
I guess a lot of problems are related to the Thompson MP3Pro decoder for Winamp, wich is simply bullshit.


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Sure is
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 11:41   #6
Metafox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
you're not alone pal


I can use winamp w/out any probs, but when starting winamp i get this annoying msg.
Metafox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 12:03   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Ok.. let's see if we can find out what's causing it.

Did you all install support for Portable Media Players (ml_pmp)?
(Installer Options > Screen 2 > Components > Winamp Library > Portables)
If so, did you also install support for MS Plays for Sure Devices (pmp_p4s.dll)?

Do you actually have any Portable Media Players, and if so, are they P4S Devices?

Try disabling pmp_p4s.dll (Winamp\Plugins folder), eg. by closing Winamp
and then either moving that file somewhere else or renaming it to pmp_p4s.off


Let us know if the error message still occurs, and we'll take things from there.

_____________________________________________________________

[Edit] The rest of my post can now be ignored [/Edit]
_____________________________________________________________

Important:
Please also include your Windows OS , including Service Pack (eg. WinXP sp2),
and your Windows Media Player version in any reply.

afaik, P4S support will only load under WinXP, and probably requires a minimum of sp1.

If you do have a P4S player and you need support for it,
then you can try updating the Windows Media DRM package from here:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/891122
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 15:01   #8
boswpb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
My HP Pavilion PC has a fresh install of WinXP-SP2 without portable devices. The problem occured the day I tried MP3-Surround and upgraded from Winamp Lite to Winamp Full. Toay I followed your advice... renaming the file to pmp_p4s.dll.old... and the problem disappeared. I wonder what happened otherwise. Thank you. My humble library sounds decent and works pretty good.
boswpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 17:11   #9
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally posted by Metafox
you're not alone pal


I can use winamp w/out any probs, but when starting winamp i get this annoying msg.
I've been getting that error every time I open the media library. Later I will try messing with portable support. (I don't own any portables so I don't care about ml_pmp)
Rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 21:18   #10
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally posted by Rellik
I've been getting that error every time I open the media library. Later I will try messing with portable support. (I don't own any portables so I don't care about ml_pmp)
Ok, I just removed pmp_p4s.dll and the error went away.
Rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 02:53   #11
soundelicious
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 2
Thanks, DJ Egg. Renaming pmp_p4s.dll works.
soundelicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 10:22   #12
Metafox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Yup, it works.Deleting pmp_p4s.dll or renaming it.
Do we get to lose anything by deleting/renaming it?
Metafox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 13:06   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
You lose support for Microsoft Plays For Sure compatible portable media players.
But I assume none of you have got one of those devices anyway,
and probably should've unchecked that option in the installer.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 23:39   #14
maritas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
thanks for the info - mine was doing the same thing - renaming the file - fixed it up good.
maritas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 00:01   #15
winnmn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
pmp_p4s.dll

Thanks folks... I was just about to uninstall the whole darned thing permenently and go on to something else. Not being a geek and understanding the wherewithalls, if it don't work right... it's gone

Winnmn
winnmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 11:54   #16
steps39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Same prob

I have had the same problem and as a new user this needs looking into!!

I just downloaded the installer and ran it picking the default options, then every time I ran the software I got the same error.

NOT a good advert for Winamp you should not get an error just because you are not going to use part of it froma standard install.
steps39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 22:47   #17
mary_bc
Junior Member
 
mary_bc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Had this same problem..renamed the pmp_p4s.dll to
pmp_p4s.off and everything worked fine..thanks much.
mary_bc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2006, 06:30   #18
navjotjsingh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to navjotjsingh
Even I had the same problem..Thanks to you guys...the problem solved here also..I had Windows XP SP2 BTW!
navjotjsingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2006, 02:34   #19
need_support
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by mary_bc
Had this same problem..renamed the pmp_p4s.dll to
pmp_p4s.off and everything worked fine..thanks much.
Thanks for the advice... This solution really works and makes the error message disappear.
need_support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2006, 22:34   #20
Town_Girl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: At the end of the rainbow
Posts: 22
I have a hard time accept that I need to go through all of this
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;810422

for the sake of a WinAmp problem.

Thank gawd this works

Quote:
Originally posted by Rellik
Ok, I just removed pmp_p4s.dll and the error went away.
I'd burn winamp in hell before I'd go thro all that "MS Support Help"

besides, there's always the old version to go back
Town_Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2006, 22:47   #21
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
[see post below]

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 06:52   #22
steps39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Will can you explain what this file is for? It does not appear to work if I put this file into the plugins dir and rename the pmp_p4s.dll correctly, I still get the same error.

Was it supposed to be an .exe file? Is it supposed to replace the .dll. I did try renaming it to .dll and got the same error but I had to cancel the error 3 or 4 times.

If it is left as an .exe file with the old .dll renamed something else there is no error but I am unable to test if this is doing what it is supposed to.
steps39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 10:05   #23
Town_Girl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: At the end of the rainbow
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by will
Download and copy to c:\program files\winamp\plugins\
and tell me if you still get the error
I copied it in, opened WinAmp... no error






Quote:
Originally posted by steps39
and rename the pmp_p4s.dll correctly, I still get the same error.
I did try renaming it to .dll
I don't think you were supposed to rename it, it is .dll already
Town_Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 10:38   #24
Town_Girl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: At the end of the rainbow
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by steps39
[B]Will can you explain what this file is for? It does not appear to work if I put this file into the plugins dir and rename the pmp_p4s.dll correctly, I still get the same error.

No error until I closed it and now get that black & red script error message so I deleted that .dll again.
Town_Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 15:37   #25
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@Town_Girl

Could you possibly tell us the details of the red & black Script Failure error?

Guru Meditation: ? | Script: ?

Please also include Windows OS (incl. Service Pack) and Windows Media Player version in your reply.



@steps39

pmp_p4s.dll is the plugin which provides support for Plays For Sure compatible Portable Media Players
http://www.playsforsure.com/
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...e/default.aspx

pmp_p4s.dll, pmp_ipod.dll (support for iPods) and pmp_njb (support for Creative Nomad Jukebox, and other Creative MP3 Players) will only load as long as ml_pmp.dll is present.

ml_pmp.dll is the actual Portable Media Player support module.

When ml_pmp.dll is present, you will see the following:
1. Media Library > Left pane (root notes) > Portables
2. Winamp > Prefs > Portables

The Prefs page will also list the pmp_*.dll plugins present.

The instructions for testing the new pmp_p4s.dll are to simply download it and place it in the Winamp\Plugins folder
(again, note that ml_pmp.dll must be present for pmp_p4s.dll to load and be recognized).

Then reopen Winamp, and let us know if you still get the DRMClien error
or if any other error messages occur when only pmp_p4s.dll is present and (as explained in my directions to Town_Girl above) we also need to know the details of any new error messages, plus Windows OS and Windows Media Player version.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 17:07   #26
steps39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

The instructions for testing the new pmp_p4s.dll are to simply download it and place it in the Winamp\Plugins folder
(again, note that ml_pmp.dll must be present for pmp_p4s.dll to load and be recognized).

[/B]
Thanks DJ Egg for the reply that helps with the overall understanding, however the fix instructions simply do not make sense.

The amended file the link points to is a pmp_p4s.exe file not a new pmp_p4s.dll ??
steps39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 20:47   #27
Town_Girl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: At the end of the rainbow
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
[B]@Town_Girl

Could you possibly tell us the details of the red & black Script Failure error?
Well it's gone now because I deleted the .dll however there was a thread on it here a long time ago (dif. ver. of winamp) because others were getting the black box script error with red text on it. I think (at the time) it has something to do with the use of certain skins.

I don't use any skins though but I was getting the script error.


"Please also include Windows OS (incl. Service Pack) and Windows Media Player version in your reply."

XP Service Pack 2. WMP ver. 10
Town_Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 21:31   #28
steps39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by steps39
Thanks DJ Egg for the reply that helps with the overall understanding, however the fix instructions simply do not make sense.

The amended file the link points to is a pmp_p4s.exe file not a new pmp_p4s.dll ??
OK my apologies I have now sorted the confusion with the .exe. It is a problem with the Opera browser which for some reason is reading the extension incorrectly and changing the downloaded file name!! Very strange behaviour.

I have downloaded the file with Firefox and put the correct dll in the pluggins dir replacing the original.

However I now get the same error but have to cancel it 4 times instead of the one time with the original dll.

I am running XP SP2 with WMP 10

Thanks
steps39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 22:17   #29
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
steps39
Can you please confirm that you don't get the error message
when there's no pmp_p4s.dll in the Winamp\Plugins dir.

If it's still the new pmp_p4s.dll causing the error,
then it's strange how the DRMClien error message didn't occur for Town_Girl with the new pmp_p4s.dll,
but did for you.

Hmm...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 22:26   #30
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
I think I know what was causing it to open multiple times.
Here is newer version which will hopefully fix it once and for all.

http://stashbox.org/uploads/1141255496/pmp_p4s.dll

Download and copy to c:\program files\winamp\plugins\

thanks.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 23:53   #31
Town_Girl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: At the end of the rainbow
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by will
I think I know what was causing it to open multiple times.
Here is newer version which will hopefully fix it once and for all.

http://stashbox.org/uploads/1141255496/pmp_p4s.dll

Download and copy to c:\program files\winamp\plugins\

thanks.
Seems to have worked for me .. no script error when closing either
Town_Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2006, 07:03   #32
steps39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Right I think this problem is finally resolved for me.

Just to answer all the questions:

I was not happy with the behaviour so I uninstalled and then reinstalled Winamp.

I tried the first suggested file and still got errors which went away when I renamed the file.

I then downloaded the newer pmp_p4s and that appears to have cured all probs.

Thanks very much for all the help
steps39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2006, 13:31   #33
stew
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by Town_Girl
Seems to have worked for me .. no script error when closing either
Thanks for the information, this fault was after installing the latest version of winamp!
stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2006, 16:22   #34
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
That's probably because 5.2 is the first version to come with pmp_p4s.dll, heh.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2006, 17:00   #35
fisher819
Senior Member
 
fisher819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to fisher819
finally, it worked, no more annoying message.

help us count :Click here
fisher819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2006, 11:09   #36
Boeing_737
Junior Member
 
Boeing_737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
I'm very glad I finally made it to this topic. All my sorrows are over...(Well, that's with Winamp, tho.)
Boeing_737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2006, 02:48   #37
Town_Girl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: At the end of the rainbow
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by Town_Girl
Seems to have worked for me .. no script error when closing either
I should have come back to mention that I did continue to get the script error... how do I get rid of that?

Tx
Town_Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2006, 04:04   #38
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
So the script error only occurs on Winamp exit with the default Winamp Modern skin,
and only if pmp_p4s.dll is present?

What's the exact wording of the (guru meditation?) script error?
(a screenshot will do, as long as it's large/clear enough to read).

Please also confirm a clean install of 5.21 with no 3rd-party plugins.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2006, 04:45   #39
Town_Girl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: At the end of the rainbow
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
So the script error only occurs on Winamp exit with the default Winamp Modern skin,
and only if pmp_p4s.dll is present?
Yes it only happend upon exit, with pmp_p4s.dll in place & in modern skin.



Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

What's the exact wording of the (guru meditation?) script error?
(a screenshot will do, as long as it's large/clear enough to read).
It's black with red letters and I tried to take a snapshot of it but couldn't.

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

Please also confirm a clean install of 5.21 with no 3rd-party plugins.
I have no plug ins.

Not a clean install.

I have deleted the pmp_p4s.dll and there's not problems now.
Town_Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2006, 12:53   #40
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
We'll need to know the exact wording of the script error, because:
1) We can't reproduce it
2) We can't fix it unless we know what the error is.

Maybe you could write it down and then post it here?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump