Old 28th February 2006, 23:28   #1
Pop2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Online Sevices cause runtime errors

Well hello there.

First, the data:
Dell Inspirion 4550 mobo
P4 2.8G & 256mb PC3200
Audigy2
Ati R9550
WinXP Home sp2
DX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
Winamp 5.2 full

System is clean, no unnecessary process running, no spy- or malware, no virus/trjoan aso., no DX issues (McAfee Enterprise 7.1, Sygate Personal Firewall, AdAware, Spybot S&D, checked with Hijackthis (yes, I know how to deal with that data).


Problem:
Since I've updated to 5.2, I get exceptions when clicking on any of the online services in Winamp (Winamp does not crash though).
E.g. when clicking on "Shoutcast Radio" I get error popups saying (translated from german):

----------------------------------------
There's been a runtime error.
Do you wish to start the debugmode?

Line: 464
Error: Automationserver can't create object.
--------------------------------------------

It happens on ALL online services. The only thing what changes is the "line" number, it is for:
AOL XM: 159
AOL Videos: 280
Shoutcast Radio: 464 and 722
Shoutcast TV: 333
Winamp Music: 243 and 123
Singing Fish: 113 (note: error appears only after starting a search)

As this might have something to do with the shoutcast servers: I'm connecting from Switzerland.

Still, playback of streams works (using bookmarks or links from the stations websites) and as I said, Winamp doesn't crash.

I've updated first, then made a fresh, clean installation, the result remained the same.

Hope this helps you fix this, thank you and good luck! ;)
Pop2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2006, 23:57   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hmm... possibly related to having too High internet security settings..?

(eg. Javascript and/or ActiveX disabled for the Internet Zone)

Can you try adding *.winamp.com and *.shoutcast.com to the Trusted Sites zone

(Control Panel > Internet Options > Security tab)

and let us know if the problem persists?

(you may need to uncheck "require server verification (https)" first)


Note: You may also need to add *.aolcdn.com as well, though I'm not entirely sure about that (ie. one of the javascripts is hosted on the aolcdn server).


Also note that if you don't have any other sites in the Trusted Zone, then you can reset the Trusted Zone to medium-high (or even medium) level, instead of Low, and you still won't get any script errors when loading the Online Services views. The script errors will only occur when the Internet Zone is set to High security level, because that's the equivalent of putting winamp.com & shoutcast.com in the Restricted Sites zone.

_____________________________________________________


Update / Addendum

It would seem that the most common cause of this problem is if ar.atwola.com is blocked at the hosts file level or by a script/ad blocker.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 00:35   #3
Pop2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Wow, that seems to have solved it, thank you!

Still, it's not like I understand how the IE security settings prevented the Winamp browser from accessing the winamp online services...? After all, winamp.com was (obviously) accessible through my browser.

I mean, I didn't have those sites actively blocked anywhere and IE is still in virgin installation mode as I've been using Firefox ever since this installation of WinXP is running and I'm not using the WinXP firewall (s I've been using the Sygate FW ever since.

Is Winamp 5.2 actualy (ab)using IE in the background for it's online services browser? Makes me kinda nervous...
Pop2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2006, 18:49   #4
magil92
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Script error fix

Much thanks to DJ Egg. Adding winamp and shoutcast to my trusted sites worked!
magil92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 16:15   #5
ualvvvv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to ualvvvv
hello,
runtime error due to a corrupt regsitrym you can do a registry scan here
http://www.make-pc-faster.com/
ualvvvv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 13:28   #6
nefelh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Hi. I've been using shoutcast radio for quite a long time and never had any issues. I upgraded my winamp (free version) to 5.572 version and since then I cannot have access shoutcast radio. there's a message saying :

Line: 372
Error: 'window.external.OnMedia.Config' is zero or is not an object.

I tried every solution suugested below with no results. I keep installing - unistalling and nothing changes. What the hell has happened ? Shoutcast radio used to be so much fun! Can anybody help me please ????
nefelh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump