Old 23rd March 2006, 23:16   #1
undomiel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Crashing when switching stations

I'm having an issue where I can start a shoutcast stream from within winamp and it will play just fine I can listen to it all day if I wanted to, but when I try to switch to a different station winamp will crash. I have done a clean install and tried it without modifying any of the default settings. It crashed on the first stream I tried but after trying again it has been exhibiting the usual play->switch->crash behaviour as detailed above. No 3rd party plug-ins are installed and I made sure of this by wiping the winamp directory. The stream continues playing interestingly enough until I close the error message then all of winamp closes.

My specs are:

ABit BX-133 Raid
P3-933
768 MB ram
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz soundcard 4.193 drivers
Elsa GLADIAC nVidia GeForce 2 GTS 71.89 drivers (last official ones that supported the GTS)
Windows XP SP2
DirectX 9.0c
Winamp version 5.21 Full install with video file support not installed

Error message:
AppName: winamp.exe AppVer: 5.2.1.497 ModName: unknown
ModVer: 0.0.0.0 Offset: 00000000

HiJack This log file attached
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (5.9 KB, 1214 views)
undomiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2006, 00:45   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Try disabling the Station Info browser popup thing...
Winamp > Prefs > Station Info:
Uncheck: automatically show info on station tune-in

Maybe your Ad Muncher is trying to block it in some way or other?
(Station Info uses an embedded Internet Explorer page)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2006, 00:59   #3
undomiel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Yeah it seems it was Ad Muncher that was interfering with it so I made sure to add winamp to the do not filter list. I went through trying a number of random stations with it disabled and it didn't crash, after re-enabling filtering it crashed after 2 stations switches. It didn't matter though whether I enabled or disabled the station info pop-up. Thanks for the help, I should've tried that earlier!
undomiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2006, 12:00   #4
Loc2262
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Hello,

I can confirm this behaviour!

I'm also using AdMuncher, and when it is activated it will cause Winamp to crash after 1-2 channel switches, no matter if the Station Info window is active or not.

Adding Winamp to the "do not filter those applications" list fixes the problem.

AdMuncher manipulates all HTTP transfers, and obviously Winamp doesn't like that when streaming sound from a radio station. BTW, Winamp 2 did not have this "problem" (if you wish to call it that) yet.
Loc2262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 17:13   #5
whitkim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
I'm also having this problem but I'm using McAfee for my computer and I don't understand what you di with AdMuncher to fix the problem. If anyone knows what I have to do using McAfee let me know. I have already tried disabling the privacy service or whatever and it still crashes so if anyone can tell me what I have to add or delete through this program please help!
whitkim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 18:12   #6
Loc2262
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
In AdMuncher I just had to add Winamp to the list of programs that are excluded from ad filtering. You do that this way:

* open Configuration dialog
* go to tab "Options"
* go to subtab "Filter Targets"
* set the "Filter targets" dropdown box to "My filter targets"
* put "-winamp:*" (minus the quotes) in the list
Loc2262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 19:45   #7
whitkim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
is admucher your virus scanner? because the only thing that I found relative to that filter thing was block pop ups and ad for my internet explorer, this is really starting to piss me off that nothing I do it working for me
whitkim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 22:09   #8
Loc2262
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Nope, AdMuncher is not a virus scanner but an advertisement filter (blocks ad graphics, animations, popups and so on) for all web browsers. It operates on a quite low level, not as a proxy but it filters all communication on port 80. Winamp 5 obviously doesn't like that (Winamp 2 had no such problem btw), so I had to add an exclusion rule.
Loc2262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2006, 18:46   #9
whitkim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
ok but i don't have that so it should be affecting me like it is...
whitkim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 18:55   #10
WH1981
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Crashing when switching stations

I dont use admuncher but still suffer from this problem. I can open up a channel/station first time (either radio or tv) but as soon as i choose another channel/station winamp closes with no sign of an error message.

Please help as this is really getting on my nerves, I have added the appropriate info plus zipped txt files.

PC: Compaq Presario R4000 Laptop
CPU: AMD XP64 3200+ (@ 2.0 GHZ)
Memory: 2GB ram
Audio: Conexant AC-Link Digital Audio
Video: ATI Radeon Xpress 200M 128MB
O/S: Windows XP SP2
DirectX: 9.0c
Winamp version: 5.33 Bundle
Internet Connection: Cable Broadband 2-4 Mb
Browser: Internet Explorer 7
Firewall: Zone Alarm Security Suite (Also for anti-virus)
CD/DVD Drive: LG HL-DT-ST DVD RW GCA-4080N

Error Message/s: None, just closes
Attached Files
File Type: zip hjt, dxdiag & plugin txt files.zip (18.0 KB, 807 views)
WH1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 20:07   #11
WH1981
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
after messing around with my firewall settings for winamp.exe and winampa.exe (set the trust level to its highest setting) i tried running winamp again and this time when choosing another channel/station I got an xp error message which included the gen_faceboxen.dll

After hunting down this dll, I discovered that it was a plugin for the facebox website, once I uninstalled the plugin I can now say all is well... for now
WH1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2007, 01:35   #12
KittenRoxi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
I am having a very similiar issue. However, what is happening is I can't play any radio on my Winamp. Every time I try to, it closes as soon as I hit open for playing the URL. I'm running on 5.35 for Winamp and I don't have AdMuncher on my computer. I tried to make it as something that was excluded on my Avast but that didn't help. I'm at a loss now. I run both Avast and ZoneAlarm for anti-virus and ZoneAlarm is my firewall. My OS is Windows XP with SP2. Help!!!
KittenRoxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 11:00   #13
FaeGiN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 40
I have had this happen to me in every release of winamp for as long as I remember but I think just version 5 onwards..
If I select the streams from medialibrary...like, the AOL section or the Video On Demand stuff, I can browse through until it gets to where you see the pictures for each show and you can click to play them, I click them, it starts to play (I see the small dialogue popup showing connection) and then winamp disappears, closes. No error message nothing!
I have tried all sorts of things to try and fix this but nothing will work!
It also happens with all of the AOL radio streams! It doesn't happen with the shoutcast part of the program. Shoutcast TV and Radio work fine but I think I am right in saying, EVERYTHING else in the online stream section of medialibrary causes this instant closedown of winamp.
I have seen quite a few mentions of this over the years and yet it has never been solved. Why is it that I have had it happen with various versions and even after a reinstall of windows??
Can anyone shed any light on this?

Fae
FaeGiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 11:16   #14
FaeGiN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 40
Hmm it seems it is the AudioScrobbler plugin that causes this as someone said in another thread. I disabled it and now I am watching any streaming video or radio that I want to..even the AOL ones.
I must submit this as a bug to winamp or livefm..hmm
So there is the solution. Go into your plugins, via preferences, then go to medialibrary, then look for AudioScrobbler, then configure, then untick the box that says ENABLE. Then restart winamp and go try a stream now.
If it still does the same thing then you need to go into C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins and look for the following file (Make sure winamp is not running!)
locate - ml_audioscrobbler.dll and rename it to ml_audioscrobbler.dll.old
That way you still keep it for future use if you want it. You might be able to still 'scrobble' your music to livefm by using their more recent scrobbler software. (I just preferred the older one as it is less intrusive).
I could easily make a small batch script that, if you were going to play video on your winamp, you would have this file as an icon on desktop called Winamp Videoplay , you would simply click it then winamp would start, with audioscrobbler disabled for that winamp session. Then when you run winamp to play music later you'd have to click another winamp icon (this would replace the usual one) and it would start winamp with audioscrobbler enabled again.
If anyone wants that workaround let me know and I'll send you it with instructions.

Fae
FaeGiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2007, 17:08   #15
KittenRoxi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Okay, I have downloaded the newest Winamp. The 10th Anniversary edition one. I'm not finding the ml_audioscrobbler.dll file that you are talking about. Can anyone help me. I'm still having problems with playing internet radio on Winamp. There is one station in particular that only plays on Winamp. If I could get it to play on something else I wouldn't care so much. My fiance is having problems with it freezing on him since he downloaded the Anniversary edition. HELP US, PLEASE!
KittenRoxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2007, 18:49   #16
FaeGiN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by KittenRoxi
I'm not finding the ml_audioscrobbler.dll file that you are talking about.
...There is one station in particular that only plays on Winamp.
OK, two things to try and help you here...sorry for the long delay, I've had lots of Pc problems and had top pretty much do a new build!
firstly, if you do not have that particular dll file then that's OK it just means you haven't used the last fm plugin. It was this that caused problems for me but we can still go through a process of elimination to find what's causing your problems.
Can you give me the address of the radio station that ONLY winamp will play?
Also, what is your problem exactly, what I mean is, do you want winamp to play all radio stations you choose - and it won't do that just now?
Just give a bit more info to go on please
That's all for now.
Let me know and I will try to help OK.

Fae
FaeGiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump