Old 30th October 2006, 05:43   #1
Griking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Runtime Errors on "Now Playing"

Whenever I play a song and WinAmp attempts to look up the name of the song that I'm playing I get two quick runtime error that say;

Error
A Runtime Error Has Occured
Do You Wish To Debug

Line 1
Error: Syntax Error

Yes / No

The other error (which happens as the exact same time) is;

Error
A Runtime Error Has Occured
Do You Wish To Debug

Line 191
Error: Object Expected

Yes / No


Half of the time after this error occurs Winamp DOES actually load the name of the song and it plays normally. The other half Winamp plays the song but the player is unresponsive and forces me to end task.

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling Winamp (v5.31) but it hasn't resolved the problem. Again, the only type this problem seems to occur is when Winamp trys to look up the song that I'm playing.

I don't know if it's related or not but I installed iTunes a week or so ago. I ended up not really caring for the feel of it and uninstalled it soon afterwards. The Winamp problems seem to have started after this. Again, I don't know if this is related or not but I figured I'd mention it.
Griking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2006, 11:12   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Probably the same/similar reasons as this case:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=258559

ie. Internet Explorer settings too high (Now Playing is just an embedded IE window).

One way to circumvent the problem would be to add the sites listed in my first post in that thread to the Trusted Zone.

Also make sure that both "disable script debugging" (IE & other) options are checkmarked, and "Display a notification about every script error" is unchecked in: Control Panel > Internet Options > Advanced tab.

You might also wish to consider disabling the MS Machine Debug Manager (mdm.exe) if it's running... via: Control Panel > Admin Tools > Services.

If the problem persists, please read this first
(HijackThis and my_plugins_list.txt logs might help)

_____________________________________________________


Update:

It would seem that the most common cause of this problem is if ar.atwola.com is blocked at the hosts file level or by a script/ad blocker.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2007, 21:45   #3
Blue.Knight.28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Now playing: 2 errors "Global Artist undefined" then crash

I have a very similar behaviour to the one described above
I have Winamp 5.5 beta, no plugins installed except the ones out of the box (just installed the winamp release, nothing else).

My XP is clean, perfectly updated, no iTunes, script blocker or stuff never installed, since my old computer broke and I have bought a new one and freshly installed XP.

Winamp is the 4th thing I installed after XP updates, Office 2003, adobe reader, nothing else on it.

I still have IE 6 but updated to the newest standard.

Reading though 100times crossreferenced threads i have
+ entered all sites (but honestly why should I under normal circumstances add an Ad-Server providing me with porn and even worse as a trusted site?, but o.k.)
+ lowered my IE security to lowest
+ diabled IE pop-up blocker
+ Windows firewall disabled.
- I have not disabled the scipting error things, why should I. I will have to see these errors or I cant use Winamp. A normal user would not be able or be willing to do that.

Nothing changes I still have the 2 error messages "Global Artist undefinded" and then it crashed, if I try to change to a different view (no matter what view) in Media Library.

I would highly apprecitate if winamp just could fix that error instead of trying to implement several unusable workarounds.

Somebody has a solution that works ?(please dont refer to another confusing thread that again refers to one that again refers to one that has then nothing to do with my problem, thanks).

Best regards
Blue.Knight.28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2007, 22:14   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=280560
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007, 19:47   #5
Blue.Knight.28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Trying 5.51 the bug is still not fixed.
Does anyone know a work-around (except for not using it?).

I've been patient now, but after using winamp since mp2 times i now take into account switching to another.
Blue.Knight.28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump