Old 4th December 2006, 19:30   #1
wasteoftime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 75
Can't burn CDs with 5.32

Finally, after over a week, I was able to register(I was registered before, but the boards did not accept my info). Thus, the new username.
Coming to business, I downloaded, and installed v.5.32 of Winamp Pro. I had v.5.24 which was working fine, as all previous versions had. Burning CDs with v.5.32 yield tracks of 3-19 sec in length. I tried to reinstall 5.32, different CDs, and different playlists to no avail. The same playlists, all mp3, burned fine in iTunes or Real Player.
I contacted support@winamp.com at least three time in the past week, and did not even receive confirmation.
I am back with v.5.24, but what's going on? I know that I am not the only one with problems burning. And, why one version works, and the other one doesn't? I am using WinXP, and I used the link for people owning Winamp Pro. Installation went smoothly, and other features seem to work.
wasteoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 18:59   #2
wasteoftime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 75
Can't burn CDs with 5.32

So, ten days, and no input from support@winamp.com.
May be a different download will help, but I think that my username tells all. In the meantime, I found out that a friend of mine who I recommended Winamp to, has gotten no help either, so Winamp was removed. At least, I can operate with v.5.24.
Please, if anyone has the same conditions as mine, i.e. Winamp Pro, upgraded from 5.24, and winXP, and no problem burning CDs, please post.
wasteoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2006, 20:30   #3
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,375
Unfortunately because of the limited staff at Nullsoft the support E-mail has never really worked out too well. Which is why the Tech Support forums exists.

If anyone is to help (here at the forums), please provide system & Winamp specs.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 19:49   #4
wasteoftime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 75
Re: Can't burn CDs with 5.32

Quote:
Originally posted by wasteoftime
So, ten days, and no input from support@winamp.com.
May be a different download will help, but I think that my username tells all. In the meantime, I found out that a friend of mine who I recommended Winamp to, has gotten no help either, so Winamp was removed. At least, I can operate with v.5.24.
Please, if anyone has the same conditions as mine, i.e. Winamp Pro, upgraded from 5.24, and winXP, and no problem burning CDs, please post.
wasteoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 19:58   #5
wasteoftime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 75
Sorry for the wrong quote. This is a reply to JohnnyMac. I understand that one has to go according to certain rule, but too much is too much. I have an emachineT2885, 512MB,winxp sp2. Otherwise, I think that I gave enough information. Unless there is some drastic difference between 5.32 and 5.24.
I have 5.24Pro installed, and it burns CDs, however 5.32Pro does not. I can go back and forth, and confirm this behavior.
I wasted four CD-Rs in the process.
I don't even know where to hunt for all the requested info, and I will still to what I have, although I may try another download of 5.32Pro, and possibly waste another CD-R, and more time.
I will bite the bullet, otherwise. I, just don't the time to waste. My6 other players burn fine, as 5.24 was.
I will let you know what happens.
wasteoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 21:35   #6
Rocker
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,906
the sonic engine was updated, maybe they broke support for your cd burner.

what cd burner do you have? make and model and firmware version if you know how to do this.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2006, 00:12   #7
wasteoftime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 75
I think I got the info from Right click|properties. Lite-on ltr-48327S in the hardware tab. I noticed one thing which should not matter, as Winamp5.24, Real Player and iTunes burn CDs with no difficulty. In the Desktop CD recording, the "enable CD recording is unchecked.
My friend who gave up on Winamp mentioned something about Sonic being, possibly, the culprit. If this is the case, I hope that they will be alerted. I can do ok with my present version, but would never recommend Winamp to anyone if chances are that the burning would not work.
Regardless of the reason, I appreciate your input.
wasteoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2006, 19:07   #8
wasteoftime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 75
Well, I lost all my playlists, beside being unable to burn CDs.
I have gone back to 5.24, where I can burn CDs, have all my bookmarks, but still no playlist. It could be worse.
wasteoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 20:48   #9
wasteoftime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 75
I, just, updated to 5.33. I did a "burn" in Test Mode, and the results were, pretty much the same, although I got some track burnt as much a 1'13".
I noticed something which I had not noticed before. At least, in Test mode, the CD burner locks up. I can use other features of Winamp, but the CD burner will not open unless I reboot the computer. Now, mind this, it started happening with Winamp5.32, and, is carried on to v.5.33. All orher burners are fine, so it is not a drive problem.
wasteoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 14:00   #10
roger.dodgerr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to roger.dodgerr
I have the same problem since upgrading to 5.33,cannot burn cd's at all.Winamp crashes while preparing the tracks("Winamp has encountered a problem and needs to close"). This worked fine on 5.32..,, Thanks
roger.dodgerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 19:18   #11
sensi0asis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5
i'm having the same problems too. my burn process won't begin. it asks me if i want to burn and i hit burn. and then nothing. not even a crash. it just ignores me. i have winamp 5.33 and my comp is emachine with vista. i thought at 1st that it was a vista problem but others are having problems while using xp. i just actually bought winamp. i didn't download some crack or anything. i've been using this program for years and years and finally decided to "donate" to the cause. if it weren't for AVS i'd probably use something else.
sensi0asis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2007, 02:55   #12
sensi0asis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5
okay so i uninstalled and deleted winamp 5.33 and downloaded 5.24 and my cd's burn. now i gotta check the AVS problems. bbl to let ya'll know.
sensi0asis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 02:08   #13
Bamahusker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 113
yeah

well i don't get anything like that but i know there are no "add file" or "burn" buttons are gone and i don't know what that's all about.
Bamahusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 03:08   #14
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,076
@ bamahausker - Did you disable 'Sonic' under File Types in the installer ?
Can you check you have the file 'primosdk.dll' in your main Winamp folder.
Does your burner have a blank CD inserted.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 03:13   #15
Bamahusker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 113
ujay

yeah i had errors coming up when i went to 5.33 but i saw in a previous post someone said tyo uninstall or reinstall and disable Sonic so i did. the "primosdk.dll i don;t see in here. do i have to look for it under a certain folder? is there a way to put it in?
Bamahusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 03:21   #16
Bamahusker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 113
i did a search on my PC and that primosdk.dll did come up. actually it came up 4 times. Divx,Kodak, and 2 under musicmatch.
Bamahusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 03:24   #17
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,076
'Sonic' is required for burning.

Probably best if you do a clean uninstall/reinstall without disabling Sonic (most, if not all, of the old Sonic problems are fixed now). It may be worth doing a reboot at this point.

Make sure the drive is empty or has a blank CD and you should be fine.

[edit] Just seen your additional post, maybe there's a conflict. Try the above first.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 03:27   #18
Bamahusker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 113
well

as i told you earlier,when i installed with sonic enabled,it gave me some kind of error when i opened winamp. apparently it was the fault of sonic because they told me to uninstall and reinstall disabling sonic and it'd go away. so how do i fix that then if it comes back?
Bamahusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 16:00   #19
Bamahusker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 113
still nothing?

whether i include sonic or not there are no add file or burn button at the bottom and if i include sonic in install,the following error comes up:

The ordinal 2251 could not be located in the dynamic link library PX.dll"

So i don't know what to do.
Bamahusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 17:59   #20
wasteoftime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 75
Since my last post, I upgraded to 5.33, and, then 5.34. I have done everything possible, and don't get any error, just lousy burns (yesterday with 5.34, I recorded a record 44 sec of one track. Otherwise, 3-4 sec are the rule.
Since, there seem to be no solution, I downgraded with 5.24, and CDs burn fine.
wasteoftime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 18:07   #21
Bamahusker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 113
this post is 2 months old

why am i just now getting a post? problems been fixed anyway.
Bamahusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2007, 18:23   #22
djinks
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
I'm using 5.35 and can't get a complete burn. Winamp stops before burn completion with a write error. I know the burner is fine with Nero 6.3, so I assume it is the software. I'm burning Flac files though, so the conversion process may be part of the problem. My workaround is to convert them to wav and then burn with Nero.
djinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump