Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd February 2007, 11:58   #1
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
Very BAD Memory management when load or play aac files!!!! Help me???

Very BAD Memory management when load or play aac files!!!! Help me??? My music whole in this format!!! and I do not know as I shall play and listen music)
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2007, 12:05   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i'm sorry but the only real response i can think off to your post is 'what??'

it makes no sense and if it is a bug report then you're not specifying any of the information so that people could even try to help you

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 02:16   #3
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
ok, when i play or add files to play list or media library my page file usage is grow! very grow! 100mb-900mb-2.1gb after winamp give error...

AppName: winamp.exe AppVer: 5.3.3.1100 ModName: nde.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0 Offset: 0000c8a7

and this file in temp folder. I can't add whole music. I don't know what me do????Help me??? (execuse my bad english i'am russian)
Attached Files
File Type: txt 7219_appcompat.txt (44.3 KB, 507 views)
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 02:33   #4
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
i think a problem in in_mp3.dll becouse when i select in options read titles only when i play then no problems but the playlist has no any tags. After when i play any file my page file is grow on 1mb after 2mb more and more....this is a bug!
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 02:38   #5
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
i have this problem on clean install in any computers!! Help me?????
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 10:50   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
The crash log shows that you've got a fair few 3rd-party plugins installed.

You'll need to remove all 3rd-party plugins first.

dsp_DeFX.dll
dsp_dfx.dll
dsp_enh.dll
DSP_MFX2.DLL
dsp_mfx2_fusion.dll
dsp_mfx2_levesque.dll
gen_one_click.dll
gen_timerestore.dll
gen_wall.dll <--!


If the problem persists after a proper clean install,
then are you saying that it only occurs when the .aac files have no id3 tags?

What is your Advanced Title Formatting string set to in: Winamp > Prefs > Titles?


In the meantime, I'm going to rip a bunch of CDs to AAC, remove all tags, and see if I can reproduce the problem.

By the way, are they LC-AAC or HE-AAC (aacPlus) files?
Did you rip them with Winamp, or with some other program?

Can you upload a sample file to sendspace.com and post a link here?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 11:34   #7
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
Hi DJ Egg!
i repeating i have this problem on clean install in any computers. This is HE-AAC (aacPlus) files which i coding by Winamp transcoding.

Advanced Title Formatting string set to in: Winamp > Prefs > Titles?
[%artist% - ]$if2(%title%,$filepart(%filename%))

this is default setting...but I have adjusted that id3 tags were read from files at loading.

you can check this bug if 100 files has coded in aac format (by winamp transcoder) and add them to playlist. You will see page file usage. He will increase very well :-)
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 11:48   #8
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
i remove all tag in my 100 files (which in HE-AAC (aacPlus)) but the problem remained
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 13:12   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
I just transcoded 100 mp3 files to he-aac (64k parametric stereo)
dragged them all into my winamp playlist
and didn't have any problems whatsoever.

All .aac files retained the id3v1/v2 tags from the original mp3's.

All filenames and tags were with English or Latin-based characters
(if yours are in Russian or some other Unicode characters, then you will need to post a link to at least one sample file - which we can then make multiple copies of).

I always have 'Read metadata when files are loaded' checkmarked in Prefs > Titles.


Sure, Vm size for Winamp grew a bit, but only to about 200mb
and PF Usage grew by about 100mb

On closing Winamp, PF and Total VM sizes went back to how they were before, infact the values were even less - so there's no reproducable memory leak there.


So basically, I can't reproduce the problem. Anyone else?


A crash in nde.dll suggests a problem with your media library database...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 14:24   #10
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
on my computer hard drive more then 9000 files in aac format. when i search his by winamp library my page file grow very big...and whole music do not add in library...becouse winamp return crash in nde.dll when size page file is 2gb. As i can add WHOLE music???
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 19:46   #11
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Try removing all songs from your media library, and then re-adding everything. Sounds like something is wrong with your media library.
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 01:33   #12
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
all right Benski!! I so and has done. But problem remained. I repeating i have this problem on CLEAN install winamp in many computers (3) with different operating systems(windows 2000 professional sp4, windowsXP professional sp2)!!if I this has not done then i did not write You
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 01:52   #13
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
all my media is correct! because you can check this bug if 1 file (right file! in MPEG-4 HE-AAC (64kbit)) copy 1000 once. And add this files to playlist or medialibrary. You will see page file usage. He will increase in much megabytes. On my computer 9000 files and what me do????
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 03:24   #14
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
I can repro this.

http://www.ujay.homechoice.co.uk/SP3...225-040537.png

Files are AAC-HE 64Kb stereo, no tags.

About 4600 files, heavily nested.

Any limit on pathnames, recursion depth ?

UJ
Attached Files
File Type: zip hjthis_plugin_list.zip (2.0 KB, 459 views)
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 03:59   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Doh! So the files need to have no tags to reproduce the bug?

I asked this earlier on, but didn't get a proper answer,
and now I've deleted all those .aac files, heh.


Okay, I'm gonna use a batch file to copy 1 aac file with no tags 100 times, and see what happens.


In the meantime, can you confirm whether the problem still occurs if the following options are unchecked/changed:

Prefs > Media Library > Local Media

Options tab
Use Library title information for Playlist Item Formatting

Watch Folders tab
Configure button: Select 'no guessing'
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 05:03   #16
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
I've taken a closer look, tags are set but empty, if that matters. See attached.
'Use Library title information for Playlist Item Formatting' was checked, 'no guessing' was not.

Same error/offset with other settings.

UJ
Attached Files
File Type: zip sp32-20070225-052958.zip (57.3 KB, 477 views)
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 05:03   #17
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by ujay
I can repro this.

http://www.ujay.homechoice.co.uk/SP3...225-040537.png

Files are AAC-HE 64Kb stereo, no tags.

About 4600 files, heavily nested.

Any limit on pathnames, recursion depth ?

UJ
What's the full file name?
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 05:09   #18
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Hmm, no. Still can't reproduce it.

In addition to answering the questions in my previous post...

Please provide us with a sample path/folder structure and filename for the .aac files which cause the problem.

Does it also happen with mp3 files (untagged, same path/filename)?

Also providing a link to a sample file might help (upload to sendspace.com, post link here).


[edit]

okay, new posts from ujay and benski whilst I was typing this reply...

Yup, we still need to know the filenames (at least one or two examples).

I could see cpu and pf increase, but nowhere near the kind of figures you're seeing...


Does it still happen with 'no guessing' checkmarked?
(you'll need to remove & reimport the .aac files from/to the library)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 05:40   #19
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by ujay
I've taken a closer look, tags are set but empty, if that matters. See attached.
'Use Library title information for Playlist Item Formatting' was checked, 'no guessing' was not.

Same error/offset with other settings.

UJ
ujay - can you try with latest 5.34 beta and send me the crash report, assuming it generates one?
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 05:55   #20
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Typical deep nested file :

N:\Music T-Z\aac test\New Folder (8)\New Folder (7)\New Folder (6)\New Folder (5)\New Folder (4)\New Folder (3)\New Folder (2)\New Folder\Rainbow River.aac

Full list of files attached.

Same error/offset with other settings. I've tried a few combinations with the same result.

Canceling the addition before the crash is successful, but doesn't release the memory of course.

Sample file :

http://www.ujay.homechoice.co.uk/Rainbow River.aac

[edit] I'll get on that shortly Benski

UJ
Attached Files
File Type: txt wht152.tmp.txt (2.4 KB, 434 views)
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 06:37   #21
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Same result in 5.34 b1111.

Realized too late I don't have an e-mail client on that machine, report.zip is attached.

[edit] No probs with mp3, same file/folder structure. Memory use just over 200MB

UJ
Attached Files
File Type: zip report.zip (27.5 KB, 444 views)

Last edited by ujay; 25th February 2007 at 07:38.
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 12:32   #22
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
Yeeees! Ujay rights! i see you report. And i repeat all tests which were discussed above, but problem remained. By itself I can not dispose of this. Hope in 5.34 versions this not will??)
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 13:12   #23
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
@ ujay

Please could you reattach, but this time also include _crash.dmp in the zip
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 13:47   #24
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Doesn't look like '_crash.dmp' was generated, just '_crash.log' and 'report.zip'.

I'll give it another go later and get back.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 14:14   #25
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Hmm, strange.

Maybe something in Prefs > Error Feedback?

Create Dump File should be checkmarked

Does it say whether c:\windows\system32\dbghelp.dll loaded ok under 'Dump File'?
If not, then you probably need a newer version of dbghelp.dll (v5.1.2600.2180 or newer)
Attached Images
File Type: png error_feedback.png (22.2 KB, 478 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 16:14   #26
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
My preference sheet is exactly as yours Egg.

I need to get out for a bit, so will take another look later

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2007, 00:25   #27
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Tried it again and no _crash.dmp again.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 13:22   #28
john@ROCKNTV1
Registered User
 
john@ROCKNTV1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: i have broken not a single rule and you deleted my sig craigF.. OK MY TURN CRAIGF and smelter thank for bumping bulks flame post
Posts: 641
egg,
I, think you had it futher up this post...ie:"load meta data when winamp playes files" instead of "read on load in pl...."
Read data on load can slow machine if a lot of file are added @ once,.... says so rightv on the ajustment in "prefs"

This is directly related to system resources availible on a given system.
john@ROCKNTV1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 13:42   #29
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,862
Yup, maybe so...

However, there was a memory leak when adding AAC files to the Playlist & Media Library (not sure if this was just he-aac, or also lc-aac, and we couldn't reproduce it on the same scale as reported above, but we did manage to reproduce something), and it's now been fixed for 5.34 :-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 16:06   #30
john@ROCKNTV1
Registered User
 
john@ROCKNTV1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: i have broken not a single rule and you deleted my sig craigF.. OK MY TURN CRAIGF and smelter thank for bumping bulks flame post
Posts: 641
HMMM NOW THAT YOU SAY THAT,

I somtimes preview active x pages useing the "heaac" ,on my server, which has no sound card ,it will @ services :AOLMEDIA PLAYBACK run itself out of memmory, this didnt happin with aacplus.
john@ROCKNTV1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2007, 02:12   #31
Master255
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Master255
DJ Egg
I am pleased to help you in finding this bug. My single amusement is winamp. Already as week he does not play. Now i wait for winamp 5.34 because i can't play my music on 5.33 (or older) version!!
Master255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump