Old 24th February 2007, 06:09   #1
NuSkooler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Vista (x64), Px.dll

First off, I know Windows Vista is not supported yet, but I'm hoping to get some response from knowledgeable users that may be able to help ;-) (Windows Vista IS released now however...!!)

Anyway, using the latest Winamp, when starting up I get a error about a missing Px.dll. I searched my box but could not find any matches (Googling found a post suggesting to copy it from your %win%\SysWOW64 -> %win%\system32).

Anyone know a fix for this?

Lastly, again, Windows Vista is released now -- I'd like to officially add my name to the list of people requesting Vista-ready Winamps
NuSkooler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 06:17   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,458
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
The Sonic stuff (Ripping and Burning engine) doesn't work on Vista 64-bit.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 06:25   #3
NuSkooler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
The Sonic stuff (Ripping and Burning engine) doesn't work on Vista 64-bit.
I'm not particularly interested in using Winamp as a ripping tool -- is there a way I can disable this preventing it from attempting to load the Px.dll/etc. ?
NuSkooler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 06:29   #4
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,458
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Reinstall, don;t select the Ripping/Burning stuff.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 06:41   #5
Rocker
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,906
same problem happens in all 64 bit versions of windows. ie windows 2003 and XP pro.

sonic don't make a 64bit driver yet. thats why it doesn't work yet.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 07:01   #6
NuSkooler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
Reinstall, don;t select the Ripping/Burning stuff.
Easy enough and worked like a charm. Thanks!
NuSkooler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 10:40   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,767
To get rid of the error without reinstalling, remove primosdk.dll from the Winamp root folder.
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2007, 18:24   #8
milkrock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks!

That's the most helpfull thing I've read yet on this forum for vista 64-bit users, thanks
milkrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2007, 11:54   #9
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
I wonder if there is a way for the WA NSIS installer to check if you are using a 64bit OS and warn/change install during installation.......

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump