Old 30th October 2007, 00:33   #1
heavymax666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CDN
Posts: 6
i got a error went i close winamp 5.5

winamp.exe - application Error

the message in windows xp application error the instruction at "0x61cd82f8" referenced memory at "0x05a90700". The memory could not be "read" in winamp55

i need help pls
reg.
heavymax666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2007, 08:45   #2
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Usually this type of error is caused by some third-party plugin.

System specs & my_plugins_list would be useful:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2007, 12:10   #3
heavymax666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CDN
Posts: 6
Winamp Technical Support

i siebe83 i just attach the file that you just ask me

if you need more info just ask me



reguars heavymax666
Attached Files
File Type: zip my_plugin_list.zip (1.8 KB, 939 views)

Last edited by heavymax666; 30th October 2007 at 12:28.
heavymax666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 08:08   #4
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Mmh, plugins list looks ok.

Have you tried a clean install?


Also get the in_mp3 update patch:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....=278538#update

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 09:57   #5
heavymax666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CDN
Posts: 6
yes Have you tried a clean install? - done
Also get the in_mp3 update patch - done

heavymax666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 16:00   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Do you have any Portable players/devices connected, and if yes then:

1) Are they being managed by Winamp?

2) Are any of them Plays4Sure devices?

If the answer to both is "no", then close Winamp,
go to the Winamp\Plugins folder
and disable pmp_p4s.dll

either by moving it to some backup folder elsewhere
or renaming it to eg. pmp_p4s.dll.off

Whilst you're in there, if you don't have any ActiveSync devices either (Windows Mobile, smartphone, etc), then do the same with pmp_activesync.dll

Restart Winamp

Does the problem persist?


If the answer to questions 1+2 is "yes", then please provide details.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 16:46   #7
heavymax666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CDN
Posts: 6
i got toshiba ppc using activesync ver 4.5 and i just did your recommendation and i still got the error probleme
heavymax666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 18:01   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hmmmm... so you still get that error even when both pmp_p4s.dll and pmp_activesysnc.dll aren't in the Winamp\Plugins folder?

Did you try disabling the other pmp plugins then? (pmp_ipod, pmp_usb, pmp_njb)?

If the error goes away, let us know which of the pmp plugins was causing it.

If the problem persists even after disabling all pmp plugins, including ml_pmp.dll (the pmp_*.dll plugin loader), then we'll take things from there.

The only other known case I've found was caused by some conflict with the Windows Media Decoder (in_wm.dll) and some Windows Media Player 11 module update/mod.

Though I've a sneaky feeling that maybe one of the new Gracenote/MusicId features might also be a possible cause (not sure about this yet).

If it's none of the pmp plugins or in_wm, move on to ml_plg (Playlist Generator). I doubt if it's ml_autotag, but you never know.

Basically, because we can't reproduce the problem, if you can find out which plugin is causing it, it might help us to debug said plugin.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 19:20   #9
heavymax666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CDN
Posts: 6
it is working no more complain thks very much DJ Egg and have nice day
heavymax666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 20:40   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Cool. So which plugin was causing it then?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 21:51   #11
heavymax666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CDN
Posts: 6
it was one of those file pmp_activesync.off
pmp_ipod.off
pmp_p4s.off

it is working very happy have a nice evening man
reguars HeavyMax666 A+
heavymax666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2007, 20:26   #12
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Sorry To revive the thread. But I get the same type of error when I use the Playlist Generator.
usually I will manually go into the playlist generator settings and do the complete scan before I do anything. Once the scan is completed, then I will get the error attached anytime that I close Winamp.
I have also noticed that when I reset the database, the error does not occur.
I hope that this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg new bitmap image.jpg (19.0 KB, 815 views)
Juanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2007, 14:40   #13
nox969
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
I get the same error with WinAmp 5.5.


I did a clean install a couple of times, and did some testing with various plug-in configurations and I can say with some certainty that the problem is either in the playlist generator plug-in or in the media library plug-in itself. The likely cause is the inability of the plug-in(s) to handle a large amount on data (or precisely, to write a final data backup on WinAmp close quickly enough).

This can be observed with a fresh install with no data in the media library. I never had any errors on close in that case. But when I add my media, the error occurs in every close.

Granted, my media library is a bit larger than the regular user would have (think 2k+ albums) so it is probable that the root cause of the error is not poorly written code, but a code that wasn’t intended to handle that many items.

And, before anybody asks… I’m running a high end machine with plenty of RAM and no Vista, so hardware/OS isn’t the issue.


Update:

Well, it seams that it’s definitely the Playlist Generator. For some reason the plug-in just stopped working (cant initialize plug-in error) but on the up side, there’s no more error on winamp exit. It’s a pity actually, as I rather like the Playlist Generator plug-in, but it seams I’ll have to wait for aversion that can handle my library size.

Last edited by nox969; 4th November 2007 at 16:38.
nox969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2007, 19:29   #14
Zakar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Playlist generator

I am resonably certain it is the playlist generator plugin. If it is not running, I do NOT get the error when I close Winamp. If it is running, I do get the error.
I am running Win2K and have a 20+gig library.

I recently rebuilt my computer so Winamp is a clean install on a clean machine.

Does anyone know why they switched from the Predixis to Gracenote service?

ASM
Zakar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2007, 20:59   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
From Winamp 5.51 internal beta whatsnew:

* Fixed: [ml_plg] Crash when stopping Playlist Generator scan or resetting database

In 5.5, for now, you have to let the scan fully complete.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2008, 13:04   #16
vinisantos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: São Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to vinisantos Send a message via Yahoo to vinisantos
Gracenote Plugins

I have had this problem for some time. Reading this post, I've found out that the Gracenote plugins could be a problem. I've simply renamed the Gracenote folder to Gracenote.old.
The issue was instantly solved and I was able to open my Winamp again.
My version is 5.531. I use Windows XP and Nvidia (nViews - Which was not causing a problem as for some guys that reported it here.)
vinisantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 13:12   #17
gl00ml0rd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
FYI - I ran into the same issue (receiving this error every time Winamp was closed). After removing the suggested DLL's above I was still getting the error.

After a bit of trial and error I nailed it down to be the "Gen_Evil.Lyrics.dll" that was causing the issue. Hopefully this will help others who might have had that same plugin installed from an earlier version.

AFAIK this plugin was working in previous versions (though I upgraded a few versions at once to 5.541 the other day when the error started appearing, so I'm not sure which other versions might be affected as well).

Thanks to DJ Egg for leading me down the right path.
gl00ml0rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2009, 20:00   #18
4amusement
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 3
the memory could not be "read"

I am using 5.552. I have had the same issue for the last 2 or 3 updates and have tried all the suggestions previously posted with no success. Anything new to try? Thx
4amusement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 22:30   #19
heinz57g
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 36
same here, fully updated XP SP3 system, four error mssgs upon closing 5.552
of winamp. none of above helped, installation is actually a fairly clean one.
that file '' Gen_Evil.Lyrics.dll '' does not even exist here.

greetings - heinz -
heinz57g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 22:37   #20
4amusement
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 3
At least it still works on my computer. Hope they solve it though since the complaint has been dragging on for a long time. Another good player to try is KMplayer. Excellent, although each has some unique features to recommend them.
4amusement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 12:23   #21
heinz57g
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 36
not quite how it is supposed to be: went back to 5.51, and the issue is solved.
for a while ...

greetings - heinz -
heinz57g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 04:31   #22
WolvenSpectre
Junior Member
 
WolvenSpectre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 15
I also had the same problem with the latest version of WinAmp and the Samurize Plugin when Samurize isn't running
WolvenSpectre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2010, 11:52   #23
Jadyn45
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
I think its one solution only....just uninstall and again reinstall....
Jadyn45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2011, 10:15   #24
raguila
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Error when I close WinAmp 5.621

I also got error when closing WinAmp 5.621

It was solved renaming ml_pmp.dll and all pmp_*.dll files to .off, starting WinAmp, stoping it and renaming back all of them.

The error disappeared.

Thanks for the tracks.
raguila is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump