Old 29th April 2000, 18:59   #1
hamster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I am getting the above titled dialog box with the message "MMSYSTEM002 A device ID has been used that is out of range for your system". I get this when trying to play anything.

Help?
 
Old 29th April 2000, 21:05   #2
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
Here are a few things to try, I hope one will work for you.

First go get the newest drivers for your soundcard, go to the website of the manufacturer of your soundcard and they should be available there. Install them, and restart the computer, now try Winamp.

If it is still broke try.
Open Winamp
Press Ctrl + P
Click on "Nullsoft waveOut"
Press configure
In the drop down box switch it to what is not currently selected.
Press OK then close.

Still not fixed.
Open Winamp
Press Ctrl + P
Click on "Nullsoft DirectSound"
Press Close.

If you still have problems come on back and we'll see what else we can come up with.

Tom
http://players.shoutclub.net
Tom is offline  
Old 29th April 2000, 21:28   #3
Adrian
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hi, I am getting the same error message. I tried the last two of your tips to no avail. I guess I should try the first, but I am not sure who my soundcard manufacturer is. How can I determine that? And do you have any other tips on how to solve the problem.
Thanks, Adrian
____________________________________________________________

<!-- edited by DJ-Egg -->
<!-- edited out erroneous old ubb code -->

While I'm here, to find out your soundcard details, do as Tom says below, or:
System Control Panel -> Device Manager -> Sound, Video & Game Controllers
Your soundcard will be one of the devices listed here.
Hi-lite entry & click "properties" to check for details/settings/drivers/conflicts/etc.

[Edited by DJEgg on 12-17-2000 at 03:52 PM]
 
Old 30th April 2000, 00:22   #4
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
Try looking in the manuals that came with your computer, or visit the website of your computers manufacturer, they might list what types of cards each model has.

Tom
http://players.shoutclub.net
Tom is offline  
Old 30th April 2000, 16:45   #5
hamster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I went directly to choice two (changing the output device for waveOut). Making the change did the trick. It was set to Wave Mapper and changing to either of the other two settings, both of which related to Crystal Sound (the sound chip I have), did the trick. Thanks for the help, Tom!

Wave Mapper is the recommended output for the module. What is that?
 
Old 1st May 2000, 00:43   #6
bluetooth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to bluetooth
Wave mapper is something that is part of windows that is supposed to connect the wave stream (eg, winamp music) to some available sound hardware. Using wave mapper generaly helps avoid the problem you were having, but in this case it sounds like your sound drivers have problems. I hope this clarifies things.

~Adam
bluetooth is offline  
Old 1st May 2000, 16:47   #7
Musickid
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The winamp crew is working on a solution to this right? ...
instead of just giving an alternative ...
 
Old 1st May 2000, 17:36   #8
dimple76
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for all of those great tips Tom, yet my player is still not working.

I went to the comp. maker's homepage and found my comp. model, but didn't see anything about a soundcard on there.
In the pull down menu for the output I only have the Winmapper as a choice. And when I change the out put to output to direct sound I get another error message.

I sure hope that Winamp is working on this problem because I even earsed the old winamp player that I have and downloaded a new one thinking that this would slove the problem, but it didn't. The player was working just a few days ago. I didn't play it for about a week and now it doesn't work.

Anyother suggestions of what to do would be a big help.
 
Old 1st May 2000, 23:32   #9
Teknovixen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I tried both of those options and when i tried changing my output device i got another error message that said "could no create a direct sound object"....what the heck does that mean?

Help me please! I just wanna listen to my music!!
 
Old 2nd May 2000, 00:59   #10
justin
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally posted by hamster:
I am getting the above titled dialog box with the message "MMSYSTEM002 A device ID has been used that is out of range for your system". I get this when trying to play anything.

Help?
Try going to Winamp's preferences, output section, and selecting the 'Directsound Output' plug-in.

Other than that, what sound card do you have?

-Justin

<!-- edited out erroneous old ubb code -->
Shock horror headline : humble mod edits one of Justin's posts
Can he ever be forgiven?


[Edited by DJEgg on 12-17-2000 at 03:57 PM]
justin is offline  
Old 2nd May 2000, 02:14   #11
MUSICKID
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hey Justin,

I believe that the problem has nothing to do with our soundcards especially those pple who have been saying that before 1.62 came out everything worked fine. Same with my case. I am currently using the Directsound Output plug-in, but that still doesn't solve the problem with waveOut v2.02
Please please check up on this and find the errors causing this instead of giving a way around it.
thanx
 
Old 2nd May 2000, 02:17   #12
MUSICKID
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
above i meant 2.62... u get the point...
 
Old 16th May 2000, 07:04   #13
lazyboy_0
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thx Tom,I chose direct sound and it works finned
 
Old 25th May 2000, 02:20   #14
baileyboy14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: seguin texas 78155
Posts: 1
hey, im havin the same problem, but when i go to config. on my waveout plug-in, there is only wave mapper. and on my friends winamp, there is a SB 16 one...how do i get that one?
baileyboy14 is offline  
Old 25th May 2000, 15:49   #15
aaron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Italy
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally posted by baileyboy14:
hey, im havin the same problem, but when i go to config. on my waveout plug-in, there is only wave mapper. and on my friends winamp, there is a SB 16 one...how do i get that one?
hi,
probably your soundcard is not installed properly. if your friend gets "sb16" it means he has a sound blaster 16. you will probably get something else, depending of your sound card. (ex. i get "ds-xg output").
try reinstalling your soundcard with the drivers you got as you bought the computer.
if winamp says it is not able to create the directsound object, try installing the last version of directx (download from http://www.microsoft.com/directx/hom...s/default.asp)

aaron
aisotton@inwind.it



[Edited by DJEgg on 12-17-2000 at 04:06 PM]
aaron is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 05:02   #16
simplyhessler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 12
sound card unknown

so the computer is not mine. Winamp has been functional in the past (so, I know it CAN work).

the thing is I don't know what sound card she has in the computer. How do I find the necessary info? where should I look?

Thanks,
Juice.
simplyhessler is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 22:09   #17
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
System Control Panel -> Device Manager tab
Expand "Sound, video & game controllers"
Your soundcard's manufacturer/description/devices/etc will be one or more of the entries in here.
You can check the driver details via the Properties dialog, but I recommend you goto the relevant website to download and install the latest available drivers.
If you can't find the website, post the card's details here & maybe we'll be able to help you. If so, please also tell us what your Windows OS is (95/98/ME/2k)

Recommended places to look for drivers or soundcard manufacturers' sites:
http://www.driverzone.com/
http://download.cnet.com/downloads/0...0001.dir.10010
http://www.driversguide.com/
http://www.drdriver.com/

Creative SoundBlaster card drivers:
http://www.soundblaster.com/drivers/


btw, are you saying that when you goto the WaveOut or DirectSound Output config, there's no other devices available in the drop down menu for Output Device?

If so, this will also mean that there's no playback or recording devices specified in Multimedia Control Panel -> Audio tab. The only way to fix this is to reinstall the soundcard drivers.

At the very worst, it could even mean that you don't have a soundcard
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 2nd July 2001, 22:18   #18
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
jeez
I just replied to a triple whammy crosspost that'd already been answered and resolved.
As if I haven't got better things to be doing, eh?

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=53938
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=53941
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=53937
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 11th July 2001, 05:49   #19
Chesler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 1
I ran into this old problem for the first time today, and the suggested solutions (namely setting the Nullsoft waveOut back to my sound card) worked. Thanks.

For what it's worth, everything was fine, and I hadn't changed version of WinAmp, but today I installed some Fax-sending software (Cheyenne's Bitware, which came with a HiVal 56k modem -- old hardware, older bundled software!) and I think that's how I lost the ability to play .wav (.mid was still fine.) And a competitive music-playing software lost its ability to play too.

- David Chesler
Chesler is offline  
Old 16th November 2001, 03:48   #20
hibby76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 6
Soundblasters...

I'm having this problem with my step-dads computer. (problem just started today) and I'm not sure what sound card he has, but I think it's some type of soundblaster card. Seems like I've seen a LOT of talk of the Soundblaster cards in connection with this problem. Do we ALL have SB's???
hibby76 is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump