Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th March 2009, 10:30   #1
rv123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Problem switching off proxy for gracenote DB/autotag feature

Hi all,

when I was behind a firewall I set up proxy in Winamp properties to access Gracenote DB and autotagging worked fine. Now I moved to direct connection to internet where the proxy is not available. I deleted proxy name in Winamp properties, everything works fine except for autotag feature. It still remebers the old proxy setting. So if I go back to the place behind the firewall/proxy, autotag works even if the proxy is not specified any more.

I tried to uninstall Winamp, removed c:\program files\winamp directory and reinstalled again. Still the proxy "is there" somewhere.

How to get rid of the hidden proxy setting for autotag feature?
It is not possible to change proxy setting correctly which seems to be Winamp bug. I believe it can be demonstrated with any proxy.

I am on latest Winamp 5.551

Thanks
Richard
rv123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 17:54   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
Hmm... strange.

I guess Gracenote must be storing it somewhere...

Try replacing %ProgramFiles%\Winamp\System\gracenote.w5s with this version, and let us know if it fixes it:

http://shup.com/Shup/132649/gracenote.w5s
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 21:56   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
Hello?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 22:57   #4
rv123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
I replaced the file, restarted Winamp but the problem persists.

I noticed that your file and mine are of the same size but the content is different. I think that it must have been stored somewhere else because when I reinstalled Winamp (and I tried that several times already) I made sure that I delete Winamp dir too. Might it be somewhere in Windows registry? I tried to search for the string with the name of the proxy but I could not find it anywhere :-(

Thanks
Richard
rv123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 00:02   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
I'm not sure where Gracenote stores it.
(note that Gracenote just gives us their dll's, we don't actually code any of it).

At a guess it'll be either somewhere in the registry, or maybe in the Winamp settings folder.
Did you also wipe %appdata%\winamp before reinstalling, in addition to %programfiles%\winamp?
I don't think it writes to winamp.ini, but I'm not sure, to be honest....

What's your Windows OS?

And is it the same for other Gracenote features, eg. CDDB, or is it just Autotag?

Hmm, though yeah, back to the drawing board.
Thanks for testing/confirming.
We'll keep looking into it...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 18:40   #6
rv123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
I spent some time trying to find where the proxy for gracenote comes from but no luck.

I reinstalled again. Directory %appdata%\winamp is deleted automatically by the installer so I need not to do anything with it.

You are right that Winamp stores proxy setting to winamp.ini. But the question is where gracenote takes it from. It is definetely not winamp.ini. I can change proxy to anything - Gracenote ignores it. I can even delete the row in winamp.ini - no change

I downloaded and ran Process Monitor on Winamp and then searched for proxy string but I did not see any suspicious file where it can be stored. Neither registry entry/key.

Since this utility logs network access too, it showed access to proxy (when I was behind the firewall). Winamp did not even bother to send request to the proxy when I am directly connected. If I change proxy, it ignores it too. I mean Winamp takes it into account and behaves correctly based on proxy setting on or off. But not the Gracenote part.

Please note that I switched off all proxies in Windows network setting in case it could take it from there.

I use Windows XP SP2

I do not know how to use CDDB from Winamp.

I think that somebody who knows how Gracenote DDL interacts with Winamp should look at this problem.

I am giving up now...

Regards
Richard
rv123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 20:55   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
Yes, we've looked and are still looking into it...
But if it turns out to be something that only Gracenote can fix,
then we'll have to wait for them to send us the new DLL(s).

To use Gracenote CDDB in Winamp, simply insert an Audio CD into your CD/DVD Drive,
go to: Winamp -> Media Library -> CD Drive view
and it should automatically try to retrieve the disc info from CDDB.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2009, 11:05   #8
cassietpk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have the same problem. It's well annoying.
I changed the proxy when I was at college, so I could tag some music.
Took it home, took the proxy off and I can no longer tag my music with gracenote.
I've reinstalled winamp countless times.
Hope you can find a fix soon.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009, 17:06   #9
salvadorgimenes
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Auto tag proxy

I have the same problem, any idea?
Tank you
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 16:34   #10
plaintext
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
I was in exactly the same situation, having a proxy and later a direct connection. This is indeed a very strange bug, fortunately I found a solution by digging around a little bit.

First, I saw that it was working with other user accounts, running Winamp for the very first time. Then I simply deleted the all the Registry-Stuff under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CDDB. After this, Winamp could fetch the titles again, but not automatically. I had to invoke this with Alt-3 each time. Thus I decided to reinstall Winamp just another time. Finally, everything is back in business again.
plaintext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2009, 22:23   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
Could someone who's still got the problem please do the following:

Go to: Start -> Run
Type: regedit
Hit Enter

Navigate to: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CDDB

Right-click CDDB and select 'Export'

Save it as CDDB.txt, or zip up CDDB.reg
and attach it to a post here.

Thanks
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2009, 13:58   #12
rv123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Here it is
Attached Files
File Type: zip registry_export_cddb.zip (937 Bytes, 498 views)
rv123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2009, 18:35   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
Thanks.

Hmm, that's not much different to what I've got in my registry, so I guess it must cache the proxy info along with all other data/settings somewhere in the encrypted UserInfo string...

Still not sure what to do...
Sure, we could delete that reg string during installation and let it be recreated from fresh when the cddb dll's get registered, or we could just wait for Gracenote to send us a fixed dll....


@rv123

Does deleting that reg key also fix the problem for you?

Note, you should only need to delete the "UserInfo" string:
"HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CDDB\Control\2.5" -> "UserInfo"
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2009, 10:40   #14
rv123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Yes, the solution is to remove or rename key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CDDB\Control\2.5
then restart Winamp. CDDB works without proxy now. No need to reinstall Winamp.

Thanks
Richard
rv123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009, 05:59   #15
eduaquiles
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Same problem (and solution) with me.
eduaquiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 18:31   #16
madbadger
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Thank you for this solution! Worked for me too.

However, I can no longer use autotag/gracenote/cddb through work proxy anymore, even if I set the winamp proxy, and do the regedit trick. I'm using Winamp 5.581 on Win 7.
madbadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump