Old 14th May 2000, 14:35   #1
craigwp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Indian Orchard Ma. USA
Posts: 2
Is there any way to listen to music offline? I open winamp and it dials my internet provider.

Thanks
craigwp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2000, 06:34   #2
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
Yes if you have local files (i.e. MP3's on your harddrive) if you listen to streaming music then you have to be online. Winamp might be dialing because you have it setup to check for new versions and report anonymous info to disable it do the following:
Open Winamp
Press Ctrl + P
Click on "Setup"
Now try "No internet connection available"

Tom
http://players.shoutclub.net
Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2000, 13:01   #3
craigwp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Indian Orchard Ma. USA
Posts: 2
I tried that prior to posting and it still dialed so I went into my Internet Explorer options and selected never dial a connection and it has seemed to solve the problem.

Thanks for the response in any event..

Craig
craigwp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2000, 23:45   #4
kildal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 1
I have a similar problem, my router is dialing my ISP when I use Winamp. Its realy anoying and helps to keep my phonebill high (thanks).
Is there anyway to deny it access to the network?
I have gone through all the settings and all the plugins to. Nothing seems to stop it, (I have turned off ODDB)
kildal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2000, 02:24   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Do you guys use the minibrowser ?
It requires a connection to access the ad/s at the bottom.
Cheers AOL !

If so, disable it and also do as Tom says above.

Seeing I've got a few MJF's [Media Juice] that require the MB to display artwork, I edited my winampmb.htm (Winamp dir) to eradicate this stupid dial-up problem.
The trick is to remove the relevant javascript code.
The way I did it was to copy the Nullsoft Winamp site logo into my Winamp dir, remove the relevant js code from winampmb.htm replacing it with the Winamp logo c/o <img src="*.gif"> tag and embedding a hyperlink to the Winamp home page, <a href="http://www.winamp.com/">
Easy !

Also, make sure you backup your modified winampmb.htm file, otherwise you'll have to repeat this process each time you upgrade Winamp.

------------------
**********
DJ - Egg
**********
^/^
`v

[Edited by DJEgg on 12-20-2000 at 10:29 PM]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump