Old 2nd October 2000, 02:57   #1
keith303
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
everytime i launch winamp when being offline it tries launching the net, which is VERY annoying to me.
in preferences/setup i have the following settings :
- no internet connection available [CHECKED]
- check for new versions at startup [UNCHECKED]
- allow winamp to... [UNCHECKED]

the minibrowser is CLOSED/DISABLED, but nevertheless winamp still wants to connect to the inet everytime i launch it..
someone knows how to help?
thanks in advance..

-keith303
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2000, 03:44   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Does this happen always, or just when you're playing an Audio CD ?
If it's just with CD's, goto:
Prefs -> Input -> CD Plugin -> Configure
Remove checkmark next to "Use CDDB"

I can't think of anything else apart from what you already mentioned above.

The only other thing it could be is if you've installed any General Purpose search-type plug-ins ?

-------
DJ-Egg

[Edited by DJEgg on 12-17-2000 at 07:22 PM]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2000, 04:34   #3
keith303
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
unfortunately this does happen everytime i launch it, even when i just start the plain .exe without any files playlisted or audio cd inserted.

i'm using winamp since about 2 years now and i never had this malfunction occuring until i installed windows me yesterday.

concerning the vis :
i just copied the vis / plugins directories from by old system backup to the new directory ( without the winamp.exe, etc - just the plain subdirs ).
so this should'nt be the problem i fear..
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2000, 05:12   #4
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
keith303,
I remember helping someone with a similar problem a long time ago and what eventually worked for them was in IE to set it to "Never dial a connection". You can access it from Tools -> Internet Options -> Connections Tab

Give that a try and see if it helps.

Tom
http://players.shoutclub.net

[Edited by DJEgg on 12-17-2000 at 07:20 PM]
Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2000, 09:09   #5
A Plugin Developer
Senior Member
 
A Plugin Developer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Home
Posts: 269
You may want to double check this...

1. Hit [CTRL]+[P]
2. Click Setup
3. Make sure the following are not checked:
-Check for new version of Winamp at startup
-Allow Winamp to report basic, anonymous program usage information.

Hope that helps
A Plugin Developer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2000, 09:22   #6
Reverend Ike
Evangelical Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,533
APD -

Keith already covered those options in his original post. He's one of the rare posters that actually supplies some useful information to start with.

Keith -

Do you have any third-party plugins installed? If so, you might go to Winamp Preferences, highlight them one at a time, and click the Configure button. Then see if those plugins have internet-related options enabled. Sometimes those third-party plugins can have a "Check for new version at startup" option themselves.
Reverend Ike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2000, 14:17   #7
keith303
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thanks everybody for your support.
concerning my specific problem, it was TOM having the right guess - special thanks to you buddy
my winamp is running perfectly now.

regards everybody,
keith303
http://www.keith303.de
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump