Old 22nd September 2000, 04:56   #1
jim234

Hello,
I am new to using the winamp software v.2.65 which sofar is working pretty good but I need a better explaination showing the proper steps to take to the faq III trouble shooting question 12.

Also I have heard that there will be a new version coming out does anyone know when.
thanks
jim234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2000, 11:12   #2
Reverend Ike
Evangelical Alumni

jim234 -

I have Real Player G2, so the following steps may be slightly different for you if you have Real Player 7 or 8.

Open Real Player. In the menu, select View -> Preferences
First click on the General tab.
Under Start Center, click the Settings button.
Make sure Enable start center is UNCHECKED.
Ignore any RealPlayer warning messages and click Okay as necessary.
Next click on the Upgrade tab.
Under RealNetworks' media types, make sure that Reclaim RealNetworks' media types without asking is UNCHECKED.
Click on both the Re-associate and Auto Restore Settings buttons, and make sure all boxes for MP3 Audio, MP3 Playlists, etc. are UNCHECKED.
Then click on Okay as needed to exit the RealPlayer menu. Close Real Player.

Open Winamp, go to Winamp Preferences (Ctrl+P), select Setup -> File types and make sure all of the filetypes you want Winamp to use (such as MP3, M3U, PLS, MID, WAV) are highlighted. Also make sure that Register types on Winamp start is CHECKED.

Next, select Setup -> Agent and make sure that at least the 1st and 3rd boxes are CHECKED. Exit Winamp Preferences, close Winamp, and then re-open Winamp. Hopefully, your file associations are now reassociated with Winamp.

Note: The Winamp program named Agent runs in the background and helps keep Real Player from stealing back your file associations. Its filename is winampa.exe. While it's running, Agent writes to disk. Because of this, you will need to temporarily disable it whenever you plan to run ScanDisk or Disk Defragmenter.