Old 4th November 2001, 11:58   #1
Dutchie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 7
Grid size in dyn move?

What exactly does the grid size mean in the dynamic movement trans. My guess is it changes the range of x and y, i.e. if grid size = 16x16
the range of x is -8 to 8 and the same for y. Am I correct?

If I am correct I'm still confused because changing these values seems to have no effect on my scopes.

Also what does the rectangular co-ordinates mean?

Cheers
Dutchie
Dutchie is offline  
Old 4th November 2001, 13:50   #2
Lucid DM
Eat, skin, sleep. Repeat.
(Major Dude)
 
Lucid DM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: all over the place.
Posts: 1,490
Send a message via AIM to Lucid DM
Rectangular coords use X and Y instead of R and D.
If you turn on rectangular coords, the window is divided into a certain number of sections, so as to keep the preset running fast. The grid size defines how many sections there are. For a more accurate movement, put higher numbers in, but that slows it down. For a less accurate, but faster movement, put lower numbers in.

It can also be useful for certain effects to have a low grid resolution.
Lucid DM is offline  
Old 4th November 2001, 14:02   #3
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Grid size

Grid size is always used, regardless of polar or rectangular coordinates.

The idea behind it is that the dynamic movement is a very heavy effect. Recalculating every pixel-coordinate each frame would be impossible, so that's why the screen is divided into a grid. AVS calculates a position for each intersection on the grid, and uses interpolation (averaging from one value to the other) to achieve a smooth effect.
Usually a pretty low grid size will suffice, but sometimes you'll want to set it higher. Make sure that you don't make it unnecessarily big, because bigger grid = slower preset. You should also remember that the horizontal gridsize and vertical gridsize don't need to match. Gridsizes of 2x20 or 40x3 are acceptable.

As for rectangular coordinates, it means to use x,y (cartesian) coordinates instead of d,r (polar). In polar coordinates, a point is defined by its distance to the center "d", and the angle between the vertical line and the line connecting the point to the center (note that AVS puts 0 rotation vertically instead of horizontally, as is normally done). Polar coordinate-movements tend to produce more circular movements, instead of horizontal/vertical movements.

Rectangular coordinates is the way to go when you want to do advanced effects though.
UnConeD is offline  
Old 4th November 2001, 14:38   #4
Dutchie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 7
Thanks for the help.

I think I've got the hang of it now. I still don't notice any change when changing the grid size, how do I check the FPS. I did try using d and r with rect co-ords, it seemed to cause the scope to rotate and a swirl. No great surprise when using

r=r+sin(-e)*2;
d=d-cos(-e)*2

I've attached my work in progress.

Cheers
Dutchie
Attached Files
File Type: zip dyn mov scope test.zip (602 Bytes, 566 views)
Dutchie is offline  
Old 4th November 2001, 21:22   #5
flatmatt
Iron Chef
(Reviewer)
 
flatmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Winamp Island
Posts: 3,036
FPS is shown in the lower left corner of AVS editor window.
flatmatt is offline  
Old 17th March 2003, 13:23   #6
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
Anyone in the mood for giving a little more detailed description on making DM's?

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline  
Old 17th March 2003, 13:42   #7
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Search the forums and please don't revive old threads unless they are collecting threads (i.e. a list of something).

Look at the faq for some links.

UnConeD is offline  
Old 8th June 2004, 22:43   #8
blaz
Member
 
blaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Slovenia [EU]
Posts: 69
ok, I am thinking about this for a lot of time, but I just can't figur it out.
I a lot of AVS, i notice variables like this:
xts,yts,dts,xm,xo.
i noticed this variables in a lot of AVS, and I am also wondering if i change xts to rds does it change the meaning of variable, and what do they realy mean

[offtopic] I hope i haven't done something wrong with asking this[/offtopic]
blaz is offline  
Old 9th June 2004, 01:27   #9
hungryskull
Major Dude
 
hungryskull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Somewhere in Canada
Posts: 776
Those are variables made by the user, AVS doesn't use them unless you assign one of them to one of the ones used by AVS(x,y,d,linesize, that stuff).

If you change their names you are likely to mess the preset up because it will probably depend on it later in the preset.

For example:


Per Frame:
t=t-tx;
t2=t2-t2x;
t3=t3-t3x;
Per Beat:
t3x=sin(rand(123))*0.1;
t2x=sin(rand(123))*0.1;
tx=sin(rand(123))*0.1


In this code(taken from one of my superscopes) if you were to change the variable called "t" to a variable called "fartbrain", it wouldn't work because later in the code the variable name is still called "t", but because that isn't the right variable, it won't work right.

Darn, I can't think of anything to put here.
hungryskull is offline  
Old 9th June 2004, 10:11   #10
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,051
there are commonly used vars though. If t is used it usually stands for >t<imer and m for >m<ovement. In your example xm will probably stand for movement(shift) along the x axis.

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline  
Old 9th June 2004, 18:38   #11
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Don't revive ancient threads with unrelated things. Post a new one.

UnConeD is offline  
Old 9th June 2004, 19:00   #12
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
Yeah stop it *clunk*

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump