Old 27th December 2001, 14:31   #1
sirshambling
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 4
WMP taking over!

Can anybody help me to configure WMP and WinAmp so the the latter autoplays my CDs and not bl**dy WMP? I'm running XP Home.

I've tried to change the file associations to WinAmp but still the WMP takes over!

Thanks. All the best,

John
____________________________________________

Note: old thread from 2001 revived :/
sirshambling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 16:09   #2
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
open Winamp, press ctrl+P, then go file types and check the "Associate with audio CD's".
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 17:12   #3
sirshambling
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Tried that = WMP still autoplays every CD I place in the PC. Any other thoughts?

Thanks. John
sirshambling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 19:12   #4
sirshambling
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Thanks Nemesis - tried all that. WMP is only now associated with DVD type files, WinAmp is the default player, I've also gone to Tools/Folder Options/File Types in My Computer and made sure that WinAmp is assocaited with CDA extensions.

And guess what? WMP STILL autoplays every time I place a CD in the drive!!!

Don't beleive it! Any other suggestions welcome!

Thanks. John.
sirshambling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 21:10   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Also, in Folder Options -> File Types tab
Scroll down for:
N/A - Audio CD (NOT the .CDA extension)

Click: Change and/or Advanced button
Make sure the default action is "Play" and the command line leads to Winamp.exe
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2001, 21:46   #6
sirshambling
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Thanks guys for all your help here. Its working fine now.
The tricks with WMP worked well.

Another thing that I found in the hours of messing around which may be of use to anybody else in this bind. If you go to properties of the CDROM/DVD drive in XP through My Computer (NOT via Device Manager - this doesn't show it for some arcane reason) there is a tab called "Autoplay".

Use the drop down box to get to the file type called "Audio CD" and you can configure the PC to run any of the CD players you have installed.

I've chosen Winamp!

Oncee again, many thanks.

John
sirshambling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2002, 11:37   #7
primus-d
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2
WMP continues its battle...

hey guys,

still having troubles here.

I'm running win2000 pro on a new dell laptop - with a samsung combo cdrw/dvd drive. using winamp 2.78c

I'm having the same problems as described below - although I'm thinking perhaps there is some hardware issues creeping into the equation??

I have gone thru all the suggestions outlined below, including making the file associations for .cda in windows default to winamp, I have made sure WMP is not set for cd audio, and I have set winamp to associate with audio CDs. The only thing I have not done is disable auto-insert, because in W2k/NT you have to edit the registry to disable auto-insert - and i would like to try and solve this without playing with the registry on a brand new machine.

The reason I've started to think hardware issue, is because, based on the modifications listed above, I have been able to get winamp to come up on auto-insert. BUT, I only get the promo DJ Mike Lama intro track, rather than my music.

Also, when I right click on the drive under 'my computer', I see 'play', but not 'play in winamp' - and when I click 'play', same deal; winamp but not the tunes. When I try 'add dir' - nada. When I try 'add files', no files show for the cd-drive with 'file type: all supported files'. When i try 'file type: all files', I can see the .cda files, with a winamp-ish looking icon (although not the same one as for ripped wav files or mp3s). So, when I load these .cda file, winamp just skips thru all of them without playing any???

Based on that configuration, when I remove the association for audio cds in winamp, WMP comes up on auto-insert and things play fine.

I'm confused as to where to go from here?? any suggestions would be super appreciated!!

thanks,

dave
primus-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2002, 22:25   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Sounds to me like you've installed Winamp 2.78 Lite, not Standard or Full.
Support for AudioCD is not included in Winamp Lite.
Is there a file called in_cdda.dll in your winamp\plugins dir?

Alternatively, use the CDReader plugin
And be sure to read the accompanying readme.txt file.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2002, 14:23   #9
primus-d
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2
sorted!

hey DJEgg,

thanks for the tip - problem seems to be solved.

I should have gone and made sure that Lite had CDAudio support before posting, but it doesn't seem to be clearly listed on the page where you make the choice: http://www.winamp.com/download/
primus-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2006, 19:43   #10
morolen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
It seems that everytime I start winamp 5.3 my system hangs and i get this error message. I am running xp sp2.



i am not trying to play a cd, nor is there a cd in the drive, but winamp seems to want one to be there. It also doesnt specify what drive it wants one in, maybe this is from all my virtual drives?
morolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2006, 20:35   #11
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
What exactly does that have to do with this thread?

Please upgrade to Winamp 5.31. The 'No disk in drive' bug was fixed in 5.31.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump