Old 26th January 2002, 02:57   #1
pink_moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11
Mp3's stopped playing, cd's still play

Hey guys and gals,
This morning i woke up, and went to play some mp3's on winamp, same as i do every morning, every night, basically every waking hour when i am in my room. (don't think i'm joking here) However, this morning i got no sound. No nothing. I nearly cried, i have around 500 mp3's, and i can't play any of them. However! CD's still play! It's fucked up...it was working fine last night, and all of the sudden, nothing. Sonique works fine, but it's a big fat ugly piece of shite. I've got an SB live soundcard, (i read already about conflicts between SB and winamp) however, i get no error messages. It appears as though the file should be playing back, but i get nothing at all.
Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated, i'm lost without my music and the shit i have on cd's is well, shit.
*forgot to mention, i'm using vers. 2.78
pink_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 03:04   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Sounds to me like you've changed the Output Plugin but forgot to change it back.

Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> Plugins -> Output:
Select one of: Nullsoft WaveOut -or- Nullsoft DirectSound

(not DiskWriter or WMA Out)

If DiskWriter Output was enabled, you might also want to search your hard drive for any big-ass new WAV files you've been creating whilst DiskWriter was active.


If it ain't this, then unless you've got some serious hardware failure going down, the only other thing I can suggest is that you make sure the volume slider in the main winamp window is up high enough.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 03:09   #3
pink_moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11
Hey dj,
I just edited my first message to say that sonique works fine on my system, but it's big and ugly. And the output is set correctly...volume slider is up, no cd burning going on over here, my burner's been fubared for awhile...
thanks for a start though..
pink_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 03:29   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
CD Burning?
No, DiskWriter Output is used (mainly) for converting MP3's to WAV.
Are you sure WaveOut is selected (as in highlighted) ?
Did you try switching to DirectSound Output?
Have you tried changing Output Device to SBLive driver in WaveOut/DirectSound config?


Anyway, if all else fails:

Basic Uninstall -> Reinstall procedure:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=50818

Then, install this patch:
Winamp 2.78 Update
(Updates both out_wave & out_ds plugins to peter's (PP) versions, also updates in_midi.dll & in_wave.dll to new pre v2.79 versions)

Further details: (READ THIS FIRST)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=68811


btw, the Nullsoft CD Input Plugin (in_cdda.dll) is incapable of using DiskWriter Output, so it always reverts to using WaveOut, regardless of which Output Plugin is active.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 03:37   #5
pink_moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11
Yes, Diskwriter is for converting to wav, i know....which is the first step to burning...hence the name diskwriter i'm thinkin right? I tried waveout, tried selecting the correct driver, tried DirectSound, tried the plugin mentioned below....tried uninstalling and reinstalling...i read that URL below, barely made heads or tails of it, seems mostly about beta testing and discussion about gapless, gappy, etc etc.
Meanwhile sonique is still goin strong...considering changing file associations...
pink_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 03:55   #6
pink_moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11
sonique just died too. i'm thinkin something's fucked right up o'er here.
pink_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 04:17   #7
pink_moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11
it didn't die after all, i turned it down while playing around
pink_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 05:08   #8
NRen2k5
Banned
 
NRen2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 622
Send a message via ICQ to NRen2k5 Send a message via AIM to NRen2k5 Send a message via Yahoo to NRen2k5
Sounds like maybe a missing / messed up MP3 codec. Try installing Radium.
NRen2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 05:10   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
heyhey, lol,
and you're still sure you haven't done the same thing in winamp?

If Sonique p.o.s. works, then there's no reason why winamp shouldn't.
If you're using some weird skin, try temporarily switching back to the default base skin, and make sure again that the volume slider in the main winamp window is definitely turned up (ie. furthest to the right is loudest, to the left is off). Maybe you're using a scroll mouse and the scroll wheel is turning your volume down without you realizing?

Sorry if I sound a bit patronizing, I don't mean to, but I'm almost certain it's got to be something very simple . . . and besides, I'd hate to see you convert to Sonique over this . . . it's bad enough that you've installed it in the first place.

Just confirm again that both the volume slider in the main Window AND the preamp slider in the EQ window are up high enough, eg.




If they are both up high enough, then I'll have to get my thinking cap on here, 'cos I'm a bit stumped, but then again, it is 6:00am where I am.

You could check Windows Volume Control (little yellow speaker in systray), and make sure both the "main" and "wave" sliders are both up high enough and the wave slider isn't muted.

btw, does Win Media Player work ok volume-wise?

Anyway, bear with us, and I'm sure will work this out
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 05:12   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
naughty naughty, neo

Missing codec?
But Sonique works?
And no error messages in WA either!

Unlikely, but I've seen stranger things happen
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 05:45   #11
pink_moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11
hehehe....*sheepish grin*
damn fancy-assed skins and scroll mice equally. it's been so long since i've seen the default i forgot there was another volume control under there...
tons 'o props for you to think of such little things, and that my skin to be covering that, seriously awesome job dj, thanks lots.
pink_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 05:48   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Wayhey! Awesome!

hehe, now that's dedicated free tech support for ya!
I even created those jpg's and uploaded them to my server, just for you.

Anyway, you can now safely uninstall Sonique . . . thank you!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2002, 05:51   #13
pink_moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11
yeah i've done the free tech support thing myself, and now free end user support, and you do it well
pink_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2002, 03:47   #14
Spiffed
Major Dude
 
Spiffed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Milliways
Posts: 921
Send a message via ICQ to Spiffed
Quote:
Originally posted by pink_moon
Yes, Diskwriter is for converting to wav, i know....which is the first step to burning...hence the name diskwriter i'm thinkin right?
Just a thought, but the spelling of the name itself contradicts your hypothesis. disc as in cdrom is spelt with a 'c' a 'k'. It's actually an acronym
D igital
I nformation
S torage
C ompany

the road to enlightenment is filled with much dark
chat, stat, and be merry
The best of IRC PM's
Spiffed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2002, 04:38   #15
pink_moon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11
hey all i know is i used this plugin to convert mp3's to wav's, so i could use the shitty burn proggy i had to make cd's. ie make a disk/disc, ie write them to disk/disc, hence the term diskwriting/discwriting hence the plugin diskwriter. don't blame me it's spelled differently by winamp...
pink_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2002, 04:41   #16
Spiffed
Major Dude
 
Spiffed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Milliways
Posts: 921
Send a message via ICQ to Spiffed
either way, use NERO, then you can burn straight from MP3

the road to enlightenment is filled with much dark
chat, stat, and be merry
The best of IRC PM's
Spiffed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump